PDA

View Full Version : New plugin questions


sifuhall
08-07-2005, 11:06 PM
Hello. I am trying to understand the new plugin system and any help will be greatly appreciated.

For my first plugin I wanted to take something I had in the php_start template.

The only purpose of this is to query the db and return the first username where field9 in the userfield table is 'Yes', and then do the same for field10.

In my php_start my code was:


// MMOTM
$memotmq = $DB_site->query("SELECT u.username, u.userid FROM user u INNER JOIN userfield f ON f.userid = u.userid AND f.field9='Yes' LIMIT 1");
$memberotm = $DB_site->fetch_array($memotmq);
$modotmq = $DB_site->query("SELECT u.username, u.userid FROM user u INNER JOIN userfield f ON f.userid = u.userid AND f.field10='Yes' LIMIT 1");
$moderatorotm = $DB_site->fetch_array($modotmq);

unset($memotmq, $modotmq);


With the old method I just set the vars $mmberotm and $moderatorotm to the values and then reference these vars in the template forum_home.

So to change this to a plugin I would need to make this something like:


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

<plugins>
<plugin active="1" devkey="Name" product="vbulletin">
<title>MMOTM</title>
<hookname>global_start</hookname>
<phpcode><![CDATA[//
// START PHP CODE

// MMOTM
$memotmq = $DB_site->query("SELECT u.username, u.userid FROM user u INNER JOIN userfield f ON f.userid = u.userid AND f.field9='Yes' LIMIT 1");
$memberotm = $DB_site->fetch_array($memotmq);
$modotmq = $DB_site->query("SELECT u.username, u.userid FROM user u INNER JOIN userfield f ON f.userid = u.userid AND f.field10='Yes' LIMIT 1");
$moderatorotm = $DB_site->fetch_array($modotmq);

unset($memotmq, $modotmq);

// END PHP CODE
//]]></phpcode>
</plugin>
</plugins>


Should I use the global_start hook since this will only be displayed on the forum home?

Is $DB_site->query still valid?

Also, will this method of setting the vars then referencing them in the templates still work?

Andreas
08-07-2005, 11:20 PM
No, you should not use global_start when this is only being used on Forumhome.

Use forumhome_complete (this Hook gets called just before the FORUMHOME Template gets eval()ed):

$memberotm = $db->query_first("
SELECT user.username, user.userid FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "userfield AS userfield ON (userfield.userid=user.userid AND userfield.field9='Yes')
LIMIT 1
");
$moderatorotm = $db->query_first("
SELECT user.username, user.userid FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX ." user AS user
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "userfield AS userfield ON (userfield.userid=user.userid AND userfield.field10='Yes')
LIMIT 1
");

sifuhall
08-08-2005, 04:14 AM
A million thanks to you KirbyDE!