Log in

View Full Version : User conditionals in forumdisplay


kevinmanphp2
09-04-2005, 11:27 AM
What template do I need to edit to create a conditional for the thread starter in the forumdisplay page. The thread starter is currently in plain text underneath the Thread title. I would like to set some kind of conditional to BOLD and make red all Thread Starters that are in my "SPONSORS" usergroup.

If I make this kind of conditional... will it make the forums slow? I really appreciate all your help and suggestions. Thanks.

harmor19
09-04-2005, 11:34 AM
I didn't thoroughly check it to see if it was right but i saw some key text such as "sticky", thread rating.

Style Manager -> Forum Display Templates -> FORUMDISPLAY

kevinmanphp2
09-04-2005, 05:08 PM
I didn't thoroughly check it to see if it was right but i saw some key text such as "sticky", thread rating.

Style Manager -> Forum Display Templates -> FORUMDISPLAY

hey... can you explain that a little more? I'm not sure I understand. Thanks

merk
09-05-2005, 07:51 AM
I hope you're using vb 3.5, because thats what i did the XML for :)

Basically - the variables you need are not available in stock vbulletin and the query has to be extended, with an extra hook to actually work it out or not (which may or may not be relevant, but I did it anyway).

It will only work when displayed on "forumdisplay.php" and if the thread appears elsewhere it will not work.

Once you have imported the product, you will need to modify the "threadbit_display" hook and change 6 to the usergroupid of your sponsors group.

You will then need to modify the threadbit template.

Replace

$thread[threadtitle]

With
<if condition="$show['contrib_thread']"><font style="color: #FF0000;">$thread[threadtitle]</font><else />$thread[threadtitle]</if>

Hopefully that works.