PDA

View Full Version : background in reply box


shadiguy1
12-26-2004, 08:18 PM
ive added this into the input css area and it shows up in the reply box but it is also trying to add it to the TITLE box. Please advise on how i can have it just in the Reply box its showing up everywhere because i have it set to input box.

this is what i have.

background-image: url(/replylogo.gif);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: center center;

thats in my Css info off to the right on the input box field or what not in VB 3 All Style Options.

imported_Sean
12-27-2004, 04:55 AM
As far as I know bud, you can't do anything else, once you change the .input background, it will affect all the input forms, including the background for the login area, search, reply box, new thread form.

I don't think it is possible to add different classes for the input forms, and if there is, it is probably not supported in most browsers. Anyways, if you found out how to do this, let me know how you did it.

MindTrix
12-27-2004, 09:37 AM
You could edit the template for the reply box and put it there, erm in not good with html but i think its just something like

background="www.wuteva.com/blah.gif"

imported_Sean
12-27-2004, 11:20 PM
yes you could do it that way from the templates, but CSS wise I don't know how that could be done.

Tony G
12-28-2004, 01:01 AM
Moving to Modifcation requests, this isn't the correct forum to ask questions in. ^^;

With the CSS, it can be done, as long as you link to the appropriate style name and such in the code in your templates. This way, it will only link to where the style NAME is mentioned in your templates.

imported_frage
12-28-2004, 03:57 PM
yes you could do it that way from the templates, but CSS wise I don't know how that could be done.
Sean
to style the background of input or textarea ...
you have to learn css1 and css2

otherwise your style will crash
because every professional css (coder) get a headache about this, if a customer would like to have this

vb is valid please let it valid ....;)

ok!
christmastime
:-)
please have a look at this page .....
http://www.domedia.org/oveklykken/css-textarea-background.php

admincp
styles&templates
css

find:CSS Selector: textarea, .bginput

background:
#yourcolor url(the absolute path of your backgroundpicture) repeat-x top left=or whatever you want
top right....

;)



frage

HuangA
01-09-2005, 03:07 AM
Sean
to style the background of input or textarea ...
you have to learn css1 and css2

otherwise your style will crash
because every professional css (coder) get a headache about this, if a customer would like to have this

vb is valid please let it valid ....;)

ok!
christmastime
:-)
please have a look at this page .....
http://www.domedia.org/oveklykken/css-textarea-background.php

admincp
styles&templates
css

find:CSS Selector: textarea, .bginput

background:
#yourcolor url(the absolute path of your backgroundpicture) repeat-x top left=or whatever you want
top right....

;)



frage
Hi there frage;
I tried doing that earier today for a few hours (before reading this) and it seems to not work properly. When I add it to the textarea, .bginput, it shows up for a little while and goes away to the color I have defined as soon as it gets the focus. Is there something I must do (IE: disable WYSIWYG) before this will work?

Cheers.

Jolten
01-09-2005, 04:41 PM
The CSS for the reply area is actually within the templates. Don't ask me why. The CSS that gets applied to the reply box is located in the Editor Templates > editor_clientscript template. The vBulletin_editor id is what actually controls the background of the reply box.


<style type="text/css">
<!--
#vBulletin_editor {
background: {$istyles[pi_button_normal][0]};
padding: $stylevar[cellpadding]px;
}
.imagebutton {
background: {$istyles[pi_button_normal][0]};
color: {$istyles[pi_button_normal][1]};
padding: {$istyles[pi_button_normal][2]};
border: {$istyles[pi_button_normal][3]};
}
.ocolor, .ofont, .osize, .osmilie, .osyscolor, .smilietitle {
background: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][0]};
color: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][1]};
border: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][3]};
}
.popup_pickbutton {
border: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][3]};
}
.popup_feedback {
background: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][0]};
color: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][1]};
border-right: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][3]};
}
.popupwindow {
background: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][0]};
}
#fontOut, #sizeOut, .popup_feedback div {
background: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][0]};
color: {$istyles[pi_menu_normal][1]};
}
.alt_pickbutton {
border-left: 1px solid {$istyles[pi_button_normal][0]};
}
-->
</style>

ggiersdorf
08-17-2005, 09:39 PM
BIG problem with this as I was doing something similiar. Anyone with Firefox will not be able to right click on the background and Paste as Firefox sees the background as a full image or something. You can still press Ctrl-V but the paste menu will not appear on the popup list casuing my users a headache so I had to remove it. If someone can figure this out I would be VERY Happy..

ggiersdorf

this seems to be a problem with the WYSIWUG full editor only.. Even with an image not in there you cannot right click/paste from firefox.