Log in

View Full Version : Running a Query in a template


VBCoder
07-12-2005, 09:42 PM
I'd like to have the value of a query (SELECT...) or a function from within a template. Where's the best place for me to put it?

Should I put it in the .php file that calls the template? (I've seen some people put in their global include, but that is very wasteful of resources...)

Dream
07-12-2005, 09:49 PM
"hook postbit_create"
$blah = $db->query_read("SELECT * FROM ")
"filter results"
$blah = '<a href="disney.com">' . $filtered . '</a>';

in the postbit template put $blah where you want the text to appear

put the query in a hook and make the variable there... not sure this was the question

VBCoder
07-12-2005, 10:02 PM
"hook postbit_create"
$blah = $db->query_read("SELECT * FROM ")
"filter results"
$blah = '<a href="disney.com">' . $filtered . '</a>';

in the postbit template put $blah where you want the text to appear

put the query in a hook and make the variable there... not sure this was the question

Thanks Dream, yes, this is my question.
What do you mean by "filter results"?

Dream
07-12-2005, 10:12 PM
well

$result = $db->query_read("SELECT * FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user");
$a = '';
while( $user = $db->fetch_array( $result ) ) {
$a .= "($user[username], userid $user[userid])<br />";
}

then put $a in a template to show the list of users... just an example, hope it helps

if you want just the first row, you could use

$user = $db->query_first("SELECT * FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user");
$a .= "($user[username], userid $user[userid])<br />";

VBCoder
07-13-2005, 01:30 AM
Thanks, got it.