View Full Version : one signature per thread
mrsbuzzy
08-21-2005, 03:28 AM
This was incredibly helpful, rather than seeing the same (sometimes large) signatures repeated throughout a thread.
Thanks.
nintendo
10-01-2005, 09:05 AM
*bump*
Jenta
10-01-2005, 01:20 PM
you dont need to hack this
a simple conditional in the postbit template will handle this
dont have the url right now but check in the 3.0 section at vb.com
thedvs
10-02-2005, 12:45 PM
pfft well i cant find the relevant url at vb
Jenta
10-02-2005, 01:08 PM
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?p=777756#post777756
Originally posted by Kier
In the postbit template, find this conditional:
<if condition="$post['signature']">
And replace it with this one:
<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true">
This will cause each user's signature to be shown only on their first post on each page.
thedvs
10-02-2005, 01:29 PM
thank you Jenta, I was only looking in 3.5 forums at vb
tryckj?vel
10-02-2005, 10:04 PM
are you sure that works in 3.5? im no php coder, but i think its bad when it throws the following error when trying to swap that line of code for the above:
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_ENCAPSED_AND_WHITESPACE, expecting T_STRING or T_VARIABLE or T_NUM_STRING in /home2/turbobri/public_html/forums/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3519) : eval()'d code on line 138
This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.
Jenta
10-02-2005, 10:09 PM
havent tested it but it should or will with slight modification
i think the error is being caused by the ' characters
so instead of
<if condition="$post['signature']">
do
<if condition="$post[signature]">
remove all the other ' characters
tryckj?vel
10-02-2005, 10:11 PM
Sorry, i got it to work, both in postbit and postbit_legacy
turned out to be some problem with copying the template to notepad and editing it there first, then pasting it back in. strange
Jenta
10-02-2005, 10:31 PM
Sorry, i got it to work, both in postbit and postbit_legacy
turned out to be some problem with copying the template to notepad and editing it there first, then pasting it back in. strange
strange indeed as i do all my template editing in notepad
the vb editors are just too small...i need full screen and tab to work :)
nintendo
10-05-2005, 07:07 AM
All three...
<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post['userid']] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post['userid']] = true">
<if condition="$post[signature] AND !$vboptions[shownsigs][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions[shownsigs][$post[userid]] = true">
<if condition="$post[signature]">
generate
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:
Parse error: parse error, expecting `T_STRING' or `T_VARIABLE' or `T_NUM_STRING' in /home/virtual/site1/fst/var/www/html/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3519) : eval()'d code on line 146
This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.
The original code is just $post[signature]
**Edit**
<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true">__________________<br />
$post[signature]</if>
Is what I needed, a </if> at the end. And you can move the
__________________<br />
in to it so it only shows up on signitures.
Anyone got this to work ?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.