PDA

View Full Version : Auto Formatting of Text.


Sooner95
07-22-2005, 04:54 PM
My question is regarding automatic formatting of text when users post on the forum using vBulletin 3.0.3.
A lot of people like to format their text every time they post. But they have to enter in the tags everytime >.< .

So I was wondering if there is a way to let them have the ability to enter in somewhere the tags they would like applied to their post everytime.

i.e - Put boxes in their profile or options page that are like the Username options found when Editing a Usergroups options, seen here : http://img20.echo.cx/img20/2031/autoformat2hn.gif

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thank you


edit

realized I posted this in wrong forum. Sorry.

Blind Guardian
07-23-2005, 10:23 PM
Alright, this is how I did it with version 3.0.3, so I don't know if it'll work on later releases.

First, you'll need to make four custom profile fields.

W = Font = Single-Line Text Box

Title: Default Font
Description: Some explaination that this'll make all their posts appear in this font.
Max Length: 100
Display Size: 25
Display Order: Up to you
Field Required: No
Field Editable by User: Yes
Private field: No
Searchable: No
Show on members list: No
Display on: Probably Options, but you could put it on Profile.


X = Color = Single-Line Text Box

As above, just change the title/description.


Y = Size = Single-Line Text Box

Again, as above, but change the max length to 1 (i'm sure you don't want your members posting in size 15 font, this'll make the max 9) and the display size to 5.


Z = Bold/Italic = Multiple-Selection Checkbox

Title: Default Formatting
Description: Blah
Limit Selection: 0
Boxes Per Line: 0
Fields: Bold *Carriage Return* Italic.

Display Order: Blah
Field Required: No
Field Editable by User: Yes
Private field: No
Searchable: No
Show on members list: No
Display on: Same place as the rest.

The letters refer to the field ID, that you should note for each one.

Now, go to the postbit or postbit_legacy template and find "$post[message]"

Replace that with:
<!-- message -->
<div id="intelliTxt">
<if condition="!empty($post['fieldW'])"> <font face="$post[fieldW]"> </if>
<if condition="!empty($post['fieldX'])"> <font color="$post[fieldX]"> </if>
<if condition="!empty($post['fieldY'])"> <font size="$post[fieldY]"> </if>
<if condition="$post['fieldZ'] == 1"> <b> </if>
<if condition="$post['fieldZ'] == 2"> <i> </if>
<if condition="$post['fieldZ'] == 3"> <b><i> </if>
$post[message]
<if condition="$post['fieldZ'] == 3"> </b></i> </if>
<if condition="$post['fieldZ'] == 2"> </i> </if>
<if condition="$post['fieldZ'] == 1"> </b> </if>
<if condition="!empty($post['fieldY'])"> </font> </if>
<if condition="!empty($post['fieldX'])"> </font> </if>
<if condition="!empty($post['fieldW'])"> </font> </if>
</div>
<!-- / message -->
Replace the letters with the relevant field ID and you should be good to go.

Sooner95
09-14-2005, 02:34 AM
sorry so late, just finding this.

Thank you very much for you help.