PDA

View Full Version : [Release - Gamma] Advanced Custom Forum Status Icon Mod


Matrixgl
12-15-2003, 10:00 PM
Author:
Matrix aka Habib Ahsan

Description:
Basically, what this template mod does is it replaces the current
forum status icons with custom ones of your choice.

Thanks to the condition statements of vBulletin 3, you can choose
which forums to have custom icons and which ones to not. So what
that means is you dont have to have every status icons (including
the default ones) as seperate files.

Also, this way, you can have both on and off icons, rather than
having only one state.

Inspired by TheAnt06 "Custom Icon Per Forum" mod.

Demo:
http://forums.gamerzlive.com/?styleid=20

Screenshot:
Attached

Luciolle
12-16-2003, 10:17 AM
Thanks thats it's very interesting thing, I try to install on my test board before !!

Thanks for your taff !

Cassidy
12-16-2003, 03:45 PM
Thanks alot! I'm gonna need this mod eventually ^__^

imported_Socrate47
12-16-2003, 03:51 PM
thanks, good job :)

PennylessZ28
12-16-2003, 06:05 PM
Thanks alot this is awesome! This will work perfectly for some things I'm doing.

Bad Bunny
12-16-2003, 06:36 PM
This looks totally sweet.
Thanks alot! I'll mos' def' look into this!

NuclioN
12-18-2003, 01:47 PM
We have 15 subforums and i can't figure out how to implement these extra icons in this script. Could you make a sort of 'etc lines' so i can see how extra on/off buttons must be placed? Great addon. :)

idwf
12-18-2003, 04:11 PM
yay!!! will use in the near future!

Zachery
12-18-2003, 05:01 PM
theres another trick to do this that requires absolutly no conditionals

Matrixgl
12-18-2003, 06:53 PM
We have 15 subforums and i can't figure out how to implement these extra icons in this script. Could you make a sort of 'etc lines' so i can see how extra on/off buttons must be placed? Great addon. You have to edit the condition part.

<if condition = "$forum[forumid] == 'xx' or $forum[forumid] == 'xx' or $forum[forumid] == 'xx' ">

you have to repeat the following piece of code in between the last [ ' ] and [ " ] for every extra forum you want.

or $forum[forumid] == 'xx'

Heres an example:

<if condition="$forum[forumid] == 'xx' or $forum[forumid] == 'xx' or $forum[forumid] == 'xx' or $forum[forumid] == 'xx' or $forum[forumid] == 'xx' ">

Matrixgl
12-18-2003, 06:55 PM
theres another trick to do this that requires absolutly no conditionals
Faranth, we would love it if you share the trick with us :)

Thank you everyone for the compliments, I am glad that you like it :)

Bad Bunny
12-19-2003, 04:26 AM
theres another trick to do this that requires absolutly no conditionals
Has no conditionals and no hacking, and allows you to specify only SOME forums to have unique icons? I seriously doubt it.

Colicab2
12-19-2003, 11:50 AM
GEnius i was half wy thru trying to write version of this for use on ao3 (my sites new design) cause im gonna use it so that each of the forums had a diff part of the image table surrounding them change

Zachery
12-19-2003, 01:14 PM
yes thats right no hacking and only allows certain forums to have differnt icons, very simple isnt it :P actuallty its lready been done at vbnl feldon came up with the trick

theres really a few differnt ways to do it

prefix or addd it as a folder or somthing

$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forumid/$forum[statusicon].gif
or
$stylevar[imgdir_xxx]/$forumid_$forum[statusicon].gif

now either you need to make some extra folders OR make some extra files. but either way it requires no condtionals and no hacking :) just renaming and extra files :)

Matrixgl
12-19-2003, 03:17 PM
Well, when you said no hacking, I thought you meant no template edits, because your hack and mine does the same template edits, but mine requires more coding. And IMO, your one requires more work as you need to make so many copies of the base images.

TheAnt wrote a hack similar to the one that you mentioned, and I decided to write mine because I didnt think that was convienent enough. IMO, it is not a very good way of doing this. I think its too much work, and whenever you add a new forum, you will need extra icons even if you dont want those to be customized. And communities with more than 20 forums will have a lot of images. And if you have more than one style, its twice as much as work.

So what that means is you dont have to have every status icons (including the default ones) as seperate files.
So to make the hack more user friendly and more convienent, I have decided to use the conditional statements, to make it "Advanced" :p

Zachery
12-19-2003, 04:08 PM
when i refer to hacking im refering to file changes

yours and mine are just as dynamic.

now what if you want every forum to have its own icon?

you now have a problem of writing 40 if statments

Bad Bunny
12-19-2003, 07:27 PM
We already know about the old way of doing it. But this was an advaced way that allowed some to have custom icons and others to not (and use the same image instaed of having tons of repetitive graphics)
Faranth, I see no reason for you to blow your own trumpet. Thank you for releasing your template mod, but this is not the thread for your template mod.

This one approaches the problem with a different solution and I commend Matrixgl for doing it. Thanks, Matrixgl.

Asterik
12-19-2003, 08:08 PM
Yes, great job Matrixgl ;) Im lovin it.

Faranth: Keep ur bullshit 2 urself >_>

Zachery
12-19-2003, 08:12 PM
Asterik thats uncalled for, i was only offering another option :) if you feel my posts are bullshit please use the ignore feature

feldon23
12-19-2003, 08:45 PM
Ok, let's not kill each other.

You can add per-forum icons with 1 template change, but then you'll need icons for each forum...

In template forumhome_forumbit_level2_post, I changed
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" />

to
<img src="images/tiles/$forum[forumid]$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" />

then I create a folder images/tiles and put gifs in there 01new.gif 01old.gif, 02new.gif, 02old.gif, etc.


There can never be enough vB3 hacks. :)

Asterik
12-19-2003, 09:02 PM
lol nah, i was just messin ;) I must not've posted enough here yet for people 2 know that 99% of my comments r joking or witty :P

deathemperor
12-24-2003, 12:01 PM
Great Hack, exactly what I was looking for :)

PAINTBALLM
12-27-2003, 04:30 AM
I need to do this for my site, basically I want to have it use the same on and off icon for the areas that do not have a custom icon, and use the custom icon for that area if it has one. Would I have to add on and off icons for each section? I really dont want to do it that way :-/ Suggestions?

compact123
11-10-2008, 03:58 PM
thanks...