PDA

View Full Version : Change reputation 'gem' levels


boozehound
02-17-2005, 10:00 PM
Change the amount of reputation needed to acquire each reputation 'gem' (as displayed in the postbit) and the type of gem displayed for each level (bright or normal).

Adding this hack will add a new option in admincp, called 'Reputation Level Manager'. In this page you can:

Change the amount reputation needed to acquire each gem
Change the type of gem displayed per level (either bright or normal)
Add new levels
Delete levels


Note that these 'gems' are separate from the normal 'reputation levels' which govern the description shown when you mouseover the gems in the postbit.

The levels are shown for positive values only; negative reputations are simply a mirror image of the positive reputation levels, and the same rules apply regarding the type of gem displayed and the amount of reputation need (albeit, negative).

Further note that to install this hack requires the ability to run SQL queries, as this hack adds an additional table.

Fully tested on 3.0.3, 3.0.4, 3.0.5 and 3.0.6.

Update 1.01 20th Feb 2005

- Settings are now cached, so this hack incurs a cost of only one query per page (for pages that show reputation levels, e.g. threads)
- Installer included

kall
02-18-2005, 06:53 PM
"more" queries?

How many "more" queries? One per post? One per poster?

boozehound
02-18-2005, 06:58 PM
"more" queries?

How many "more" queries? One per post? One per poster?
One per post. If/when I update this (I've already been requested to add support for more types of images) I'll use caching to reduce this to one per page.

ambrosious
02-19-2005, 06:07 PM
In my admincp/index.php, I cannot find the lines you are refer to. Can you give me a couple of lines above and below that?

ambrosious
02-19-2005, 06:32 PM
Got it installed, not working as of yet, all the rep gems look the same.

boozehound
02-20-2005, 01:06 AM
In my admincp/index.php, I cannot find the lines you are refer to. Can you give me a couple of lines above and below that?
Anywhere you want really but I put it in here:

construct_nav_option($vbphrase['user_reputation_manager'], 'adminreputation.php?do=modify', '|');
construct_nav_option($vbphrase['add_new_user_reputation'], 'adminreputation.php?do=add');
construct_nav_option($vbphrase['view_reputation_comments'], 'adminreputation.php?do=list');

<-- in here -->

construct_nav_group($vbphrase['user_reputations']);


Got it installed, not working as of yet, all the rep gems look the same.
They will do until you change the levels in the new admincp page. If you have done so and there is no change, make sure you've changed includes/functions_reputation.php correctly, which includes the function (fetch_reputation_image) that governs how the rep gems are displayed.

ambrosious
02-20-2005, 01:10 AM
Others are seeing it, I'm not, but I've had the same browser windows open for awhile, maybe that's it?!

boozehound
02-20-2005, 04:42 PM
Update:

- Cost of installing this hack is now only one query per page that shows reputation levels (as opposed to one per post as before).
- Queries replaced by installer.

boozehound
02-20-2005, 04:43 PM
Others are seeing it, I'm not, but I've had the same browser windows open for awhile, maybe that's it?!
Are you still having problems with this?

ambrosious
02-20-2005, 10:29 PM
Yes, I still see the same old gems as always... don't have a clue why.

boozehound
02-20-2005, 10:37 PM
Yes, I still see the same old gems as always... don't have a clue why.
Remember the initial settings are identical to the hard coded settings so you won't notice any changes until you change the settings. If that's not the case I don't understand what the problem is as everyone should be getting the same page data, as the rewritten fetch_reputation_image function will be in use from the moment you uploaded the changed code. So then the only thing I can think of is you're somehow seeing cached pages.

ambrosious
02-21-2005, 12:20 AM
I changed the settings so it should show up for everyone, I bet I'm looking at chached images. Will get back to you on this.

ambrosious
02-21-2005, 12:23 AM
I got it! It's the old real reputable members. I just need to "up" the points for reputation upgrades and it should work. It works fine with the new members.

sim tech
03-28-2005, 02:14 AM
Man, that's just the mod I was looking for! Thanks!!

I'm guessing it'll mirror the same values for the negative numbers? I installed the mod (in about 3 minutes) and I really like the feature, but is there a way to set a negative number when I "Add New Reputation Gem Level"? The minimum I can go is 0.

boozehound
03-29-2005, 01:55 AM
Man, that's just the mod I was looking for! Thanks!!

I'm guessing it'll mirror the same values for the negative numbers? I installed the mod (in about 3 minutes) and I really like the feature, but is there a way to set a negative number when I "Add New Reputation Gem Level"? The minimum I can go is 0.
I deliberately made it not allow you to enter negative numbers so that the negative levels mirror the positive ones. I'll write a patch to allow you to set the negative levels too.

sim tech
03-29-2005, 02:04 AM
Man, that is great - I was just getting ready to redo my rep levels so they would match up with the gems.

You are truly one of the good ones Boozehound... I'm buying you a brewery when I win that powerball!

* sim tech clicks install & 5 star rating *

boozehound
03-29-2005, 11:13 PM
Man, that is great - I was just getting ready to redo my rep levels so they would match up with the gems.

You are truly one of the good ones Boozehound... I'm buying you a brewery when I win that powerball!

* sim tech clicks install & 5 star rating *
Ok here is an updated installation.txt for the variation of this hack where you can enter negative values (that do not necessarily mirror the positive values). If you've already installed, just replace the code you added to admincp/adminreputations.php and includes/functions_reputation.php with the code in this txt file. You will then need to add the negative levels through the admincp page (I didn't update the installer to add default negative levels).

NFLForums
04-10-2005, 06:54 PM
This is part of what I'm looking for...Is there any way to change the "gems" to other pictures?

For example, I run an american football board -- is there any way to have the negative rep things show as "yellow flags" or whistles, and the others show as footballs, field-goal posts/uprights or as lombardis?

I am just doing a little bit of looking into things so that I know what I can do...

sim tech
04-11-2005, 02:46 AM
The images themselves are located in /forums/images/reputation/

(reputation_pos.gif for example for th egreen dot)

If it was me, I would think the easiest way would be to just rename your images to what the gif files that are located in that directory are called.

That way you don't have to do any template or code modding.

NFLForums
04-11-2005, 02:56 AM
Thanks sim, I had just figured that out & hadn't gotten back over here to post yet! :) Thanks for your help though!

JHsu
06-15-2005, 05:17 AM
By default, the maximum number of gems displayed in the postbit are a total of 11. Will this hack allow me to add additional gems? For example, a total of 17 instead of 11?

J

boozehound
06-15-2005, 04:27 PM
By default, the maximum number of gems displayed in the postbit are a total of 11. Will this hack allow me to add additional gems? For example, a total of 17 instead of 11?

J
Yes.

Use the 'Add New Reputation Gem Level' form at the bottom the 'Reputation Level Manager' page this hack adds to admincp to add more gems.

okc
07-26-2005, 06:40 AM
Nice one! - Clicks install.

YankeeDeuce
07-28-2005, 12:02 AM
I was wondering if you can do something like notebookforums.com, where once you get 11 green dots it switches. The next rep level is 10 green and 1 pink, then 9 green and 2 pink, until your all pink, then it does the same thing with other colors.

neuromix
10-23-2005, 05:41 PM
is there a hack like this for 3.5.0?

Valithor
12-27-2005, 10:05 PM
Yeah, a similar hack for 3.5.x would be great!

MixMakers
12-29-2005, 05:15 AM
I was wondering if you can do something like notebookforums.com, where once you get 11 green dots it switches. The next rep level is 10 green and 1 pink, then 9 green and 2 pink, until your all pink, then it does the same thing with other colors.

Also what I'm looking for. Would be great if you could also add this to the hack!

chimaira
01-02-2006, 06:57 PM
Would love to see this on 3.5

boozehound
01-08-2006, 10:20 AM
Would love to see this on 3.5
I have a beta scheduled to be released in a few days, for 3.5. Same as the 3.0.x version with a couple of changes:

- Rather than simply specifying 'bright' or 'normal' one specifies the suffix of the reputation image. This way, alternative images can be used.
- There is an option to insert template code before a reputation image for each level, e.g. you can insert a template containing just:
<br />
before a particular gem, resulting in a line break in the row of images.

Example:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

chimaira
01-08-2006, 12:58 PM
Thats awsome news Boozehound... :)

MixMakers
01-10-2006, 07:56 AM
I have a beta scheduled to be released in a few days, for 3.5. Same as the 3.0.x version with a couple of changes:

- Rather than simply specifying 'bright' or 'normal' one specifies the suffix of the reputation image. This way, alternative images can be used.
- There is an option to insert template code before a reputation image for each level, e.g. you can insert a template containing just:
<br />
before a particular gem, resulting in a line break in the row of images.

Example:

http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/7169/newtsrrep3kq.jpg

Nice! That is exactly what my forum can use.

chimaira
01-12-2006, 08:53 AM
How is it progressing?

boozehound
01-12-2006, 05:05 PM
How is it progressing?
Finished:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=105156

MixMakers
01-15-2006, 05:41 AM
Finished:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=105156

AH! I misread your post, I thought you were also releasing one for 3.0.x. Is it possible to make a hack compatible for the 3.0 versions?

Mr. Brian
01-21-2006, 07:52 AM
Is there a way that we could change the type of image displayed for each level ?

Assistance would be much appreciated. :)

boozehound
01-22-2006, 09:24 AM
You need alter the code to change the 'bright' radio button in the admincp page to a text field, and change the database column for 'bright' to be a varchar to begin with, like I've done for the 3.5 version of this. After I've ported some 3.5 stuff I'll be rewriting the 3.5 version of this hack for 3.0.x.

MixMakers
01-26-2006, 09:01 PM
You need alter the code to change the 'bright' radio button in the admincp page to a text field, and change the database column for 'bright' to be a varchar to begin with, like I've done for the 3.5 version of this. After I've ported some 3.5 stuff I'll be rewriting the 3.5 version of this hack for 3.0.x.

I'm definately going to be on the lookout for this

Mr. Brian
03-19-2006, 04:06 AM
After I've ported some 3.5 stuff I'll be rewriting the 3.5 version of this hack for 3.0.x.

So any progress so far?

MixMakers
03-19-2006, 09:30 PM
So any progress so far?

Yes, definately interested to find out. I've been waiting for this for a while :banana: