PDA

View Full Version : Removing banner ads


Ninth Dimension
07-08-2005, 04:23 PM
Hi, i'm not sure if this is the right forum or not (if not, sorry) but I was wondering if someone could help me out with a very minor mod.

I've added some banners to my forums, and am in the process of setting up a paid subbscription for any members that want to browse banner-free. I've set-up their special usergroup (Friends of Arathor), changed the permissions for the group (such as giving them extra PM space, larger avatars, custom titles, etc..), but now I need to set it so they'll no longer see the banners.

I was going to use one of the groovy template based <if> commands, but truth is, I don't fully understand how they work... What I want to do is say:

if usergroup != X or Y, show banner.

X and Y being the admin and friends usergrounds.

Can someone let me know the exact code please? Thank you.

UPDATE

OK, I've worked out half of it:<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=6">

<!--banner code-->

</if>But I need to put two usergroups in there, not just one - any ideas?

UPDATE 2

OK, I've done a bit more work, and think that this should work:<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==10">
<!-- nothing -->
<elseif condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6">
<!-- nothing -->
<else />
<!-- banner -->
</if>But it doesn't.. anyone?

UPDATE 3

OK, I'vee fixed the problem, but not quite in the way I wanted to.. oh well, it's done now, and it works.. here is what I did:

'phpinclude_start' template:// check for friends of arathor or admin usergroup
if (($bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6) OR ($bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 10)) {
$friendsofarathor = true;
}'header' template:<if condition="$friendsofarathor">

<!-- nothing -->

<else />

<!-- banner -->

</if>As you can see, this works, and in the longrun might benefit be further (I'll be able to use the $friendsofarathor variable all over the place), but I'm still keen on working out how to do it all in one, without having to edit the phpinclude_start template, so if you know, please do tell :D

slim cutty
07-18-2005, 12:41 AM
any new updates on this? I've tried it, doesn't seem to work for me

Ninth Dimension
07-18-2005, 12:16 PM
Nope, not from my end anyway.. I just did what I've explained in step 3, which works, in this case at least, would would still like to know if it can be done any other way.

sketch42
07-19-2005, 10:36 AM
Nope, not from my end anyway.. I just did what I've explained in step 3, which works, in this case at least, would would still like to know if it can be done any other way.

try this instead of UPDATE 2

<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6) OR is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 10)">

<!--banner code-->

</if>