View Full Version : Creating a VB page without using templates?
attroll
02-28-2005, 02:28 PM
I have been using the hack called: How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates) https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164 but I don't want to have to use templates when doing this. Is there was way to create a bacis stand alone html file in another folder other then my forums folder that will keep my members logged into the site when they are accessing this?
Any inputs on this or suggestions?
Jolten
02-28-2005, 05:05 PM
You can embed html into the pages or you can use includes to call other files. Templates are not mandatory.
attroll
02-28-2005, 05:10 PM
You can embed html into the pages or you can use includes to call other files. Templates are not mandatory.
Can you give me an example by creating a file that just displays "Hello". I would like to see this.
Thanks
Jolten
02-28-2005, 05:34 PM
Change the two lines at the top of this script to match your forum directory. And drop it into a spot on your server, then call it with a browser to see it working.
attroll
03-01-2005, 02:52 PM
Change the two lines at the top of this script to match your forum directory. And drop it into a spot on your server, then call it with a browser to see it working.
OK. I put it in my forums directory and I got it to work. But there are two problems so far.
1. It does not pull my header and footer into the page. I tried changing and adding several different things to try to get it to work. But have had no success.
2. define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'Hello'); does not work for some reason.
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/hello.php
Thank you for your help and I am sorry if I am being a pain in the butt.
Jolten
03-01-2005, 03:06 PM
To call the header you'll need to add
echo $header;
same thing for the footer.
And you won't be able to use <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'Hello'"> statements so to call the page definition you'll need something like
if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'Hello'){
blah
} else {
blah blah
}
That's untested.
attroll
03-01-2005, 03:17 PM
I tried the ego header and all it did was say "echo $header;" in the window.
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/hello.php
Guest190829
03-01-2005, 03:21 PM
put the echo header stuff between php tags ;)
so change it too
<?php echo $header; ?>
attroll
03-02-2005, 05:07 AM
put the echo header stuff between php tags ;)
so change it too
<?php echo $header; ?>
Thanks Danny.VBT
I am one step closer. Now I can not get my navbar to display properly. I think it has something to do with the javascript.
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/hello.php
I just realized that besides my navbar not displaying properly I also noticed that the Quick Style Choose is not working. Sounds more and more like Java. Does anyone have any ideas?
zemic
03-04-2005, 09:34 AM
Has anyone found a solution for this?? I could do with using the Vbulletin header/footer/authentication stuff, but putting HTML in myself via Dreamweaver. I dont want to use the VB template system because none Vbulletin experts will need to update the web pages.
Thanks
attroll
03-13-2005, 03:30 AM
Is there anyone out that that can help me to get the Navbar and the Quick Style Chooser working correctly in this hack.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.