PDA

View Full Version : X newposts in Y threads


Mr Blunt
06-29-2005, 10:00 PM
##############################################
##############################################

THIS HACK CHANGED TOO MUCH!!
IT'S NO LONGER A PLUGIN!!
New Thread ... New File!!
Old removed to help eliminate confusion!!
Please visit the new thread!!!

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=95264

I'll leave this old post and thread here for reference purposes.

##############################################
##############################################

I'm sure this is worked to death already, but I make mine a little differently. It grabs the new posts (via dateline time) but it grabs the threads (via lastpost time). This makes it slightly more intuative as it will show the number of posts found in "X threads" instead of "X newthreads".


Ohhh, and this one doesn't use a phrase.
So if you don't like english I guess you shouldn't use this.


Contents:
One plugin to upload (runs two queries in global).
One line of code to add to navbar template.

The line of code and instructions are in the included readme file.


updated to v2 already
----------------------------
Now uses Link14716's single query, but I added a conditional to set 0 if no new posts.

Also added screenshot

Link14716
06-30-2005, 07:18 AM
If you only want the amount of new posts and the amount of threads those posts where in, it can be done with only one query.

Mr Blunt
06-30-2005, 07:20 AM
Bring it on bro!!
I'm all ears!!
I love constructive critisism and/or being taught!!
That's how amateurs like me learn best...

Link14716
06-30-2005, 07:28 AM
Let me see if I can get this right on my first try.
$getnewposts = $db->query_read("SELECT COUNT(*) AS posts, threadid
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "post
WHERE visible = 1 AND dateline >= '{$vbulletin->userinfo['lastvisit']}'
GROUP BY threadid");
while ($getnewpost = $db->fetch_array($getnewposts)) {
$newposts += $getnewpost['posts'];
$newthreads++;
}

Mr Blunt
06-30-2005, 08:47 AM
Rock on .... file is updated.

I noticed no new posts reflected empty so I added a conditional to set as 0 if not set.
Thanks Link14716 .... I now see the light!!

Link14716
06-30-2005, 08:52 AM
Rock on .... file is updated.

I noticed no new posts reflected empty so I added a conditional to set as 0 if not set.
Thanks Link14716 .... I now see the light!!
Ah, yeah, forgot to make them 0. ;)

Mr Blunt
06-30-2005, 09:11 AM
Only thing it will screw up is like a vote in a poll.
Some boards set the admincp so new votes "up" the thread which adds to it's dateline.

But I like the one query better!!

Someday the vb staff should change that feature so a vote adds to the post count too (for boards that set that feature), but I suppose that gets complex as most boards ... even if they use the feature .... would still not want post counts to actually be raised by a vote.

Guess this is why I released what some would call a duplicate hack.
Fact is there's lots of strokes for different folks this is a very tweakable little area.
....So why not ... I said to myself.

Allan
06-30-2005, 01:24 PM
an screen please :)

Mr Blunt
06-30-2005, 02:55 PM
There ya go Allan.
Screenshot posted.

Azhrialilu
07-06-2005, 07:23 AM
Works lovely :D

Cheertobi
08-01-2005, 07:25 PM
Hi,

just two short questions, what about posts that are made in forums, a user has no access to? Are these posts also counted? What about a users own posts, are these also counted?!

Regards,

Tobi

Mr Blunt
08-01-2005, 08:45 PM
Hi,

just two short questions, what about posts that are made in forums, a user has no access to? Are these posts also counted? What about a users own posts, are these also counted?!

Regards,

Tobi
Unfortunately, Yes and Yes.
I'll see if I can tweak that somehow.
Hmmmmmm

ogden2k
08-02-2005, 08:19 PM
Hi, is there a way to bold the number of threads/posts if they are new and not bold when there's only 0?

I tried with the PHP, but am not too familiar with with it.

Mr Blunt
08-24-2005, 08:25 AM
Hi, is there a way to bold the number of threads/posts if they are new and not bold when there's only 0?

I tried with the PHP, but am not too familiar with with it.
Sorry, I didn't even see this reply until now!!
This would be a little tricky, but yes, anything can be done with conditionals.

conditionals are things like "if statements" for those wondering:

<if condition="$newposts">
Do this
<else />
Do that
</if>

These TEMPLATE conditionals can be nested amost anywhere in html.
So to make JUST THE NUMBER be bold IF that number is not zero:

<br /><span class="smallfont"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew"><if condition="$newposts"><b>$newposts</b><else />$newposts</if> New Posts</a> in $newthreads Threads.</span>

If you want to make ALL THE TEXT bold IF that number is not zero:

<br /><span class="smallfont"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew"><if condition="$newposts"><b></if>$newposts New Posts</a> in $newthreads Threads.<if condition="$newposts"></b></if></span>

And it would be just as easy, if not easier to just completely eliminate the display IF there are no new posts as this eliminates the need for the ELSE half of the statement (since the other condition is to "do nothing").

<if condition="$newposts"><br /><span class="smallfont"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew">$newposts New Posts</a> in $newthreads Threads.</span></if>

There's 3 completely different examples.
Hope that didn't confuse you too much.
If so, say so.



P.S. - As for previous request of hiding non viewable posts ... sorry I'm taking so long but I've devoted a ton of time to to another very intricate hack of mine because developing THAT is teaching me a ton of stuff which will help me design other small tweaks such as this with much better code.

Along my travels, I did find another hack that accomplishes something similar (forgot which for now but I'll get back to it when I'm ready) but I refuse to implement it until I either get permission from other author to do so and/or I learn enough to develope something like that on my own without having to cut n paste from someone elses work (meaning I fully understand the code).

Boofo
08-24-2005, 08:57 AM
Unfortunately, Yes and Yes.
I'll see if I can tweak that somehow.
Hmmmmmm

Actually, the

visible = 1

should take care of that shouldn't it?

Mr Blunt
08-24-2005, 10:38 AM
Actually, the

visible = 1

should take care of that shouldn't it?
I'm probably wrong but I always assumed visible was 1 unless the post is soft deleted.

I think the counts they want to hide are posts in private subforums like a Moderator's Forum or such for example which (I THINK) requires checking user and/or forum permissions somewhere along the line.

I think it was a hack by Paul M where I saw something like this, but don't quote me.

Boofo
08-24-2005, 06:19 PM
PM me and I can give you the single query I used in my forumhome stats cache hack for vB 3.0 for this. I think it handled private forums like it should be. ;)

Mr Blunt
08-29-2005, 10:45 AM
PM me and I can give you the single query I used in my forumhome stats cache hack for vB 3.0 for this. I think it handled private forums like it should be. ;)
I finally have a response to the last PM.
A discussion about what is/isn't neccessary in the file would be great.
My opinion ... I think we need something a little more along the lines of this.
As you'll see, ummmm, I didn't use your query.
:D
Click Me to goto Blunts Welcome Member & Guests hack thread (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=95264)
:banana:
Whole New Product ....
It evolved too far to keep in here as a plugin.

How should I kill this old thread??
Delete the file and put a redirect in the top post??
A few people have this installed so I don't think deleting the thread is the answer.

What do guys normally do in this situation??
Reference is always a nice thing I think.

I changed the hack's name BECAUSE I'm thinking this might expand someday beyond just post/thread counts so the old name won't really suit my needs and I figure sooner is better than later.

Hi,

just two short questions, what about posts that are made in forums, a user has no access to? Are these posts also counted? What about a users own posts, are these also counted?!

Regards,

Tobi
Click Me to goto Blunts Welcome Member & Guests hack thread (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=95264)
New Hack has a New Answer to your questions!!

1) If the can't see the post, then the post isn't part of the counts.
2) Test this and let me know how it goes.
:D
Hi, is there a way to bold the number of threads/posts if they are new and not bold when there's only 0?

I tried with the PHP, but am not too familiar with with it.
Click Me to goto Blunts Welcome Member & Guests hack thread (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=95264)

I took a different route for now, but we can still tweak things if anyone offers up some opinions on the new hack. There are 3 lines of text now, for 3 different search types. If the number would be zero, then I don't display the line at all. Let me know what you think.