Log in

View Full Version : Forum Home Alignment


Zachery
04-22-2004, 10:00 PM
This is a very simple mod and has fixed 99.9% of al of my forum spacing issues.


In the forumhome_lastpostby

find
<if condition="$show['lastpostinfo']">
<div class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[left]">
<div style="clear:both">
<if condition="$show['icon']"><img class="inlineimg" src="$icon[iconpath]" alt="$icon[title]" border="0" /></if>
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=newpost&amp;t=$lastpostinfo[lastthreadid]" title="<phrase 1="$lastpostinfo[lastthread]">$vbphrase[go_first_unread_in_thread_x]</phrase>"><strong>$lastpostinfo[trimthread]</strong></a>
</div>
<div<if condition="is_browser('ie', 6)"> style="float:$stylevar[left]"</if>>
<phrase 1="member.php?$session[sessionurl]find=lastposter&amp;f=$lastpostinfo[forumid]" 2="$lastpostinfo[lastposter]">$vbphrase[by_x]</phrase>
</div>
<div align="$stylevar[right]">
$lastpostinfo[lastpostdate] <if condition="!$show['detailedtime']"><span class="time">$lastpostinfo[lastposttime]</span></if>
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=lastpost&amp;t=$lastpostinfo[lastthreadid]"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/lastpost.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_to_last_post]" border="0" /></a>
</div>
</div>
<else />
<div class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[right]">
$lastpostinfo[lastpostdate] <if condition="!$show['detailedtime']"><span class="time">$lastpostinfo[lastposttime]</span></if>
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=lastpost&amp;t=$lastpostinfo[lastthreadid]"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/lastpost.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_to_last_post]" border="0" /></a>
</div>
</if>

Change to

<if condition="$show['lastpostinfo']">
<div style="width: YYYpx;" class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[left]">
<div style="clear:both">
<if condition="$show['icon']"><img class="inlineimg" src="$icon[iconpath]" alt="$icon[title]" border="0" /></if>
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=newpost&amp;t=$lastpostinfo[lastthreadid]" title="<phrase 1="$lastpostinfo[lastthread]">$vbphrase[go_first_unread_in_thread_x]</phrase>"><strong>$lastpostinfo[trimthread]</strong></a>
</div>
<div<if condition="is_browser('ie', 6)"> style="float:$stylevar[left]"</if>>
<phrase 1="member.php?$session[sessionurl]find=lastposter&amp;f=$lastpostinfo[forumid]" 2="$lastpostinfo[lastposter]">$vbphrase[by_x]</phrase>
</div>
<div align="$stylevar[right]">
$lastpostinfo[lastpostdate] <if condition="!$show['detailedtime']"><span class="time">$lastpostinfo[lastposttime]</span></if>
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=lastpost&amp;t=$lastpostinfo[lastthreadid]"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/lastpost.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_to_last_post]" border="0" /></a>
</div>
</div>
<else />
<div style="width: YYYpx;" class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[right]">
$lastpostinfo[lastpostdate] <if condition="!$show['detailedtime']"><span class="time">$lastpostinfo[lastposttime]</span></if>
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=lastpost&amp;t=$lastpostinfo[lastthreadid]"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/lastpost.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_to_last_post]" border="0" /></a>
</div>
</if>

Change YYY to a proper width, somthing around 250 usualy works well

Step 2

Find and change any occurence in the forumhome_* templates of

<td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>

to
<td class="thead" width="YYY">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>

Replacing YYY with the same value you used before in place of YYY

idwf
05-06-2004, 09:15 PM
sorry to say, that this hasnt worked for me :(

Zachery
05-06-2004, 09:47 PM
Working for me on all of my styles O.o what is your current last post character limit set to?

idwf
05-07-2004, 06:08 AM
i set it to 250....

If you like, you can have admin access and see whats going wrong. Allthough, i wont promise its not me who made an eror.

OGT
05-07-2004, 12:19 PM
setting last post characters to 250 is going tot ake up way to much room even in a full screen style.


xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

thats 250 characters, which, if i understand correctly, means your last post column wont display "..." until 250 characters have been met. if 250 characters is wider than the number you set in this mod, its going to stretch that cell out of whack.

Tony G
05-07-2004, 11:09 PM
I think spaces count as characters. And yes, it's way too much. Play around with the widths until you get something that works for you. :)

idwf
05-22-2004, 08:06 AM
well, i put it as 100 now.... and still one isn't right.

www.indeathwefall.co.uk/forums

if you wanna take a look, just PM me, and I'll give you admin details.

Zachery
05-24-2004, 05:53 PM
Try setting the wdith to somthing higher than 100, its still too small

WB_Mike
06-03-2004, 01:54 AM
setting last post characters to 250 is going tot ake up way to much room even in a full screen style.


xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

thats 250 characters, which, if i understand correctly, means your last post column wont display "..." until 250 characters have been met. if 250 characters is wider than the number you set in this mod, its going to stretch that cell out of whack.
no. stop while you think your ahead 250 is the width of the div tag in pixels :) thank you and goodnight

phace
06-26-2004, 10:01 AM
Sorry to say this has not been a successful mod for me either. Every value I enter changes the forums in a different way. Some become smaller, others remain the same or are wider than others. Very confusing :)

Oblivion Knight
06-27-2004, 09:49 AM
It worked for me, great.! Thanks again Zach.. :D

Julio
03-30-2005, 10:51 AM
OK - Played a bit with the code and with the Black and Gold style. It works great now. However it only makes a difference with the width set at 250 or greater. :)

SHANE-D-PAIN
06-02-2005, 04:44 PM
This is working great for me with the Category Pacing and images modification you posted, thanks.