Log in

View Full Version : Thread Starter Conditionals in Forum Display


kevinmanphp2
08-22-2005, 03:12 AM
What template do I need to edit to create a conditional for the thread starter in the forumdisplay page. The thread starter is currently in plain text underneath the Thread title. I would like to set some kind of conditional to BOLD and make red all Thread Starters that are in my "SPONSORS" usergroup.

If I make this kind of conditional... will it make the forums slow? I really appreciate all your help and suggestions. Thanks.

deathemperor
08-22-2005, 03:44 AM
If I am right you should edit "threadbit" template and this won't slow down your forums

kevinmanphp2
08-22-2005, 03:54 AM
I was told by vBulletin support staff that the variable that I would use in the conditional is unavailable in the threadbit template???? Is this true?? If so... what can I do to get around this? Thanks.

deathemperor
08-22-2005, 04:02 AM
use this condition: <if condition="is_member_of($thread, 6)"> code goes here </if>

6 is the number of the usergroup. I don't know if this works, just a logical thought.

this is the line you must edit:

<if condition="$show['guestuser']">
$thread[postusername]
<else />
<span style="cursor:pointer" onclick="window.open('member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$thread[postuserid]')">$thread[postusername]</span>
</if>