Log in

View Full Version : Check if user has started a thread in specific forum


Oreamnos
02-11-2005, 11:26 AM
I was wondering if someone could help me with this small hack. I want a link to appear in my menu for all members who haven't started a thread in the "Introductions" forum.

Basically I want to insert something like this into my header template.

<if condition="$posted == no">
Please Introduce Yourself
</if>


Can anyone help with this one? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks
eric

noppid
02-11-2005, 11:39 AM
if( $bbuserinfo['userid'])
{
$record_count = $DB_site->query_first("SELECT count(*) as r_count FROM ". TABLE_PREFIX ."thread WHERE postuserid='$bbuserinfo[userid]' and forumid = 'xx'");

if( $record_count )
$posted_intro = true;
}


Something like that in php_include_start should do it, but be aware, running this for every logged in user will cost ya. You are hitting two indexes to get that result, however, thread can be a big table.

That is not tested.

Oreamnos
02-11-2005, 12:24 PM
thanks, noppid.

would the template conditional look like this:

<if condition="$posted_intro">
blah
</if>

noppid
02-11-2005, 12:36 PM
thanks, noppid.

would the template conditional look like this:

<if condition="$posted_intro">
blah
</if>

yeppers.

Oreamnos
02-11-2005, 01:08 PM
Ok, here's what I have and it's not working:

php_include_start:

if( $bbuserinfo['userid'])
{
$record_count = $DB_site->query_first("SELECT count(*) as r_count FROM ". TABLE_PREFIX ."thread WHERE postuserid='$bbuserinfo[userid]' and forumid = '10'");

if( $record_count )
$posted_intro = true;
}


header:

<if condition="$posted_intro">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" align="left">Posted</td>
</tr>
<else />
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" align="left">Not Posted</td>
</tr>
</if>


any ideas?
eric

Ok, i got it now.

I changed the php_include_start to this: if( $bbuserinfo['userid'])
{
$record_count = $DB_site->query_first("SELECT threadid FROM ". TABLE_PREFIX ."thread WHERE postuserid='$bbuserinfo[userid]' and forumid = '10'");

if( $record_count['threadid'] )
$posted_intro = true;
}

Thanks for your help! :)
eric