View Full Version : conditional needed - remove reputation icon on forum
GoTTi
08-17-2005, 11:33 PM
ok im trying to understand conditionals and how they work.
i need a conditional to remove the reputation icon on a certain forum so users dont give out rep points on threads in that forum. how would i do that?
i was told on vbulletin.com that its a conditional, and thats all i was told. no more info. please help. thanks.
Marco van Herwaarden
08-18-2005, 05:47 AM
Based on what condition you want to remove the icon?
Tony G
08-18-2005, 05:48 AM
I think he/she means if a certain forum number is this, remove the reputation icon from this forum. Maybe like that?
Guest190829
08-18-2005, 06:33 AM
<if condition="$forum['forumid'] == X">
The above should be the conditional your looking for. X being the forum id.
GoTTi
08-18-2005, 05:08 PM
danny, that code will remove the reputation icon from showing in the forum i specify?
Oblivion Knight
08-18-2005, 05:20 PM
danny, that code will remove the reputation icon from showing in the forum i specify?No, that code will SHOW the reputation icon in the forum you specify.
If you want it the other way around, you'd use this code instead:
<if condition="$forum['forumid'] != X">
GoTTi
08-18-2005, 11:06 PM
where would i put this code??
Tony G
08-19-2005, 02:26 AM
The postbit, where the reputation variable is defined. Around it.
GoTTi
08-19-2005, 05:11 AM
tony:
should it go here:
<if condition="$show['reputationlink']"><a href="#" onclick="return reputation($post[postid])"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/reputation.gif" alt="<phrase 1="$post[username]">$vbphrase[add_to_xs_reputation]</phrase>" border="0" /></a> </if>
??
how should it look?i dont know???i tried with it infront of that <if and after the </if>, nothing happend.
i also got
<if condition="$show['reputation']">$post[reputationdisplay]</if>
in the postbit. where/how do i put the code?
Oblivion Knight
08-19-2005, 03:42 PM
Change this:
<if condition="$show['reputationlink']">To this:
<if condition="$show['reputationlink'] AND $forum['forumid'] != X">Replacing X with the forumid where you don't want the reputation icon to be displayed.
I think that should work..
GoTTi
08-21-2005, 01:25 AM
its showing the reputaiton icon and letting me post after that Oblivion..
Tony G
08-21-2005, 08:20 AM
Doing the if condition that way, I think it's defining the forum in X as wanting to show the reputation icon, not taking it away. Because you're saying, if reputation is on and forum = this forum, show the repuation icon, not, don't show the reputation icon.
GoTTi
08-21-2005, 03:13 PM
<if condition="$show['reputationlink'] AND $forum['forumid'] == X">
and
<if condition="$show['reputationlink'] AND $forum['forumid'] != X">
are not working. any other ideas?
Oblivion Knight
08-21-2005, 03:55 PM
I'm guessing that perhaps the $forum variable can't be used on the postbit without a plugin or code modification.? I'm not 100% sure to be honest with you.. :speechless:
GoTTi
08-27-2005, 04:30 PM
can someone else give me some input on this please. thanks.
ggrr its works actually. i had to do this to my postbit_legavy template. not my postbit. i just figured that out. i had no idea the 2 were different or that it mattered. that sucks;/ so many things ives tried and never figured out why the didnt work unless it was told to edit the legacy template...
what a fool.
thanks guys ;)
CharlesHe
08-29-2005, 12:58 PM
There really should be an easier way to do this....allowing certain forums to have reputation......can someone figure out a way to add this in forum manager?
zappan
09-25-2005, 10:33 PM
this is just what i'm looking for too, the 'allow reputation for this forum' as a forum option among the other forum options. this should be a plugin/hack/mod request! actually, a standard feature request :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.