PDA

View Full Version : Sub-Forums Help


jrotunda85
02-08-2003, 06:48 PM
I want to have my sub-forums and my thread listing be connected like they are at yaxay.com (Example (http://forum.yaxay.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=42)). I am very proficient in HTML, etc, so if you could just send me to the right templates, I can do the rest.

Thanks for your help.

Cypher720
02-08-2003, 07:32 PM
thatyll involve some major modding....ill think about how to do it...then MAYBE get back to you:(

jrotunda85
02-08-2003, 07:54 PM
really? It looks like it is something minor like changing a few templates, maybe editing some table settings. I appreciate your help and I will try to do it and see if it works :).

If you find anything out, feel free to contact me.

Cypher720
02-08-2003, 08:06 PM
np

my guess is that its major....but who knows??

narusaga
02-10-2003, 12:24 AM
:( woa, thats a hard question.....mabey if you found the template the contains the sub-forum design, and made a new table, and seperated them.....hummm

filburt1
02-10-2003, 12:35 AM
It looks reasonably simple, just requires that you know how the templates work (and I don't for the forumdisplays, only for the forumhomes).

Brad
02-10-2003, 12:41 AM
Open Template: forumdisplay_forumslist

## Find:

<br> (at the very end of the template)

Remove it.

Open template: forumdisplay_threadslist

## Find:

<!-- topic table -->
<form action="forumdisplay.php" method="get">

## Below that add:

$forumdisplay[forumslist]

Open template: forumdisplay

## Find:

$forumdisplay[forumslist]

Remove it.

jrotunda85
02-10-2003, 01:05 AM
Brad,

I will defintely try this out in a bit and get back to you on how effective it was :).

Brad
02-10-2003, 01:12 AM
I already have it running on my forum using the above code:

http://www.kousetsu.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=25

jrotunda85
02-10-2003, 01:16 AM
Brad,

As you promised, working flawlessly. Thanks for your help, all I needed was the templates, but you busted out with the code as well. Thumbs Up!

jrotunda85
02-10-2003, 01:51 AM
Brad,

I just realized that this hack messes the forums up a bit. Like for example lets say I have this

Board --> Category ---> Forum

When I go to forum everything is fine, it displays correctly; however, when I go to category I see nothing it's just blank with no threads, forums, etc. It's also like this on your boards.

Do you know how to fix this?

Brad
02-10-2003, 02:02 AM
Heres your fix:

Open template: forumdisplay_threadslist

## Find:

<script language="Javascript">
function who(threadid) { window.open("misc.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=whoposted&threadid="+threadid, "whoposted", "toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=230, height=300"); }
</script>
<!-- topic table -->
<form action="forumdisplay.php" method="get">
$forumdisplay[forumslist]

Remove it.

Open template: fourmdisplay

## Find:

$forumdisplay[threadslist]

## Replace with:

<script language="Javascript">
function who(threadid) { window.open("misc.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=whoposted&threadid="+threadid, "whoposted", "toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=230, height=300"); }
</script>
<!-- topic table -->
<form action="forumdisplay.php" method="get">
$forumdisplay[forumslist]
$forumdisplay[threadslist]

jrotunda85
02-10-2003, 02:18 AM
Working good now, thanks :).

jrotunda85
02-11-2003, 12:20 AM
Brad,

Now when I did the above I am getting a javascript error that says this:

Line: 183
Char: 186
Error: Unterminated String Constant
Code: 0

Tony G
02-11-2003, 08:47 AM
I think I may know the javascript error in that code but since it's not mine I think AL can fix it for you.

jrotunda85
02-11-2003, 11:44 PM
Can someone help :(

Brad
02-12-2003, 02:36 AM
Its something in your template, try re applying the modification. I get no javascript errors at my board so i cant really tell you what the problem is.

jrotunda85
02-21-2003, 11:10 PM
Brad,

I redid it all and now it is working flawlessly. Thanks for your assistance.