PDA

View Full Version : Hiding link conditionals & php variables so the URL remains hidden


yoyoyoyo
01-20-2005, 05:38 PM
What is the best way to hide a link conditional by its url or to pass php variables through the URL so the actual destination URL remains hidden?

for instance, if I was using erwin's Instant Txt/Html/Java File Forum Integration (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=66084) hack how would I hide the part after the "html.php?="

for example:
http://www.your-forums/forums/html.php?file=xxx.html&title=Your Title

Zachery
01-20-2005, 06:42 PM
What is the best way to hide a link conditional by its url or to pass php variables through the URL so the actual destination URL remains hidden?

for instance, if I was using erwin's Instant Txt/Html/Java File Forum Integration (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=66084) hack how would I hide the part after the "html.php?="

for example:
http://www.your-forums/forums/html.php?file=xxx.html&title=Your Title
Nothing inside of php itself i would think unless you change the way the system works.

you could use mod_rewrite and create some rules...

yoyoyoyo
01-20-2005, 07:05 PM
Nothing inside of php itself i would think unless you change the way the system works.

you could use mod_rewrite and create some rules...

I did a little surfing around and found these suggestions:
<?php
if($hidepage <> '$cat_name$') echo '<a href="$url_index$">$cat_name$</a>';
?>

A second thought - this depends on how your templating thingie works, if it buffers the output and then replacing or replacing as it goes - if it's replacing as it goes, it'd probably be more like

<?php
if($hidepage <> $cat_name$) echo '<a href="'.$url_index.'">'.$cat_name.'</a>';
?>

I also found this suggestion:

<?php
$page = $_GET['page'];
switch ($page) {
case "services":
include 'includes/services.php';
break;
case "links":
include 'includes/links.php';
break;
default:
include 'includes/home.php';
break;
}
?>

All of this is a bit over my head now, but I am working on it. Does any of the above make sense or look like it might work? If so... can you help me understand how? :D

deathemperor
01-21-2005, 02:58 AM
I know there's a good way by using .htaccess but my knowledge in this is still nothing, I'm gonna do something like this on my board though