PDA

View Full Version : Navdrop Forum Menu


defi
05-14-2004, 10:00 PM
bug fix 8/5/04


This hack allows a simple, drop-down menu which can be displayed anywhere on a template on your forum using replacement variables.

This hack works very well if you are confined to space, or if you can't fit the links you need in the vbulletin 3 navbar menu (horizontal).

If you have any questions or feedback, feel free to post.

Jonathan

ryancooper
05-20-2004, 10:59 PM
Looks great . . . .Thanks for sharing! ;)

imported_Massie
08-05-2004, 11:59 AM
Very cool, will check it out!

croft
08-05-2004, 05:49 PM
Installed it =)
One problem tho.
Nothing happens when i chose any of the links. nothing happans at all ????

defi
08-05-2004, 05:58 PM
BUG FIX - AUGUST 5TH, 2004
mod attatchment updated!

Gah, me and my lame configuring for public releases...

Alright, in the replacement variable you added, replace the modification code

<!-- Dropdown menu in navbar by defi -->
<form name="defisdropdownmenu">
<select style="font-size:9px;color:#000000;font-family:verdana, arial, helvetica;background-color:#ffffff;font-weight:bold;" name="menu" onChange="location=document.Subnavdefihackthing.menu.options[document.defisdropdownmenu.menu.selectedIndex].value;">



replace with

<!-- Dropdown menu in navbar by defi -->
<form name="defisdropdownmenu">
<select style="font-size:9px;color:#000000;font-family:verdana, arial, helvetica;background-color:#ffffff;font-weight:bold;" name="menu" onChange="location=document.defisdropdownmenu.menu.options[document.defisdropdownmenu.menu.selectedIndex].value;">

croft
08-05-2004, 06:14 PM
thank you good sir. that worked =)

Anfiniti.net
07-30-2005, 04:44 PM
I desprately needed something like this. *clicks install*

ams3521
01-30-2006, 09:12 AM
Cool and thanks just what i was after.

Just one small thing, when i use the html option how do i get the page to open in a new window once i select it from the menu.

*How to add new options*

Quick HTML lesson here. If you want to add more links (Example would be a gallery link), you would simply type the following in the code above.

<option value="http://www.domain.com/gallery"> *OPTION NAME* </option>

*The option tag ( <option> </option> ) represents a new link to be displayed in the drop down box.
*The value="http://www.domain.com/gallery" is the hyperlink the user will be sent to when they click the option.
*The OPTION NAME is to be replaced with the text that will be shown in the drop down menu.
*To reorder the listings, simply move all the text in the option tag above or below the tags already listen.

ams3521
02-01-2006, 06:35 AM
any ideas? i'd really appreciate it if there was an answer for the above.

ams3521
02-03-2006, 11:39 AM
Come on i'm not giving up, give us a clue and i'll have a go myself.

defi
02-27-2006, 06:21 AM
Maybe I should subscribe to these things -

Replace this,
<!-- Dropdown menu in navbar by defi -->
<form name="defisdropdownmenu">
<select style="font-size:9px;color:#000000;font-family:verdana, arial, helvetica;background

-color:#ffffff;font-weight:bold;" name="menu" onconChange="location=document.defisdropdownmenu.menu.options

[document.defisdropdownmenu.menu.selectedIndex].value;">') }">


With this,

<!-- Dropdown menu in navbar by defi -->
<form name="defisdropdownmenu">
<select style="font-size:9px;color:#000000;font-family:verdana, arial, helvetica;background

-color:#ffffff;font-weight:bold;" name="menu" onchange="if (this.options

[this.selectedIndex].value != 'null') { window.open(this.options

[this.selectedIndex].value,'new','toolbar=no,location=yes,directories= no,status=yes,menubar=

yes,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes') }">