PDA

View Full Version : Advertising betwen posts


cazzo
09-28-2003, 09:25 AM
Please check out this link:
http://forums.multiplayer.it/showthread.php?s=&threadid=166124&pagenumber=2

it's possible to have in vB3 too the text-based advertisement between two posts?

thank you

Tony G
09-28-2003, 10:21 AM
Just use the post spacing mod, and include the text after the <br /> (If it creates an extra line, remove the <br />)

if you need further help, just ask.

cazzo
09-28-2003, 10:47 AM
in other words so?

</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
ADVERTISING?
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[outerborderwidth]" cellspacing="0" border="0" class="tborder" width="$stylevar[tablewidth]" align="center"><tr><td>
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%">

thank you, simply genial :)

Tony G
09-28-2003, 11:54 AM
That should work. Use <span class="smallfont">ADVERTISING</span>

That will work better. And add a <br /> before if it doesn't go onto a new line once you add it.

GamerzWorld
10-04-2003, 06:48 AM
Ho wmany adds do you want :/

Tony G
10-04-2003, 07:04 AM
It will only add one, and repeat after the end of every post.

Dave-ahfb
10-09-2003, 10:12 PM
I have been wanting to do this, the only hold back has been not wanting to have the same ad every post. Would it be possible with the <if> statements to give a new text link for each post?

Dave

Joe Gardner
10-10-2003, 01:26 AM
Yes, I have done this on my forum, example: http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=38748

In the postbit template, ad this at the very bottom:

<if condition="$post[postcount] == 1">
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 1">
<-- ADVERTISING CODE -->
<br>
</if>
</if>

This is shown to guests only, once a member registers, I have moved the ad down the page, right above the quick reply. If my registered members donate, they go ad-free.

The next change i will make is to ad the code to the TOP of the postbit template, and change the postcount line to "2". This way, the ad will be shown in the same place, but only if the thread has more then one post.

Dave-ahfb
10-10-2003, 11:11 AM
Not quite what I am looking for. You have 1 banner ad between the first and second post and no others. I would like <post1> ad1 <post2> ad2 <post3> tip <post4> quote of the day <post5> ad3 <post6>

Dave

Joe Gardner
10-10-2003, 11:09 PM
How many ad's do you want to have? You can do it all with if or if else statements. Personaly, I wouldnt visit a forum if there was an ad or tip between every post... :) What about every 5th post? ie:

<if condition="$post[postcount] == 1">
<-- ADVERTISING CODE --><br>
</if>
<if condition="$post[postcount] == 5">
<-- TIP --><br>
</if>
<if condition="$post[postcount] == 10">
<-- ADVERTISING CODE --><br>
</if>
<if condition="$post[postcount] == 15">
<-- REGISTER! --><br>
</if>

Anyhow, that should give you a good start on what you can do.

iyouth
10-10-2003, 11:54 PM
What you're looking for would require javascript or PHP. It would just be randomly picking it from an array each time. Might be difficult, definitely a hack I think..

Regards,
Patrick