PDA

View Full Version : one signature per thread


mrsbuzzy
08-21-2005, 03:28 AM
This was incredibly helpful, rather than seeing the same (sometimes large) signatures repeated throughout a thread.

Thanks.

nintendo
10-01-2005, 09:05 AM
*bump*

Jenta
10-01-2005, 01:20 PM
you dont need to hack this
a simple conditional in the postbit template will handle this

dont have the url right now but check in the 3.0 section at vb.com

thedvs
10-02-2005, 12:45 PM
pfft well i cant find the relevant url at vb

Jenta
10-02-2005, 01:08 PM
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?p=777756#post777756

Originally posted by Kier

In the postbit template, find this conditional:
<if condition="$post['signature']">

And replace it with this one:
<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true">

This will cause each user's signature to be shown only on their first post on each page.

thedvs
10-02-2005, 01:29 PM
thank you Jenta, I was only looking in 3.5 forums at vb

tryckj?vel
10-02-2005, 10:04 PM
are you sure that works in 3.5? im no php coder, but i think its bad when it throws the following error when trying to swap that line of code for the above:

The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_ENCAPSED_AND_WHITESPACE, expecting T_STRING or T_VARIABLE or T_NUM_STRING in /home2/turbobri/public_html/forums/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3519) : eval()'d code on line 138

This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.

Jenta
10-02-2005, 10:09 PM
havent tested it but it should or will with slight modification
i think the error is being caused by the ' characters

so instead of

<if condition="$post['signature']">

do

<if condition="$post[signature]">

remove all the other ' characters

tryckj?vel
10-02-2005, 10:11 PM
Sorry, i got it to work, both in postbit and postbit_legacy

turned out to be some problem with copying the template to notepad and editing it there first, then pasting it back in. strange

Jenta
10-02-2005, 10:31 PM
Sorry, i got it to work, both in postbit and postbit_legacy

turned out to be some problem with copying the template to notepad and editing it there first, then pasting it back in. strange

strange indeed as i do all my template editing in notepad
the vb editors are just too small...i need full screen and tab to work :)

nintendo
10-05-2005, 07:07 AM
All three...

<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post['userid']] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post['userid']] = true">

<if condition="$post[signature] AND !$vboptions[shownsigs][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions[shownsigs][$post[userid]] = true">

<if condition="$post[signature]">

generate


The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: parse error, expecting `T_STRING' or `T_VARIABLE' or `T_NUM_STRING' in /home/virtual/site1/fst/var/www/html/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3519) : eval()'d code on line 146

This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.


The original code is just $post[signature]

**Edit**

<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true">__________________<br />
$post[signature]</if>

Is what I needed, a </if> at the end. And you can move the

__________________<br />

in to it so it only shows up on signitures.

TTG
10-18-2005, 10:14 AM
Anyone got this to work ?