PDA

View Full Version : Postbit mod help


cindyd
05-14-2004, 09:34 PM
Hi:

I would like to change the reply w/quote button to just reply. I tried doing the change myself received the error that I had selected an invalid thread.
I am running 2.32

I have been having a terrible time working with changes in the show therad template for over a week.

I know if I was in my right mind I would most likely this out, but since I am in brain freeze mode, any help would surely be appreciated.

TIA
Cindy

Ryan Ashbrook
05-14-2004, 11:14 PM
Can you provide an example of what you're trying to do? I'm sort of lost...

cindyd
05-14-2004, 11:41 PM
Hi Ryan: I just noticed this board doesn't have a reply w/quote button.

I don't want people to respond with quoted messages (via the Reply w/quote button at the bottom of each post)

Instead I would just like a normal Reply. I have the buttons made etc., but I don't know what to change in the code. This is the code:

< a href="newreply.php?s=&action=newreply&postid=19821" >Reply w/Quote</a>&nbsp;&nbsp;
(spaces used so code didn't get messed up)

Changing the name of the link doesn't do any good. I know it has to be in this part:

"newreply.php?s=&action=newreply&postid=?

You can see the old "quote" button here. I am trying to get rid of buttons and have links, so I just want to be able to have Reply in place of the button and have it NOT quote the previous message.

http://www.glassmavenhaven.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2720

Thanks

cindyd
05-14-2004, 11:41 PM
Can you provide an example of what you're trying to do? I'm sort of lost...

See like this......

Ryan Ashbrook
05-14-2004, 11:45 PM
So you want to make it just a link to make a new reply without quoting the post?

Easily done, in this:

newreply.php?s=&action=newreply&postid=19821

Remove this:

&postid=19821

Of course there will be a variable there instead of the number. ;)

cindyd
05-14-2004, 11:50 PM
The actual code from the postbit template is:

<a href ="newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=newreply&postid= $post[postid]"> <img src=" {imagesfolder}/quote.jpg" border="0" alt="Reply w/Quote"></a>

So after the &post= just leave it blank?

If that's it I knew it was something simple. :o

Ryan Ashbrook
05-14-2004, 11:51 PM
Completely remove: &postid=$post[postid]

cindyd
05-14-2004, 11:52 PM
I just tried that and got this

"No thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the webmaster "

This is what I used:

<a href= "newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action =newreply&postid="> Reply</a>
&nbsp;&nbsp;

Whoops, left something in

Ryan Ashbrook
05-14-2004, 11:56 PM
Yeah, you gotta take out &postid= as well. ;)

Oh and if you wanna post the whole code without messing anything up use the [html] tags.

cindyd
05-14-2004, 11:58 PM
Using this:

<a href= "newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action =newreply=" > Reply</a>
&nbsp;&nbsp;

I am still getting that error. I've tried this too:

<a href= "newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=newreply&threadid =$threadid">< font class="nf">< font color="#2f4f4f"> Reply</a>

and get the same error.

Ryan Ashbrook
05-15-2004, 12:01 AM
Ok, hold on let me try it out.

Ryan Ashbrook
05-15-2004, 12:05 AM
<a href="newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=newreply&threadid=$threadid">Reply</a>

Taken directly out of the default vB 2.3.5 vbulletin-style.style file.

cindyd
05-15-2004, 03:51 PM
Thanks Ryan, I will try that as soon as I can get into my site. I am getting a mysql error.

cindyd
05-15-2004, 04:33 PM
I don't understand it, I copied and pasted just what you had (and I think I tried this one myself one or 20 times) and I am still getting that darn error message!

This is what I have above and below it


<td align="right" nowrap><font class="sf">

<a href="editpost.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=editpost&postid=$post[postid]">Edit Post</a>&nbsp;&nbsp;

<a href="newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=newreply&threadid=$threadid">Reply</a>&nbsp;&nbsp;

<a href="#top">Back To Top</a>

Ryan Ashbrook
05-15-2004, 04:35 PM
I don't understand it, I copied and pasted just what you had (and I think I tried this one myself one or 20 times) and I am still getting that darn error message!

This is what I have above and below it


<td align="right" nowrap><font class="sf">

<a href="editpost.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=editpost&postid=$post[postid]">Edit Post</a>&nbsp;&nbsp;

<a href="newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=newreply&threadid=$threadid">Reply</a>&nbsp;&nbsp;

<a href="#top">Back To Top</a>

Odd, ok let me try it out on my vB2 Test board.

cindyd
05-15-2004, 04:45 PM
It's kind of a relief to know I haven't been losing my mind. ;)

Ryan Ashbrook
05-15-2004, 04:50 PM
I see the problem, $threadid isn't a variable supported in the postbit template. You'd have to hack it in.

Sorry, but you'll have to check over at vBulletin.org.

cindyd
05-15-2004, 05:02 PM
Thanks for the help Ryan, I'll go over there and check.

Well that didn't take long, if it ever comes up again over here, this is the code:

<a href="newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=newreply&threadid=$post[threadid]">Reply</a>

Ryan Ashbrook
05-15-2004, 05:19 PM
... oh. :p

I shoulda known that... :D

cindyd
05-15-2004, 05:25 PM
I shoulda known that... :D

I wish I had, I never thought to look over there since I assumed it was a template thing.

Now to straighten out the rest.....