Log in

View Full Version : How To Separate Sticky and Normal Threads


Xplorer4x4
08-07-2005, 10:00 PM
This tiny template modification will allow you to separate sticky threads from normal threads.

Go to your:
Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> ? ? -> Forum Display Templates -> FORUMDISPLAY
Find this code:
<if condition="$show['threads']">
<!-- show threads -->
<if condition="$show['stickies']">
$threadbits_sticky
</if>
$threadbits
<!-- end show threads -->

Below $threadbits_sticky add this code:
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">7<else />6</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>


Time to Install: 60 Seconds
Templates to modify: 1
Difficulty: 0

If this was useful please click install.

Version1.01
Thanks to Boofo for the corection to add the moderation check box on end.

Boofo
08-08-2005, 06:45 AM
Please post this in a text file for those that may need to re-install or upgrade later. ;)

Boofo
08-08-2005, 08:59 AM
Shouldn't this:

6<else />5</if>

actually be this with the moderation checkbox on the end?

7<else />6</if>

Xplorer4x4
08-08-2005, 10:30 PM
BTW This is my first hack. Not much of one but meh its a start. :)

I tried my method and yours, and the moderation box shows up either way, so I guess its up to the discrsion of the person installing it.

*Uploads text files*

Should I post this over in the How-To section also?

Boofo
08-08-2005, 11:16 PM
The moderation box shows up fine your way. It is just the dividing line underneath it is one cell short with your code. ;)

BlackRabbit1971
08-10-2005, 05:59 PM
Works fine for me :)

Logikos
08-10-2005, 06:13 PM
Sreenshot?

Lynne
08-10-2005, 09:14 PM
I just added this under $threadbits_sticky and it adds the little down arrow in the last column:

<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">6<else />5</if>">&nbsp;</td>

<if condition="$show['inlinemod']">
<if condition="$show['popups']">
<td class="vbmenu_control" id="imod" align="center"> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register('imod'); </script> </td>
<else />
<td class="thead" align="center">
<input type="checkbox" name="allbox" id="checkall_all" title="$vbphrase[check_uncheck_all]" onclick="inlineMod.check_all()" />
</td>
</if>
</if>
</tr>

Boofo
08-10-2005, 11:36 PM
That still doesn't work for the line underneath. This will solve it.

<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7</if><if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']">6</if><if condition="!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">6</if><if condition="!$show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']">5</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>

Xplorer4x4
08-11-2005, 07:03 AM
The moderation box shows up fine your way. It is just the dividing line underneath it is one cell short with your code. ;)

In English? ;) Still learning the ropes here.

I will see baout a screen shot in a day or two.

Boofo
08-11-2005, 03:24 PM
That was English. ;)

Herc
08-12-2005, 04:50 AM
I don't see why you'd need the dropdown arrow on the sticky divider bar, one is enough and two become redundant in my opinion.....
The pupose for this hack seemed evident from the start, "a single divider bar between sticky's and regular threads"...!!

Nice job Xplorer4x4

Boofo
08-12-2005, 06:21 AM
That's all I wanted. ;)

I just wanted it to allow for the right amount of columns depending on what was enabled for all usergroups. Hence, the if conditions. ;)

alwafi
08-13-2005, 11:44 AM
thanks it's nice

m0nde
08-13-2005, 02:12 PM
How To Separate Sticky and Normal Threads ewww...

- Sid

utw-Mephisto
08-14-2005, 01:01 AM
Screenshot please !

MentaL
08-14-2005, 03:38 PM
pefect!

Demo - http://forum.ragezone.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10

Clicked install

Oblivion Knight
08-16-2005, 05:41 PM
That still doesn't work for the line underneath. This will solve it.

<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7</if><if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']">6</if><if condition="!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">6</if><if condition="!$show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']">5</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr> Ouch! 4 if conditions just for that.?

Would this not be better (2 if conditions)?
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>Plus, if you feel that the separator is too thick, you could use this instead (see demo (http://www.gamerseuphoria.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23))..
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" width="1" height="1" alt="" /></td></tr>:)

Boofo
08-16-2005, 05:57 PM
Ouch! 4 if conditions just for that.?

Would this not be better (2 if conditions)?
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>Plus, if you feel that the separator is too thick, you could use this instead (see demo (http://www.gamerseuphoria.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23))..
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" width="1" height="1" alt="" /></td></tr>:)

The conditions work fine either way.

BamaStangGuy
08-18-2005, 03:47 AM
Ouch! 4 if conditions just for that.?

Would this not be better (2 if conditions)?
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>Plus, if you feel that the separator is too thick, you could use this instead (see demo (http://www.gamerseuphoria.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23))..
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" width="1" height="1" alt="" /></td></tr>:)

http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f99/

Using the thin one and it works great :)

GoNz00
08-28-2005, 09:13 AM
great thanks, tidies things up a bit more :)

geoff4787
09-19-2005, 12:24 AM
You know the bar above it after you add the separating bar? It has "Thread/Thread Starter" in it? On the left of it there is a white line that goes straight down with the columns. How do I add those lines in the bar that I just added from this mod?

SlipNslide281
09-21-2005, 04:52 PM
Works great, also works for 3.5 RC3

utw-Mephisto
09-21-2005, 05:29 PM
If the moderator moderation checkbox on the end doesnt show up then try this variable instead:

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@


<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">7<else />6</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Now your done!


I needed to use that one but works like a charm, thanks :)

http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/4868/untitled8cj.jpg

ut2007world.com

Xplorer4x4
09-29-2005, 02:39 PM
The box i was refering to is on the other end. I should update this using umm was it Krby's(i think) method, but I haven;t gotten arounf to it. lol.

This will work fine in 3.5 GOLD!

Pramodinfo
10-01-2005, 08:09 PM
thanks looks gud

Pramodinfo
10-02-2005, 09:02 AM
looks gud thanks m8 :)
works fine with vb 3.5.0

ProperMethodz
10-03-2005, 07:17 PM
Sreenshot?
ditto

ProperMethodz
10-03-2005, 07:26 PM
I like... Installed. Thx.

ChrisTech
10-04-2005, 05:04 AM
Works great, thanks for this.

Noonster
10-04-2005, 12:23 PM
If you have a look at the one from 3.x.x then you can have text on them lines such as Sticky Threads and Normal Threads... just to make it look a bit nicer ;0

Blindchild02
10-04-2005, 01:15 PM
<a href="http://www.hulkforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13" target="_blank">http://www.hulkforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13</a>

works great on mine.

phonexpo
10-04-2005, 03:40 PM
Installed, thank you. ;)

chanzero
10-04-2005, 05:11 PM
wow, just today i was looking at a non-vb board that had this and wondered if we had it for vb :) i will definitely use this!

btw, could anybody tell me how i might make the bg color of the sticky threads a different color?

EDIT: nm i found the different color sticky bg here :)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=756511#post756511

Quillz
10-08-2005, 05:22 PM
Just installed this hack! It works great; thanks.

karrerax
10-14-2005, 12:49 PM
Installed. Thanks

GrendelKhan{TSU
10-14-2005, 01:09 PM
mandatory request for Screen shot. :p

(sorry...me n00birific) :(

el diablo
10-14-2005, 10:40 PM
SWEET!

thanks :)

Xplorer4x4
10-15-2005, 05:03 AM
mandatory request for Screen shot. :p

(sorry...me n00birific) :(

n00brific? haha I will have to use that some time. ;)

If you really need a screen shot I can post one tommorow. Sorry I am forgetful.

Allan
10-17-2005, 11:54 AM
don(t work for me :(

Xplorer4x4
10-26-2005, 09:48 AM
don(t work for me :(

What exactly is it doing? Is seperator bar showing? Is it disrupting your templates? I will help best I can.

gael11
10-26-2005, 11:07 AM
don(t work for me :(

What is your problem allan ?

Works very well, no problem for me. My forums looks more nice now :D

Club3G
10-29-2005, 02:14 PM
Works great on 3.0.3, made it a little smaller and put in a gradient graphic. Here's my code:

<tr><td background="http://www.sevenstring.org/forum/images/stickysep.jpg" class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" width="1" height="1" alt="" /></td></tr>
</if>

Replace

http://www.sevenstring.org/forum/images/stickysep.jpg

With your image.

Screenshot:

http://www.sevenstring.org/chris/stickysepfinished.jpg

*clicks install*

BrandiDup
10-31-2005, 01:22 PM
Installed. I used the thin line... looks and works great :)

GatorV
11-15-2005, 12:36 AM
* GatorV Installs, thanks I had been searching for this :)

seany1
11-17-2005, 05:29 PM
Thanks for this :D

shama
11-18-2005, 11:38 AM
thanks it works with me

StarBuG
11-18-2005, 12:24 PM
/me clicks install

Thx

dreamer81
11-23-2005, 08:42 AM
i NEVER install anything if there is no screenshot....

lanc3lot
12-02-2005, 05:04 PM
i NEVER install anything if there is no screenshot....


If u search a bit the post, u can see many demo pages...so just search a bit...in everything that aplies

SoulForge
12-03-2005, 10:31 PM
It dont work for me no bar shows up between my sticky and normal posts.


<if condition="$show['threads']">
<!-- show threads -->
<if condition="$show['stickies']">
$threadbits_sticky
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">7<else />6</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>
</if>
$threadbits
<!-- end show threads -->


Thats the code in my ForumDisplay template, ive tried multiply times with multiply bits of code thru out this thread and none work :( any help would be great thanks.

ayaam
12-05-2005, 09:11 AM
install

good idea !!

The Chief
12-15-2005, 01:17 AM
works great, thanks for this simple hack ;)

*clicks install

kau
12-19-2005, 05:35 PM
Why does this hack not work in some forums?

All the forums use the same templates but in some forums it works and some it doesn't work.

Gehanna
01-08-2006, 09:48 PM
Installed.

Very Nice, Thank You! :)

HO3R
01-14-2006, 08:55 AM
Great !!

Installed this one with some own edit :)
Great work

Greetz

YOimYO
01-17-2006, 04:36 PM
http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=99

Using the thin one and it works great :)

thin also .... thx :)

thx to everyone who contributed. and all the screenshots that helped me decide :D

Strat
02-02-2006, 02:20 AM
When I try to change the FORUMDISPLAY template, my admincp just starts doing something as I see my browser's activity icon turning (FireFox 1.5), but nothing ever happens. It just continues doing so. Tried a few times with the same result.

I can change every other template. Ideas?

EDIT : fixed it myself.

Ninth Dimension
02-12-2006, 07:25 PM
i NEVER install anything if there is no screenshot....
your loss...

nufc fan
02-13-2006, 09:02 PM
ive installed this no probs looks wicked

www.totalfmforums.co.uk

MR-2ZZ
02-15-2006, 12:11 AM
didn't work...

Keyser520
02-22-2006, 08:49 PM
Could you post a screen or a link so that I can see what the end effect is ?

Ev!L ErN!E
03-03-2006, 12:08 AM
Follow this link Installed Mod (http://www.deadmod.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)

ShadowOne
03-04-2006, 05:55 PM
Works Great With 3.5.4...Nice Clean Hack...

Roms
03-04-2006, 06:14 PM
Works Great, thanks. :)

forumthemes
03-08-2006, 05:07 PM
Wow great, i was searching how to do this hack as I have seen it out there just never could figure out how. Great Work!

Nathan2006
03-09-2006, 04:47 PM
Thank you this is a lot easier to see them now


Install

SilentNoise
03-21-2006, 11:02 AM
Is there a way to remove the thread creator's name from under subject line of only the sticky threads?

Quillz
03-29-2006, 05:33 PM
Is there a way to remove the thread creator's name from under subject line of only the sticky threads?
Most likely with if/then conditional statements.

loonytune15
03-31-2006, 02:21 AM
Installed Oblivion's thinner version.

Polo
07-06-2006, 03:46 PM
mmm.... I will give it a try... see how it looks....

Sorky
11-28-2007, 06:16 PM
I have some parent forums with only one sticky post (then closed) and I didn't want the separator then, but I did in the sub-forums ;-)

I did a manual change to the FORUMDISPLAY template as follows...

before...

$threadbits_sticky


after...

$threadbits_sticky
<if condition="$totalthreads>0">
<tr><td class="thead" colspan="7">&nbsp;</td></tr>
</if>


PS : I did this in 3.6.8...

PPS : Now to try the other suggestions here ;-)

flup
01-15-2009, 07:01 PM
Adds a little extra to the looks, nice ;)