Log in

View Full Version : Users Choose Username Font/Color Posts


Gio~Logist
07-28-2005, 10:00 PM
//////////////////////// Users Choose Color/Font Of Username In Posts \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
////////////////////////////////////////////////// by gio~logist \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
------------------- Allow users to change what color their username is in posts --------------------
------------------------------------------ Via UserCP -------------------------------------------
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ \\\\\\\

Want members to be able to choose the font color of their usernames in posts?

Step 1
Go to User Profile Fields >> Add New User Profile Field

Choose A "Single-Line Text Box"

Title: "Color of Your Username"

Description: Type in the color in which you will like your username to be. Keep in mind that writing the colors in text does not always work, so try and format it like this: #ff0000 (that code is for red).

Display Size: 11

Max length of allowed user input: 7


HIT SAVE


Step 2
Now go to edit your postbit template and search for this code:


$post[musername]


Replace it with this


<if condition="$post['fieldx'] != '' ">
<font style="color:$post[fieldx]">$post[musername]</font>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


X will be the id for the field in which you created. To view the id of the field created go to the "Profile Field Manager" and find the field ID of the field you made. (This appears under the "Name" column). It should show as fieldx where x is the ID.


HIT SAVE



Want them to be able to choose the font as well?

Step 1
Go to User Profile Fields >> Add New User Profile Field

Choose A "Single-Line Text Box"

Title: "Font of Your Username"

Description: Type in the font in which you will like. For example for tahoma, type in "Tahoma", without the quotations.

Display Size: 15

Max length of allowed user input: 20


HIT SAVE

Step 2
Now go to edit your postbit template and search for this code:


$post[musername]


Replace it with this


<if condition="$post['fieldx'] != '' ">
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldx]">$post[musername]</font>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


The X in font-family will be the id for the field in which you created. To view the id of the field created go to the "Profile Field Manager" and find the field ID of the field you made. (This appears under the "Name" column). It should show as fieldx where x is the ID.


HIT SAVE

AND WE'RE DONE!

If you want them to be able to choose both color AND font, only do step 1 in each part, and then replace:


$post[musername]


with


<if condition="$post['fieldx'] != '' ">
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldx]; color:$post[fieldx];">$post[musername]</font>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


The X in font-family will be the id for the field in which you created. The X in font-color will be the id for the field in which you created before. To view the id of the field created go to the "Profile Field Manager" and find the field ID of the field you made. (This appears under the "Name" column). It should show as fieldx where x is the ID.


Current Add-Ons
Exclude Certain Colors (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=768236#post768236)



Planned For Next Version (So Far)
- Have a pop up that allows you to pick a color and then shows the code for that color.

If you have any other ideas feel free to post them!

webslugger
07-28-2005, 10:44 PM
great idea! could you also add a field to let them choose the font?

Gio~Logist
07-28-2005, 10:49 PM
refresh

webslugger
07-28-2005, 10:53 PM
excellent! thanks

Gio~Logist
07-28-2005, 11:11 PM
I UPDATED THE INSTRUCTIONS! IF YOU ALREADY INSTALLED, READ THE NEW INSTRUCTIONS!


I dont use vb3.5 so correct me if i was wrong in any of my codes, however, i don't THINK i was.

.Tim
07-28-2005, 11:17 PM
The color doesn't change for me.

Gio~Logist
07-28-2005, 11:19 PM
Did you use new instructions?
What did you insert in your profile?
Did you make sure you followed instructions correctly?

.Tim
07-28-2005, 11:34 PM
Yes.
I tried many different codes, even the one from the example and nothing.
Yes, I even reverted and did it again.

Gio~Logist
07-28-2005, 11:41 PM
wow im an idiot... simple html mistake..... sorry about that, try now! i edited instructions....

.Tim
07-28-2005, 11:48 PM
That worked, thanks! Great hack my users will love this.

monstergamer
07-29-2005, 12:14 AM
thanx for this, but i had some thing like this and i added a glow around the usernames as well

Gio~Logist
07-29-2005, 12:29 AM
im glad you guys like it so far.... again, feel free to make more requests n stuff!

Boofo
07-29-2005, 12:43 AM
Wouldn't this mess with your html marking in the usergroups, though? ;)

.Tim
07-29-2005, 01:02 AM
im glad you guys like it so far.... again, feel free to make more requests n stuff!

Would be nice if it could show up in other places like "who's online".:D

Tony G
07-29-2005, 01:40 AM
Thank you for sharing your mod. Could you please document your modification in a .txt file and attach it? It's easier for members to refer back to your mod if they need to install it again.

normandyq8
07-29-2005, 01:50 AM
thank you

but if you can do same this:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=60065

that will be great

Gio~Logist
07-29-2005, 02:04 AM
Wouldn't this mess with your html marking in the usergroups, though? ;)

What?


Thank you for sharing your mod. Could you please document your modification in a .txt file and attach it? It's easier for members to refer back to your mod if they need to install it again.

I'll have that first thing tommorow.

Gio~Logist
07-29-2005, 02:04 AM
thank you

but if you can do same this:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=60065

that will be great


Actually i can :-D That will be done tommorow as well :-D

Boofo
07-29-2005, 02:35 AM
What?

The html markup in the Usergroup settings for highlighting the names of the Admins, Mods, etc.

bigcurt
07-29-2005, 03:31 AM
Screenshots would also be a good idea gio ;). Also this should overwrite your usergroup markup just like boofo said, so if you have html markup usegroups, I would be careful.

~Curt

Gio~Logist
07-29-2005, 10:16 AM
Actually it only overwrites it IF THE USER HAS A COLOR SELECTED.

I'm a bit busy right now however, expect the release of user font hack tonight or sooner!

Boofo
07-29-2005, 10:21 AM
Then a user could set their name the same as a Mod or Admin. ;)

And would you please post this in a text file so others can download it and have it in case of a re-install?

yoyoyoyo
07-29-2005, 10:42 AM
I don't know if you wrote this for me:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91845

but thanks! I will check it out later. As far as more ideas to throw in the hack- how about having a list of the fonts that they can choose in a drop-down menu?
Then a user could set their name the same as a Mod or Admin. ;)

And would you please post this in a text file so others can download it and have it in case of a re-install?

ooh - that is why a drop-down menu idea would be best I think, even for the colors.

Gio~Logist
07-29-2005, 11:13 AM
I don't know if you wrote this for me:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91845

but thanks! I will check it out later. As far as more ideas to throw in the hack- how about having a list of the fonts that they can choose in a drop-down menu?


ooh - that is why a drop-down menu idea would be best I think, even for the colors.


I didn't see your request however, i'm glad i can help. I will update this thread with instructions on how to make it function in who's online as well. Also, i would do a drop down menu, however, not everyone likes the same fonts. As for colors..... if someone chooses a color the same as one in which admins have....... does it really matter? That's why they invented showgroups.php If it really does matter then i can try and make a drop down, however, it doesnt seem that big of a deal at the moment.

yoyoyoyo
07-29-2005, 11:25 AM
I didn't see your request however, i'm glad i can help. I will update this thread with instructions on how to make it function in who's online as well. Also, i would do a drop down menu, however, not everyone likes the same fonts. As for colors..... if someone chooses a color the same as one in which admins have....... does it really matter? That's why they invented showgroups.php If it really does matter then i can try and make a drop down, however, it doesnt seem that big of a deal at the moment.I think it is a big deal (the color/font). Admins and mods like to stand out. Mods at my site (and 99.999% of all of the other sites) work for no money, etc. and they feel that they have earned their title/markup status. I think it is cool to allow regular users to choose their own color/font, except for the admin/mod fonts/colors. Sure it is no big deal in the large scope of things, just as items purchased in the uttstore shop or rep are no big deal in reality, but people get very posessive of funny little icons, etc. next to their names.

Gio~Logist
07-29-2005, 11:30 AM
So then i suppose you expect me to try and guess what color each admin of a forum has set each usergroup to so that then i can determind what to put int he drop down?

john1744
07-30-2005, 04:20 PM
I dont know why they're griping, but this hack is awesome. Thanks tons man.

john1744
07-30-2005, 04:37 PM
The only thing I could think of is I wish the colors were expanded to the other areas of the forum, as in the What's Happening area, and in the last post column, things like that.

The color picker would be nice as well.

Gio~Logist
07-30-2005, 05:12 PM
I already have the color picker ima use, i just need to write instructions and stuff.

I will explain how to get this working on other parts of the forum as well when i release the color picker.

john1744
07-30-2005, 05:13 PM
You get that stuff put in and I think it could be HOTM

john1744
08-04-2005, 03:20 PM
Any updates?

jesus likes pie
08-06-2005, 09:06 PM
this would be really good. Excellent idea but I wont use it since we resrve different/special colors for staff only.

I'll get the font color one though!

Bubble #5
08-18-2005, 09:48 PM
So then i suppose you expect me to try and guess what color each admin of a forum has set each usergroup to so that then i can determind what to put int he drop down?
Of course not, but you could have a place where the admin could enter in the colors that are excluded, and the hack would then ignore those colors, or even make it easy for the admin to add the colors available themselves, and then just those colors would be available in the drop down list. As long as members can duplicate admin and mod colors the hack is useless, and defeats a basic vB feature.

Kirk Y
08-19-2005, 02:12 AM
Of course not, but you could have a place where the admin could enter in the colors that are excluded, and the hack would then ignore those colors, or even make it easy for the admin to add the colors available themselves, and then just those colors would be available in the drop down list. As long as members can duplicate admin and mod colors the hack is useless, and defeats a basic vB feature.

Just what I was thinking: if you could somehow specify a banned or black-list of color vars, then I'd totally install this hack.

john1744
08-19-2005, 02:25 AM
Yeah that would be awesome, cause right now I have a user who is a ghost. IE: his username is the same as the background of the forum.

Bubble #5
08-19-2005, 02:44 AM
right now I have a user who is a ghost. IE: his username is the same as the background of the forum.
Hehehe.... sorry, didn't mean to laugh, but that is funny (and part of the reason why I won't use this hack as it stands) :surprised:

fly
09-04-2005, 08:12 PM
I use postbit_legacy and $post[musername] appears twice (unless I have it in there twice from some other hack...). I'll figure it out, but you may want to update the instructions...

Gio~Logist
09-05-2005, 07:16 AM
Exclude Certain Colors Add-On


Change

<if condition="$post['fieldx'] != '' ">
<font style="color:$post[fieldx]">$post[musername]</font>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


To


<if condition="$post['fieldx'] != '' ">

<if condition="$post['fieldx'] == 'COLORCODE1' OR $post['fieldx'] == 'COLORCODE2' OR $post['fieldx'] == 'COLORCODE3' OR $post['fieldx'] == 'COLORCODE4' ">

<else />
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldx]">$post[musername]</font>
</if>

<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


Replace COLORCODE1, COLORCODE2, ETC. with the codes you want to excluce.

john1744
09-06-2005, 06:24 AM
Simply awesome thanks tons gio~logist

NuclioN
10-10-2005, 10:15 AM
How to use this just for the online colors on forumhome??

Flow Fusion
10-13-2005, 11:38 AM
I use postbit_legacy and $post[musername] appears twice (unless I have it in there twice from some other hack...). I'll figure it out, but you may want to update the instructions...


Yeah I also use postbit_legacy and I don't know how to make this work. Any help?

fly
10-13-2005, 11:45 AM
Yeah I also use postbit_legacy and I don't know how to make this work. Any help?
Looks like I replaced both of them with:

<if condition="$post['field7'] != '' ">
<font style="color:$post[field7]">$post[musername]</font>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>

Flow Fusion
10-13-2005, 12:24 PM
Looks like I replaced both of them with:

<if condition="$post['field7'] != '' ">
<font style="color:$post[field7]">$post[musername]</font>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


Nope, any other ideas?

fly
10-13-2005, 12:31 PM
Nope, any other ideas?
Worked for me. Did you replace 'field7' with your field number?

Flow Fusion
10-13-2005, 01:49 PM
Yup my field is 18.

fly
10-13-2005, 01:54 PM
Yup my field is 18.
Then I have no idea. :P

btw, Mine is only for color, so its a little different than the OP...

davidw
10-18-2005, 05:27 PM
* christianb clicks install with modifications

Instead of having users type in the choice, I chose to make it a drop-down box (much easier)

weaver
10-18-2005, 10:26 PM
<if condition="$post['fieldx'] != '' ">
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldx]; color:$post[fieldx];">$post[musername]</font>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


If I'm understanding this step correctly then isn't this only checking either font or color in that first line before executing? What if I put my color selection's profile field number in the bolded area, but one of my users only has a font style selected without color? Won't this skip the check for a font selection?

I apologize if I'm misunderstanding this step.

ETA: That seems to be the way it is working. I had a color selected but not a font. The profile field ID I used in the bolded conditional statement was for font. Since I didn't have a font selected it skipped over my color selection.

Chad F.
10-22-2005, 09:18 AM
Anyone know how to get this to show up in the whos online??

davidw
10-22-2005, 11:04 AM
That's what I'm wanting to know too :D

davidw
11-01-2005, 09:58 AM
Idea #1 - Show up in Who's Online

Idea #2 - Show up in Online Users in VBAdvanced

Idea #3 - Set everyone's font/color to a default - remove the if conditional :P

a123
11-12-2005, 01:19 PM
please integrate this hack with ucash. So people can use poins to buy colored thread!!!

o1dirtydog
12-05-2005, 08:21 PM
this is nice... thanx for putting it up

MentaL
12-19-2005, 12:32 AM
How do i limit this to numerous usergrps plz? such as subscribers and mods.

Cheers

Tralala
03-09-2006, 05:33 PM
I'd like a similar hack: automatically make their username green when they are online. Or make it GLOW (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=745303&postcount=10) !



And black (or red) when they are offline.

That'd be slick as hell, and much cleaner than the "status" dot.

hotwheels
03-20-2006, 12:30 PM
This is a great idea and my member's have asked for this, but i just can't get this to function........dang it.

All i want is the color choice. I have set this up in postbit-legacy and there is absolutely no change at all......just stay's dark blue.

K, i got it working in postbit-legacy. Is there anyway to get this to work globably? Right now the color only show's in the thread made by the member.........thanks

EvilKitty
08-02-2007, 04:46 PM
So, does anyone know how to make this function in 3.6.5?

TCE Killa
01-11-2008, 07:06 PM
Can someone update this for 3.6.8 because it doesn't work? Thanks.

WrestlingAcadem
01-30-2008, 05:12 AM
It works for 3.6.8 just fine.

WNM07
04-12-2008, 12:33 PM
works with 3.6.9 just fine also.

is there an easy way to make this show on the front page / whos online/ and in chatbox?

WNM07
04-12-2008, 12:50 PM
there's got to be a username markup that will pick up on the profile field and at the same time
keep the username color on the missing places like whos online / chatbox etc

USAMustangs.com
03-15-2010, 04:53 AM
I did this hack on my forum. I am running vB 3.6.5 (I know it's old, but I have reasons as for why I do not wish to update at the moment).

I primarily use Firefox, but I just recently noticed that Internet Explorer (default settings) is displaying my post reply text in green instead of the default white. My default settings are for Verdana white text. And that is how it displays in Firefox, which is correct per my settings. However, in IE it displays the same font style, but in green text. And I've had other members state that it also displays in green when they view it from a PDA/Phone.

Any idea's on what the problem could be? Could it be related to this particular template modification?

Any help would be appreciated.

- Thanks.