View Full Version : [Release] Text Area & Input BG's
SaintDog
06-14-2002, 10:00 PM
Author: SaintDog
Description: This will teach you how add background to your Text Areas, Input Boxes, and Form Buttons (this is modification is being used here). Screenshots below:
http://www.vbulletintemplates.com/mods/previews/inputforms.gif
http://www.vbulletintemplates.com/mods/previews/textareas.gif
imported_Niloc
06-24-2002, 12:24 AM
Thanks!
Xanthine
06-24-2002, 01:41 AM
And if you dont want the background image to move when you type more then the box you can put
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-attachment: fixed;
After BACKGROUND-IMAGE: url("http://www.yoursite.com/image.gif");
vertex
06-24-2002, 07:15 PM
best yet, thanks guys
Gary W
06-25-2002, 02:48 PM
Excellent hack ! :D
Dean N Steve
06-25-2002, 06:05 PM
i like this !
Nice, very very nice! Thanks :)
Exodus
06-28-2002, 07:29 PM
hmm this only changes the color of the text input border, not the backround itself. nyone else have this problem?
hellsatan
06-29-2002, 10:37 PM
Nice, but I wont use it:)
Satan
autobilia
07-05-2002, 11:27 AM
What is a recommended size for the *.gif?
SaintDog
07-05-2002, 11:45 AM
The one used here is 200x138, although sizes will differ :)
sphinx
07-05-2002, 02:11 PM
installed and working fine nice work
alex2k
07-17-2002, 07:36 AM
Nice... thank's!
mashby
07-17-2002, 02:56 PM
Just a quick note: this mod only appears to work with Internet Explorer and Netscape 6. I use Opera as a browser and the background is not supported, so it must not be part of the W3C specification.
The good news is that any users you have that don't use IE or NS6 will just see a white box. :)
Andromeda
07-18-2002, 06:34 AM
Thanks a lot
if i wanted to make the dotted line around the boxes solid would i just take the dotted tag out?
SaintDog
08-08-2002, 10:42 AM
Change:
dotted
To:
solid
------------------
This does not place a border around the forum, only the textarea's and input boxes, if you are looking to place a border around the forum, search for Forum Border.
PennylessZ28
08-31-2002, 07:49 PM
Awesome, I was looking for that! All i needed was the dashed part!
Trekkie
09-02-2002, 01:55 PM
The Mod ist not working, no pic only a white background
Any problems because there are a Htaccess ?
imported_Sufian
09-03-2002, 05:18 AM
Great mod!
Trekkie
09-03-2002, 05:32 PM
I have solved the problem :)
Great Mod !
LiL pImPsTeR
09-17-2002, 03:08 AM
howd u fix it bro? i got it like that too....ive installed this hack ocne before and didint have that problem....
d3fuse
09-17-2002, 03:18 AM
Nice hack, perfect for my upcoming forum.
Buddha
09-17-2002, 06:42 PM
hey dog, i installed this, and i also used the
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-attachment: fixed;
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-attachment: fixed;
background-position: center center;
but in mozilla, the background that i fixed seems to be set to the center of the browser window, not the textarea. so now, when i scroll, it remains positioned in the center of the screen and moves through the textarea.
very funny... bizarre cause you see the image first scroll through the reply window, then appear in the buttons above the textarea.
lol.
how do you fix it in the middle of the textarea window in mozilla?
Lazerus
09-19-2002, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by LiL pImPsTeR
howd u fix it bro? i got it like that too....ive installed this hack ocne before and didint have that problem....
i have the same problem....
Lazerus
09-22-2002, 05:05 PM
bump....?
wolfe
09-22-2002, 09:52 PM
no working for me :( its just making them SOLID
even with dotted there
imported_SorandeR
11-05-2002, 02:11 PM
thanks it's great.
imported_Blindchild02
12-10-2002, 09:12 PM
doesnt add a BG for me, only dotted lines
imported_Athletic
12-25-2002, 01:43 PM
Thanks great mod
Is it possible to not add the backgound to the buttons?
imported_Athletic
12-25-2002, 01:46 PM
Originally posted by Blindchild02
doesnt add a BG for me, only dotted lines
You have to add a ";" after: BACKGROUND-COLOR: #CFCFCF
So it looks like this (without the dotted lines):
TEXTAREA, .bginput {
FONT-SIZE: 12px;
FONT-FAMILY: Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;
COLOR: #000000;
BACKGROUND-COLOR: #CFCFCF;
BACKGROUND-IMAGE: url("http://www.your site.com/image.gif");
background-attachment: fixed;
}
Hope this helps
Thisi s great, thanks.
Is there any way to change the look of the select boxes as well? I would like them to look as similar as possible to the other buttons.
a43079
12-26-2002, 09:36 AM
nice
codewebs
01-02-2003, 11:55 PM
doesnt work :/ white no dotted no backround image
codewebs
01-03-2003, 01:07 AM
ok... i even copied what vbtemplates has and it did nothing, so im doing something rong i guess
codewebs
01-03-2003, 02:09 AM
i got it :D if you put a gradient for your backround things throught the style, it messed up my css :/ its fixed for me now
imported_pie
02-11-2003, 11:18 AM
much appreciated :)
sonic3d
05-01-2003, 09:34 PM
nevermind it worked.
l8er
sonic
imported_Blindchild02
05-16-2003, 09:29 PM
is there a way to add it ONLY to the quick reply background? not in all the textareas.. i want it in ONLY the quick reply BG
Sin City
05-20-2003, 06:40 PM
thanks....great mod :)
dstruct2k
08-05-2003, 02:03 PM
is there a way to add it ONLY to the quick reply background? not in all the textareas.. i want it in ONLY the quick reply BG
Yes... You would have to create a new CSS tag... like "qreply" or something.qreply {
FONT-SIZE: 12px;
FONT-FAMILY: Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;
COLOR: #425C80;
BORDER: 1px dotted #283A52;
BACKGROUND-IMAGE: url("http://url here!");
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-attachment: fixed;
}And then add this to the code for your qreply box:class="qreply"
My Q-Reply box would now look like this (in html)<textarea name="message" rows="10" cols="70" wrap="virtual" tabindex="2" class="qreply"></textarea>
And you should be able to change just that box without changing anything else.
I have not tested this! I am not a CSS guru! I would rather manually specify everything in HTML! Anyone able to edit my post that can fix any errors I have made, please do!
imported_MaDCaT75
12-13-2003, 07:08 AM
Yes... You would have to create a new CSS tag... like "qreply" or something.qreply {
FONT-SIZE: 12px;
FONT-FAMILY: Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;
COLOR: #425C80;
BORDER: 1px dotted #283A52;
BACKGROUND-IMAGE: url("http://url here!");
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-attachment: fixed;
}And then add this to the code for your qreply box:class="qreply"
My Q-Reply box would now look like this (in html)<textarea name="message" rows="10" cols="70" wrap="virtual" tabindex="2" class="qreply"></textarea>
And you should be able to change just that box without changing anything else.
I have not tested this! I am not a CSS guru! I would rather manually specify everything in HTML! Anyone able to edit my post that can fix any errors I have made, please do!
ok but what if we have the hackless quick reply instead?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.