PDA

View Full Version : Forum Avatars


Andrew111888
08-05-2005, 10:00 PM
This hack will allow you to add a forum avatar to each of your forums. The avatar will be displayed in forumdisplay.

I originally wrote this for vBulletin 2 a couple years ago and a poor dirty one a few months ago for vBulletin 3, but this is version is an optimized and very light-weight version :).

This has been tested on 3.0.5 but I don't know why it wouldn't work on any 3.0.x version.

You will need to edit one file (admincp/forum.php) which also adds a query to that file, run one query on your database to add the avatar field to the forum table, and you will need to edit one template (FORUMDISPLAY) to display the avatar.

No queries are added to forumdisplay.php.

Estimated install time: five minutes or less.

Don't forget to click install :).

kall
08-06-2005, 09:33 PM
This could be done with template modifications only...but thank you for sharing. :)

Andrew111888
08-06-2005, 10:06 PM
If you are referring to this manner:


<if condition="$foruminfo[forumid]==1">
<img src="banner1.jpg" alt="" border="0" />
</if>

<if condition="$foruminfo[forumid]==2">
<img src="banner2.jpg" alt="" border="0" />
</if>


and so fourth, doesn't that seem a little impractical?

BluPhoenix
08-07-2005, 10:51 AM
You could also use:
<img src="banner$foruminfo[forumid].jpg">

and then add a banner(forumid).jpg for each forum.

kall
08-07-2005, 10:54 AM
You could also use:
<img src="banner$foruminfo[forumid].jpg">

and then add a banner(forumid).jpg for each forum.

That's what I meant. :)

(and
<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(1,2,3))">)

bigcurt
08-07-2005, 12:53 PM
EITHER WAY, good hack man..thanks for the hard work.

~Curt

Andrew111888
08-07-2005, 05:19 PM
That's what I meant. :)

(and
<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(1,2,3))">)

You're right, that is a lot easier. I never even thought of doing it that way.

My hack's pretty much useless now :p.

kall
08-08-2005, 09:19 AM
You're right, that is a lot easier. I never even thought of doing it that way.

My hack's pretty much useless now :p.

Some people like to do everything from the adminCP though dude. Your hack has its place. :)

Yukino_AE
08-10-2005, 07:18 PM
i like doing things from the admin panel! ^_^

this would be really neat except i'm having some trouble. the images won't show up on the forum. any idea why. i put in the avatar url but nothing shows up on the forum.

Andrew111888
08-12-2005, 02:04 AM
Are you sure you followed all instructions in the readme?