PDA

View Full Version : Activity Modification


Pages : 1 2 [3]

WetWired
11-03-2007, 11:04 PM
It looks like your browser cannot find the images and is displaying the "alt" content, instead. You need to upload one of the "activity" folders in the zip file to misc folder of each style. So if you go to AdminCP>Style Manager>My Style>Style vars, and the misc image directory is
images/mycoolstyle/misc
then you need to make sure that the activity folder is in that directory so the path to an image would be, for example
images/mycoolstyle/misc/activity/activity0.gif

WetWired
11-03-2007, 11:05 PM
but i see somebody have it on vba if you want i can give you a website of them
As I said, it shouldn't be too hard to do. Why don't you contact them yourself and ask for it?

ChrisSy
11-10-2007, 01:24 PM
The 'Today' activity bar isnt working, any suggestions on what i need to check?

LiLSnooP
11-11-2007, 09:40 PM
hello i have question about this great hack

in this area domain.com/index.php?do=activitystat

it shows my username

what about color
because every single group have other color to recognise it
could you explain me how to make colors for

/index.php?do=activitystat

?

or maybe add some other option like it is in members.php ?

thay you for replay

mri_mohammad
11-11-2007, 10:34 PM
As I said, it shouldn't be too hard to do. Why don't you contact them yourself and ask for it?

i contact them but they didn't give me can you make it?

WetWired
11-12-2007, 03:52 PM
The 'Today' activity bar isnt working, any suggestions on what i need to check?
It's probably turned off. By default, activity today is only shown for the logged in user, since it requires extra queries.

WetWired
11-12-2007, 04:10 PM
what about color
because every single group have other color to recognise it
could you explain me how to make colors for

/index.php?do=activitystat

I haven't tested this, but it should work... you should copy out the old plugin and keep it in notepad so you can put it back if it doesn't work.

Go to AdminCP|Plugin System|Plugin Manager, and find the Activity Modification plugin named "Top Activity" for forumhome_start.

find
//*****************************
// Display the top X activity

$count=0;
$userlist='0';
foreach($WWU002statdata as $index=>$value){
$userlist.=','.$value[0];
}//endforeach($WWU002statdata as $index=>$value)

$exists=$vbulletin->db->query_read('SELECT posts,userid,usergroupid,membergroupids,username FROM '.TABLE_PREFIX.'user WHERE userid IN ('.$userlist.')');
$userlist=array();
while($existuser=$vbulletin->db->fetch_array($exists)){
$userlist[intval($existuser['userid'])]=$existuser;
}//endwhile($existuser=$vbulletin->db->fetch_row($exists))
$vbulletin->db->free_result($exists);

replace it with

//*****************************
// Display the top X activity

$count=0;
$userlist=array();
foreach($WWU002statdata as $index=>$value){
$userlist[intval($value[0])]=fetch_userinfo($value[0]);
}//endforeach($WWU002statdata as $index=>$value)

below that, find

$info[1]=$userinfo['username'];

replace it with

$info[1]=$userinfo['musername'];


This may result in extra queries to view the Top Activity page. Again, this may not work, so make a backup of the old version of the plugin before editing it. I'll try to remember this feature for when I release a new version.

WetWired
11-12-2007, 04:12 PM
i contact them but they didn't give me can you make it?
I do not use vBA and thus do not have the knowledge to write it, nor the means of testing it.

711
11-21-2007, 01:58 AM
My forum uses postbit_legacy exclusively. When I did the template edits, all the user titles in postbit area were missing. Even after I undid the template edits, no user titles were showing. Only when I uninstalled the product did they reappear.

Is it possible to completely disable the user rank and title stuff in the postbit areas? I tried turning this off in the admin CP, but it didn't seem to work.

Also, if my forum only uses postbit_legacy, do I still need to do the postbit template edits?

Thanks!

WetWired
11-21-2007, 03:04 AM
What version of vB are you using?
To confirm, when you re-install the product, the user-titles linked to postcount and usergroup disappear?
The mod is not supposed to hide any existing information, only add new information.
If you disabled the mod-generated user ranks in the admin CP and it didn't go away, something is wrong.

Perhaps you have a caching issue of some sort? I'm using vB 3.6.8 and don't have either of your problems.

No, you don't need to edit the "postbit" template, if you don't use it.

711
11-21-2007, 07:03 AM
What version of vB are you using?
To confirm, when you re-install the product, the user-titles linked to postcount and usergroup disappear?
The mod is not supposed to hide any existing information, only add new information.
If you disabled the mod-generated user ranks in the admin CP and it didn't go away, something is wrong.

Perhaps you have a caching issue of some sort? I'm using vB 3.6.8 and don't have either of your problems.

No, you don't need to edit the "postbit" template, if you don't use it.

I am using vB 3.6.8, sorry forgot to mention in my post.

I will try reinstalling again, it's possible that I made an error when editing the templates, or that another installed mod is interfering.

Thanks for the quick response. ;)

WetWired
11-21-2007, 07:37 PM
Try just installing the XML first, and see if you have the problem before you edit the templates.

711
11-25-2007, 11:21 AM
I'm getting this error on one of my non-vB pages that uses vb's global.php for login purposes:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare wwu002activityupdate() (previously declared in /path/to/forums/global.php(360) : eval()'d code:238) in /path/to/forums/global.php(360) : eval()'d code on line 238

Here is the top part of the page which generates the error:


<?php
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'chat');
chdir('/path/to/forums');
require('/path/to/forums/global.php');
include('/path/to/forums/global.php');
chdir('/path/to/forum.com');


I tried to disable the mod for the chat page by using this conditional in postbit:


<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == chat">
&nbsp;
<else />
ACTIVITY MOD CODE
</if>


but it had no effect. I see that this mod has hooks in global_start. Perhaps there is a way to disable this mod for the chat script? This seems likely to work, since the only vB file included in the chat page is globals.php

Any assistance appreciated, thanks!

WetWired
11-25-2007, 05:23 PM
Your problem is

require('/path/to/forums/global.php');
include('/path/to/forums/global.php');

You only need one of those lines. Remove one and it will work fine.

711
11-25-2007, 06:07 PM
Your problem is

require('/path/to/forums/global.php');
include('/path/to/forums/global.php');

You only need one of those lines. Remove one and it will work fine.

Actually, both of those lines have been in the script for well over a year now, and it ran just fine during that time. In fact, the base code for the page was provided by the chat software creators, and it included both lines.

In any case I tried:


require('/path/to/forums/global.php');


then


include('/path/to/forums/global.php');


and even


require_once('/path/to/forums/global.php');



and they all still result in the same error.

Any ideas?

711
11-26-2007, 04:09 AM
Chat still not working because of this error :(

Chat is an important feature for my members, who are also thrilled with the new activity/longevity meters.

I'd really love to get this error sorted. Is there a conditional I can use somewhere to prevent the activity mod from initalizing on non-vB pages that use the vB global.php for login purposes?

WetWired
11-26-2007, 05:42 AM
The root cause of the problem is globals.php being included multiple times, or global_start, at least. If you can't figure out why global_start is running twice, you could modify the activity mod's global_start plugin by wrapping the whole thing in

if(!$WWU002globalstartonce++){
}

which should prevent that specific plugin from executing twice.

711
11-26-2007, 05:47 AM
The root cause of the problem is globals.php being included multiple times, or global_start, at least. If you can't figure out why global_start is running twice, you could modify the activity mod's global_start plugin by wrapping the whole thing in

if(!$WWU002globalstartonce++){
}

which should prevent that specific plugin from executing twice.

That worked, thank you very much!! :up:

711
11-26-2007, 05:50 AM
**EDIT** Found the activity_config_guide.txt file earlier in this thread. Any reason why this is no longer included in the download package? It is still referenced in the help popups in admincp.

Question, I would like to set the weeks reflected back even further than 10, but it is hardcoded in the admin CP. If I manually change the entry in my forum database, will this work? I would also like to raise the counted posts per day slightly.

Also, could you give any tips on more advanced tweaking of the activity rating forumula (i.e. including other variables such as reputation power, etc)? I assume this would need to be done by manually editing the plugins, correct?

Also, any plans to support vBulletin blog entries in the activity calculations?

coffee
11-28-2007, 01:00 AM
Installed, Thank you.

anoob
11-28-2007, 01:57 AM
Hi, I've installed this product, I like it too.
Thanks for the hard work.

My question is, when I hold my mouse over, activity, longevity & today, the popup displays the appropiate information. However when I hold my mouse over posts, all I get is the letter "S", any ideas what I may of done wrong?

Also, is there any way to control where this appears, like can it be on the left side, rather than the right side?

WetWired
11-29-2007, 02:11 AM
My question is, when I hold my mouse over, activity, longevity & today, the popup displays the appropiate information. However when I hold my mouse over posts, all I get is the letter "S", any ideas what I may of done wrong?

Also, is there any way to control where this appears, like can it be on the left side, rather than the right side?
The "S" is at the request of someone who wanted valid XHTML. Apparently, every image needs an alternate text for that. The spacer images have an alternate text of "S" (because that is the part added to the image name...). There is nothing wrong.

If you do the template edits different, the information will appear in a different place. If you look at the postbit addition, you will find that there is a core table with class="wwu002 something. You can take that table and put it whereever you'd like.

**EDIT** Found the activity_config_guide.txt file earlier in this thread. Any reason why this is no longer included in the download package? It is still referenced in the help popups in admincp.


Question, I would like to set the weeks reflected back even further than 10, but it is hardcoded in the admin CP. If I manually change the entry in my forum database, will this work? I would also like to raise the counted posts per day slightly.

Also, could you give any tips on more advanced tweaking of the activity rating forumula (i.e. including other variables such as reputation power, etc)? I assume this would need to be done by manually editing the plugins, correct?

Also, any plans to support vBulletin blog entries in the activity calculations?The missing guide is an oversight. The weeks reflected is supported by a weighting array that makes more distant weeks count less than more recent weeks. While you could bypass the CP for the setting, the mod wouldn't work as you'd expect unless you also added more information to the array. Also, you'd want to just change the type of setting to text, 'lest you accidentally changed when doing a "view all settings", then save. The array in question should be in global_start, right after the function definitions; it should have "week" and "weight" in its name. You'll also need to change a calculation close under it that calculates the maximum activity value, as it's done inline rather than as a for loop.

The activity metric was designed as a complete system and has no hooks for including additional factors. Except for the Top Activity page, all activity calculation is done through a central function, so you could tweak it, though you'd probably have issues such as activity going off the scale.

I have not purchased the vBBlog addon, so I can't add support. I'm sure it's just a matter of copying the code dealing with the posts and altering the query to look at other tables.

ndut
11-30-2007, 12:54 PM
nice one, thanks

apiasto
12-11-2007, 02:16 PM
gee i"ve been looking for thhis n finally found it.nice work n thnx for it

reesev
12-13-2007, 01:41 AM
is it possible to show a persons itrader rating via this? i would love to add this mod but i think this and the text of the itrader would clash :P

thanks in advance

WetWired
12-13-2007, 04:02 PM
Can you make X number get split up into digits?
I understand where you're coming from with this one, but I just can't figure out a way to work this that would be simple to use.
You could always change the template to use normal text, or use the text-only version.

cygy2k
12-17-2007, 01:39 AM
I understand this isn't a supported mod but I hope that somebody can get permission to take over the project and continue developing the product, it sure has a lot of interest. With 3.7 just around the corner, I'm guessing there will be even more problems that we'll have to individually try to work around.

WetWired
12-17-2007, 04:02 PM
I understand this isn't a supported mod but I hope that somebody can get permission to take over the project and continue developing the product, it sure has a lot of interest. With 3.7 just around the corner, I'm guessing there will be even more problems that we'll have to individually try to work around.
WTH are you talking about? I support this product and visit the forums at least once a week. Did you miss the part where I post answers every 3rd post or so? This mod is up-to-date for 3.6, and when 3.7 comes out, I'll make sure it works with that, too.

cygy2k
12-17-2007, 05:20 PM
I'm sorry - I posted in the wrong forum for that. Sorry, I do enjoy this mod very much!

SwollenCranium
12-18-2007, 06:03 PM
WTH are you talking about? I support this product and visit the forums at least once a week. Did you miss the part where I post answers every 3rd post or so? This mod is up-to-date for 3.6, and when 3.7 comes out, I'll make sure it works with that, too.


Haha .. You're foaming at the mouth a bit....:D

Great hack, looking forward to the 3.7 fix.

Zaiaku
12-26-2007, 08:54 PM
You need a fix for 3.7? Its working fine for me on 3.7 on a pretty heavily modded board.

Raptor
01-09-2008, 10:16 PM
A fantastic mod. I do find however that when selecting to view all users posts made today - that the forum slows to a crawl - and its a powerful as hell server with a ton of mods and a 1.2 million+ post community. Apart from that its great. Any suggestions on possible optimization as I'd like to have that option selected. Cheers :)

WetWired
01-16-2008, 11:18 PM
The activity mod should have no effect on a search results page -- only where activity is displayed might it need to be calculated. Additionally, activity is only calculated once per user per day, the first time it is needed; if the post was made today, then the activity was already calculated when it was posted.

As far as optimizations, the default settings produce the minimum load, with the exception that more weeks counted will increase the load and that defaults to 4. Be sure to check the state of the "Show activity today for all users" option; this adds a query for each user who posted on a thread page every time it is viewed, which will result in a corespondingly large load increase. Except for that, the mod is designed so that a board with round-the-clock visitors will only feel the increased load once a day, and you can place that load off-peak by changing the mod midnight.

Matt5
02-21-2008, 10:46 PM
Installed, it's great.

One problem, my mood hack has now disapeard from the postbit. It don't remove anything from it so i'm unsure why, any help?

WetWired
02-22-2008, 04:03 AM
If you could paste your postbit template into a text file and post it here, I'd be happy to take a look.

shadowevil
02-22-2008, 06:03 AM
Does this work on vb 3.7.x ?? :)

WetWired
02-22-2008, 12:40 PM
So I'm told.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1409689#post1409689

Milad
02-29-2008, 01:33 PM
I hope you use the template hooks instead of edits in the next version.

WetWired
04-19-2008, 05:00 PM
I'd like to state that I have a vb3.7 version that uses template hooks almost ready, but I'm having a bit of trouble with the product system not wanting to properly upgrade from an existing version. I'm waiting to see if this will get corrected; if not, I'll have to make a plugin to change the productid of the installed product to lowercase before the new one is installed.

anoob
04-20-2008, 08:17 PM
I've installed your mod, everything works fine, except the text is white, and does not show well on my site, is there a way to change the color of the text?

WetWired
04-20-2008, 08:42 PM
The text color depends on which set of images you upload. There is a set for light styles (with black text), and a set for dark styles (with white text). Also, there's little to prevent you from loading them up in a graphics editor and changing the text color if neither black nor white appeals to you.

anoob
04-20-2008, 10:17 PM
Much Thanks!

711
04-25-2008, 08:54 AM
I'd like to state that I have a vb3.7 version that uses template hooks almost ready, but I'm having a bit of trouble with the product system not wanting to properly upgrade from an existing version. I'm waiting to see if this will get corrected; if not, I'll have to make a plugin to change the productid of the installed product to lowercase before the new one is installed.

Glad to hear it WW!

Will the 3.7 version give activity credits for new 3.7 activities, such as creating social groups, posting public messages, tagging a thread, etc.?

WetWired
04-25-2008, 03:40 PM
Not currently. Right now, I've been too busy with updating templates and writing plugins to change templates to really find all the new features. Perhaps you'd like to explain what you'd like considered?

711
04-25-2008, 07:13 PM
Not currently. Right now, I've been too busy with updating templates and writing plugins to change templates to really find all the new features. Perhaps you'd like to explain what you'd like considered?

Well it would be great to include activity points for these activities new to 3.7:


Tagging a thread
Posting a public message or group message


since both contribute to activity and usability on a forum.

WetWired
04-26-2008, 03:33 AM
What is "posting a public message or group message"? Like I just said, for the most part I'm completely clueless as to what any new feature since 3.5 is. If you want a chance of inclusion in the iniitial 3.7 release you'll need to explain where these things are and what they do.

PaylaX
04-26-2008, 06:27 AM
Perfect Job!
Thank You WetWired

WetWired
04-28-2008, 01:54 AM
I have now posted the beta of the vB3.7 version of this mod at https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=177366

turkcom
05-03-2008, 11:30 PM
how can i put the border?

WetWired
05-04-2008, 12:59 AM
You need to add the CSS to your style as instructed in the installation instructions

Chachacha
08-27-2008, 11:05 PM
Thank you. *Installed*

TRABZONLUKAPLAN
09-30-2008, 07:29 PM
Installed. Thank you very much.

adamskiii
11-16-2008, 06:40 PM
thanks man

ArchangelX
05-09-2009, 07:38 AM
Hi, is it possible to add a 4th rank to this? Thanks!

WetWired
05-09-2009, 11:22 PM
Hi, is it possible to add a 4th rank to this? Thanks!
I suppose it's possible, but you'd need to figure out the progression sequence and find a coder to do it. Everything they'd need to modify is in the global_start plugin, in the WWU002promoteUser function.

princeedward
05-15-2009, 07:40 PM
Hi WetWired...i don't know but lately...my Members Today Activity stop the functions....can't see the images now...but for me it's all complete.....

do you have any idea about this...can you check it please...

http://epaloids.com/index.php

thanks and best regards...

;)

WetWired
05-16-2009, 06:38 AM
I'm really not sure what you're trying to say. If your problem is that you don't see "Today's Activity," it's because you have to turn in on in the control panel.

Marcimi
05-20-2009, 12:08 PM
hi there

after installing the textversion, which works very well, i found some kind of a nasty bug.

here?s the situation:
we?ve got several user groups and the main user group has a big BANNED-slogan below the user name after installing the mod.

i got a picture of it:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/05/70.jpg

normaly there would only stand:
-=KennY=- (user name)
Administrator (user rank)
Immortal Soul (rank)

the banned-slogan just showed up after installing the mod.
but it only showes up at users who are part of our main user group (internal group).
others groups and users wich are not member of a certain group are not affected by the problem.

after re-installing the default templates the BANNED-slogan finally disappeared again.

so i can?t use this mode actually - but i would love to use it.

hope you can help me.
maybe you have an idea what i can do or in which template or user group i have to look for a certain thing.

WetWired
05-21-2009, 11:22 PM
This is controlled in the "Rank and Promotions" settings. Apparently, you changed the default banned usergroup (8) into your main usergroup, somehow.

princeedward
05-25-2009, 06:34 PM
I'm really not sure what you're trying to say. If your problem is that you don't see "Today's Activity," it's because you have to turn in on in the control panel.what i meant is...the Today Activities from my all members don't show up...but mine is all okay....

please view my attachment below...

thanks and best regards..

WetWired
05-26-2009, 01:49 AM
If your problem is that you don't see "Today's Activity," it's because you have to turn in on in the control panel.In the Activity Display Settings, to be exact.

princeedward
05-26-2009, 04:02 AM
In the Activity Display Settings, to be exact.auch...my bad...that's exactly the reason....thanks a lot WetWired....one thing more....how can i see it to Members Profile?...set it to yes but still not showing the images instead...only numbers...do i have to edit anything?

Find today's activity for member profile = YES

thanks and best regards....

:)

WetWired
05-26-2009, 10:58 PM
In the member profile, it will only show the images in the sidebar. On the stats tab, it uses text to match everything else there. You have the option to only use one or the other "Activity Display Settings>User profile page statisictics"

iMageREAL
08-02-2009, 01:44 PM
great work on this,easy install *clicks installed*

one question tho for the 'Top Activity Page' i have a highly customised style and im not seeing a link anywhere to view Top Activity.. i have tried finding it manually to add it to my navbar but no luck... help me plz

thx

WetWired
08-03-2009, 01:37 PM
This version does not include a built-in link to the top-activity page. The version for vB3.7/3.8 does. If you are using vB3.5 or vB3.6, you will need to manually add somewhere a link to
index.php?do=activitystat

crouzmind
09-29-2009, 05:13 PM
hello coder i have installed and also upload the images dark files all is fine but after successfully installed the mod when i click on any thread to view i got this error .

Fatal error: Call to undefined function WWU002processUser() in /home/ihfun/public_html/includes/class_postbit.php(265) : eval()'d code on line 185

WetWired
10-07-2009, 03:15 AM
This means that there are errors (in any mod) processing global_start. Since errors at that point are supressed, it's hard to debug. Actually, you may be able to see them in your apache error log. They would show as happening in global.php.

howcome
10-10-2009, 05:20 AM
i have an issue Ive had this mod installed for a very long timee i really enjoy it but all of a sudden I'm having issue i use am using images with this mod and today section is blank no image at all i think upgrading to 384 pl1 messed with it any way to fix??http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f36/dyear20/today.png i would really hate to uninstall this mod

EDIT: well i have version 3.0.3 installed not this one i wouldn't wanna double post

WetWired
10-10-2009, 04:29 PM
Have you checked your Activity Display Settings? Is "Find today's activity for all users" on? Alternately, since you're using custom graphics, has the "Counted posts per day" in Activity General Settings changed? The posts today image ends with "activity today_Counted posts per day+1", and if you didn't recreate all 46 combinations, that setting could be your problem.

howcome
10-10-2009, 08:39 PM
omg i love you thank you for the fast reply i was staring at the xml and the templates wondering where the code went wrong if it went wrong and didn't find nothing i cant believe i overlooked setting i really appreciate your fast reply and successful support
just one more question how to get it to show images in the statistics on member profile

WetWired
10-12-2009, 04:22 AM
It only shows images on the block in the right column, not in the tabbed part. You can choose to show one or both from the Activity Settings. There is also a setting that controls whether "Activity Today" is shown in member profiles.

JoeZ
02-19-2011, 03:48 AM
Any chance on making this for 4+?

Wizzup
01-29-2013, 03:50 AM
I would also LOVE a vB4 port of this.