PDA

View Full Version : Image Opacity


Shpook
01-20-2003, 07:59 PM
Question: Anyone know how to make a Category Image transparent? Go here: http://www.zelaron.com/forums/index.php?styleid=73 and you'll see what I mean. You can see the BG image through the table. Any idea on how to do that?


thanks,

- Shpook

Cypher720
01-20-2003, 08:11 PM
hrm...i really like that...i would never do it - but its neat!

ill look into it

Cypher720
01-20-2003, 08:12 PM
ill take a guess. i think that the just made the images behind the forum names with a lower opacity.

get it?

Logikos
01-20-2003, 09:21 PM
Ya, its just an image made from LW 7.5 so thats what im doing now =P

Shpook
01-21-2003, 01:07 AM
lol Yeah, I guess I wasn't thinking it would be simple...lmfao. Well, still curious though, is there a way to adjust opacity through HTML? or maybe Java? Just curious though.... :D

filburt1
01-21-2003, 01:23 AM
When in doubt, read the code.

Nairb
01-21-2003, 06:10 PM
make a new thing in head include:

.opacity {
filter:alpha(opacity=75);
}

then in the td tag where ur image is make it have like this:

<td (your other td attributes) class="opacity">

Hope that works for you

Logikos
01-21-2003, 08:25 PM
I can't thank you enough. =P

-Nem

Brad
01-21-2003, 10:02 PM
I do this with my avatars at kousetsu. When someone is offline their avatar shows up at 20% opacity.

You can do this without CSS with html:

<img src="" border="" alt="" style="filter:alpha(opacity=20)">

filburt1
01-21-2003, 10:03 PM
That HTML still uses CSS, you just don't define a class for it.

Brad
01-21-2003, 10:05 PM
thats what i ment, you dont have to define a class to use it. I need to stop typing replys after i just wake up.

Logikos
01-22-2003, 12:48 AM
So how do i do it in here.



{EDIT}

Nevermind i figured it out :D

Nairb
01-22-2003, 02:24 AM
I didnt think that would work... does it?

Logikos
01-22-2003, 03:01 PM
Works great

Orfejs
01-23-2003, 02:52 PM
Nairb,
it really works.

Logikos
01-23-2003, 08:59 PM
indeed it does
=D

jjcool777
01-25-2003, 09:12 PM
cool i would like to do this also

i inserted this in top of head include template:

.opacity {
filter:alpha(opacity=75);
}

is that right ?
also i dont know what i do here?

"then in the td tag where ur image is make it have like this"

<td (your other td attributes) class="opacity">

what templates do i change

sorry not very good at this,
hope someone can help

thanx

jjcool777
01-25-2003, 09:12 PM
cool i would like to do this also

i inserted this in top of head include template:

.opacity {
filter:alpha(opacity=75);
}

is that right ?
also i dont know what i do here?

"then in the td tag where ur image is make it have like this"

<td (your other td attributes) class="opacity">

what templates do i change

sorry not very good at this,
hope someone can help

thanx

jjcool777
01-25-2003, 09:12 PM
cool i would like to do this also

i inserted this in top of head include template:

.opacity {
filter:alpha(opacity=75);
}

is that right ?
also i dont know what i do here?

"then in the td tag where ur image is make it have like this"

<td (your other td attributes) class="opacity">

what templates do i change

sorry not very good at this,
hope someone can help

thanx

Nairb
01-25-2003, 09:18 PM
did you really have to hit submit 3 times? :p

but anyways...

it's for what ever template u want...

jjcool777
01-25-2003, 09:23 PM
sorry it somehow posted 3 times ??

im still unsure what i change in my templates ??

Nairb
01-26-2003, 12:13 PM
a <td> tag...

hmmm, I dont have my vB online right now... so I'll try my best

in, lets say, forumhome_level1_nopost

there's a <td> tag for the category header that looks something like this:
<td bgcolor="{categorybackcolor}" colspan="6">

in that, for if you want opacity somewhere between the < and > add class="opacity"

so it should look like this:

<td bgcolor="{categorybackcolor}" colspan="6" class="opacity">

that should work...

jjcool777
01-26-2003, 12:47 PM
thanx mate, but i cant get it working

have i dont it right i changed what you said

but is this right ?

i inserted this in top of head include template:

.opacity {
filter:alpha(opacity=75);
}

??
thanx

Nairb
01-26-2003, 01:01 PM
you insert that at the bottom right before the </style>

rebelsrock06
04-09-2004, 04:10 PM
is there anyway to do this thru the CSS atributes for VB3 ?