View Full Version : Only Show IPs to Admins
Chris M
07-14-2005, 10:00 PM
Installation Instructions
Step 1: Upload the plugin
Step 2: Alter the template postbit_ip
Find:
<if condition="$show['ip']">
$vbphrase[ip]: $post[ip]
<else />
<a href="postings.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getip&p=$post[postid]"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/ip.gif" alt="$vbphrase[ip]" title="$post[ip]" border="0" /></a>
</if>
Replace with:
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6)">
<if condition="$show['ip']">
$vbphrase[ip]: $post[ip]
<else />
<a href="postings.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getip&p=$post[postid]"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/ip.gif" alt="$vbphrase[ip]" title="$post[ip]" border="0" /></a>
</if>
</if>
Credits
Requested: here (http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=146580)
Satan
Barakat
07-15-2005, 07:18 AM
install
Corriewf
07-15-2005, 01:18 PM
This can make it hard to let a moderator do their job.
Chris M
07-15-2005, 01:22 PM
Moderators really have no need to view IPs anyway - They cannot ban users with it, as thats an Admin-only feature ;)
They can still view Users IPs in the Mod CP, but there is no way to control that without file edits ;)
Most moderators are not smart enough to realise that anyway so removing it from Posts is enough to ensure a certain level of Security :)
Satan
Corriewf
07-15-2005, 01:45 PM
Moderators really have no need to view IPs anyway - They cannot ban users with it, as thats an Admin-only feature ;)
They can still view Users IPs in the Mod CP, but there is no way to control that without file edits ;)
Most moderators are not smart enough to realise that anyway so removing it from Posts is enough to ensure a certain level of Security :)
Satan
Most boards I have run, when a member gets banned they come back with another IP addy and/or sign up again. My mods ( which I wouldnt have if they were as dumb as you described) look up the IP to figure out if past banned members have come back. They have actually caught a couple.
Btw, this point is moot if its an aol ip.
All this hack is doing is impairing their abilities. If you dont trust your mods with something simple as IP addys then they shouldnt be a mod.
A better mod would be to remove the ability for mods to prune threads.
Chris M
07-15-2005, 01:49 PM
Most boards I have run, when a member gets banned they come back with another IP addy and/or sign up again. My mods ( which I wouldnt have if they were as dumb as you described) look up the IP to figure out if past banned members have come back. They have actually caught a couple.
Btw, this point is moot if its an aol ip.
All this hack is doing is impairing their abilities. If you dont trust your mods with something simple as IP addys then they shouldnt be a mod.
A better mod would be to remove the ability for mods to prune threads.
I believe you already can with Moderator Permissions ;)
And I am probably going to alter this hack to only disable viewing of the Admins IP :)
Satan
Corriewf
07-15-2005, 02:26 PM
I believe you already can with Moderator Permissions ;)
And I am probably going to alter this hack to only disable viewing of the Admins IP :)
Satan
Admin's IP is a good idea.
I had ot alter the code on the modcp file to remove permissions for pruning. They now have a message that tells them they dont have permissions if they click on it.
Chris M
07-15-2005, 02:57 PM
Admin's IP is a good idea.
I had ot alter the code on the modcp file to remove permissions for pruning. They now have a message that tells them they dont have permissions if they click on it.
Strange I would have thought the permissions system itself would have caught this - You may want to report that as a Bug at vB.com ;)
Satan
Corriewf
07-15-2005, 03:11 PM
Strange I would have thought the permissions system itself would have caught this - You may want to report that as a Bug at vB.com ;)
Satan
No it is not part of any permission setting. Its in the index.php for modcp.
Chris M
07-15-2005, 03:24 PM
Taken directly from /modcp/thread.php:
if (!can_moderate(0, 'canmassmove') AND !can_moderate(0, 'canmassprune'))
{
print_stop_message('no_permission');
}
There are some permissions already;)
If you are referring to Super Mods, there is nowhere to set their permissions, sadly :(
But I believe it was KirbyDE that released a Code Mod to control their permissions :)
Satan
Corriewf
07-15-2005, 03:30 PM
Taken directly from /modcp/thread.php:
if (!can_moderate(0, 'canmassmove') AND !can_moderate(0, 'canmassprune'))
{
print_stop_message('no_permission');
}
There are some permissions already;)
If you are referring to Super Mods, there is nowhere to set their permissions, sadly :(
But I believe it was KirbyDE that released a Code Mod to control their permissions :)
Satan
Yes, supermod is what im referring too. When I am home I will shoot you a pm with the code I am using.
Chris M
07-15-2005, 03:49 PM
Yes, supermod is what im referring too. When I am home I will shoot you a pm with the code I am using.
Ok cool :)
I said it when vB3.0.x came out, but nobody listened really - Supermod permissions is a must-have >_<
I'll request it again on vB.com - Maybe they'll realise how important it is and add it in to 3.5 ;)
Edit: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=76502
Satan
Corriewf
07-15-2005, 03:54 PM
Ok cool :)
I said it when vB3.0.x came out, but nobody listened really - Supermod permissions is a must-have >_<
I'll request it again on vB.com - Maybe they'll realise how important it is and add it in to 3.5 ;)
Edit: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=76502
Satan
It would be nice to itemize the features they could have. Like giving them access to certain admin functionalities without give them the whole thing. I mean this can be done currently but not without altering the code on the index pages.
Chris M
07-15-2005, 04:11 PM
It would be nice to itemize the features they could have. Like giving them access to certain admin functionalities without give them the whole thing. I mean this can be done currently but not without altering the code on the index pages.
Well as we know the Mod CP will be dispanded and all Staff controls will be done through the one Control Panel :)
When this happens, more control over what Navigation Options and Links users with levels of permissions can see should be easier to implement and alter :)
Until then, Super Moderator permissions should mimic Moderator controls which you edit on the forums they moderate, with perhaps a few extra permissions added relating to what level of IP they can view etc for both groups ;)
Satan
Andreas
07-16-2005, 12:10 AM
Regarding Supermod Permissions:
As there seems to be a Feature Freeze for vB 3.5, I somewhat doubt that Supermod Permissions will make it into this release.
For those who need it, take a look at my Profile for a Hack to set Supermod Permissions like normal Mod Permissions.
Chris M
07-16-2005, 01:28 PM
Regarding Supermod Permissions:
As there seems to be a Feature Freeze for vB 3.5, I somewhat doubt that Supermod Permissions will make it into this release.
For those who need it, take a look at my Profile for a Hack to set Supermod Permissions like normal Mod Permissions.
I already have that installed :)
I was just hoping that the vB devs would add it as a default feature ;)
Satan
Brinnie
07-16-2005, 03:34 PM
Hello, Hellsatan,
First, thank you for writing this mod. :)
Could you please tell me the steps I need to do to ONLY hide the ADMINS IP from the moderators?
I do not want them other members IP's hidden.
Thanks. :)
Chris M
07-17-2005, 11:37 AM
Hello, Hellsatan,
First, thank you for writing this mod. :)
Could you please tell me the steps I need to do to ONLY hide the ADMINS IP from the moderators?
I do not want them other members IP's hidden.
Thanks. :)
I am currently altering this on my test board - I am having trouble getting it to recognise the usergroups, and as to show the IP i.e. in the postbit image or not :(
Satan
Anette
07-20-2005, 04:03 PM
Very nice!
karanlikdunya
07-26-2005, 12:08 PM
when I install the plugin it gives db error & the site not working. How can
I solve this issue?
Chris M
07-26-2005, 04:18 PM
What is the error? :)
Satan
Chris M
07-26-2005, 11:23 PM
Update
RC1: Update to confirm that this plugin works with vBulletin 3.5.0 RC 1:)
Satan
bigmonay2k
10-13-2005, 11:34 PM
this hack is funny lmao
It is not adviceable to let mods see ip addresses of users. I heard once of a politics forum owner being taken to court because one of the mods had an agenda and put some guy's usernames on the board and threatened to show the public all ips he/she was accesing the forum under. Mod was fired but then mod got pissed at admin and published on forum all usernames of user and ips. I don't know, some privacy laws. Be careful and never let your mods know users' information. I'll sure install this mod!
Jenta
10-14-2005, 09:31 PM
threadadmin_editthread and threadadmin_logbit need to be edited also ;)
hobbes747
10-29-2005, 05:00 PM
threadadmin_editthread and threadadmin_logbit need to be edited also ;)
Would that be handled by the plugin part at hook threadmanage_getip?
Stephen3
11-15-2005, 05:32 AM
can use on 3.5.1??
shama
11-19-2005, 12:30 PM
Thanks it works
shama
11-19-2005, 12:32 PM
stephean it works with me and I have 3.5.1 version
pgac_chris
01-07-2006, 07:06 PM
Installed this today
running VB 3.5.1
cheers :D
LordDB
10-05-2006, 06:45 AM
Anyone tried this on vB3.6?
Br. ;)
taydu
01-16-2007, 05:55 PM
any port for 3.6 ???
Levi75
11-11-2007, 10:12 AM
Installed on 3.6.8
Pamela
02-29-2008, 02:31 AM
Will a fresh install of this for 3.7.0 (Beta 5) work...or does this need to be rewritten for 3.7?
Thanks! :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.