View Full Version : Create RSS feed out of new threads in specific forum
xQuEeNzNaZcHox
12-26-2004, 12:20 PM
I am running a blog off of vB using vBadvanced, and I am very interested in knowing how to create an RSS feed for my blog. I would need to be able to create and RSS feed out of new threads in specific forum.
This hack may already exist. If so, tell me.
Anybody?
tomshawk
12-26-2004, 05:14 PM
I am running a blog off of vB using vBadvanced, and I am very interested in knowing how to create an RSS feed for my blog. I would need to be able to create and RSS feed out of new threads in specific forum.
This hack may already exist. If so, tell me.
Anybody?
Yes it does already exist, It's built into vbulletin.
The file you are looking for is external.php
check this page out on my site for some example feed links
http://www.tech-unity.com/pages.php?getpage=RSS
There is an option in your vbulletin options page to enable rss feeds, once you enable it, your external.php file will work. ;)
An Example of the external.php page to a paticular page would be
http://www.tech-unity.com/forums/external.php?type=RSS2&forumids=16
the "forumids=16" portion would be the forum you want to have output from. ;)
HTH
shiva
01-05-2005, 03:42 AM
I get this on mine:
This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
I'm using the trez_z theme, but all my themes are like that. Something I'm missing Here? Oddly enough, the second link tomshawk posted does that (using firefox as my browser)
MajorFm.com
01-16-2005, 09:05 PM
If i did
http://www.majorfm.com/forum/external.php?type=js&forumids=107&forumids=108
etc... will that work? to pull from more then one forum...?
MajorFm.com
01-16-2005, 09:12 PM
tried that... that didn't work... how do u include from more then one forum?
MajorFm.com
01-16-2005, 09:15 PM
ok trial and error brought me to this...
&forumids=118,119,120,121,122,123,124
etc...
that works!
tomshawk
01-17-2005, 12:34 AM
Sorry I didn't get back here quicker, but
congrats on figuring it out MajorFm.com ;)
MajorFm.com
01-17-2005, 03:51 PM
Thanks man.... its cool!
MickDoneDee
06-10-2005, 01:15 PM
How do I make these feeds display somwhere so I can see what they look like?
WireNine
06-11-2005, 06:19 AM
I believe you can view a demo of them here
http://www.tech-unity.com/pages.php?getpage=RSS
MickDoneDee
06-11-2005, 08:58 AM
Thanks for your response, however, I knew I could view the RSS output by looking at external.php in the browser. I wanted to know how to view a feed created by my site's RSS output. I now realize I need an aggregator or RSS reader. I was able to submit my RSS feed to NewsGator and view it there in NewsGator Online.
thesatman
06-17-2005, 03:34 PM
I use http://www.rss2js.com/ to convert the RSS feed from external.php to JavaScript to include in a standard HTML page.
Hope this helps
Chris.
MickDoneDee
06-17-2005, 04:16 PM
Thanks for that great tip, Chris. Eventually, I found some PHP code to create a file to display the feed as article links. So I called it article.php. I can't remember where I found it so here is the code in full:
<?php
$_item = array();
$_depth = array();
$_tags = array("dummy");
function initArray()
{
global $_item;
$_item = array ("TITLE"=>"", "LINK"=>"",
"DESCRIPTION"=>"", "URL"=>"");
}
function startElement($parser, $name){
global $_depth, $_tags, $_item;
if (($name=="ITEM") ||
($name=="CHANNEL")
|| ($name=="IMAGE")) {
initArray();
}
@$_depth[$parser]++;
array_push($_tags, $name);
}
function endElement($parser, $name){
global $_depth, $_tags, $_item;
array_pop($_tags);
$_depth[$parser]--;
switch ($name) {
case "ITEM":
echo "<p><a href=\"{$_item['LINK']}\">" . "{$_item['TITLE']}</a><br />
{$_item['DESCRIPTION']}</p>\n";
initArray();
break;
}
}
function parseData($parser, $text){
global $_depth, $_tags, $_item;
$crap = preg_replace ("/\s/", "", $text);
/* is the data just whitespace?
if so, we don't want it! */
if ($crap) {
$text = preg_replace ("/^\s+/", "", $text);
/* get rid of leading whitespace */
if (@$_item[$_tags[$_depth[$parser]]]) {
$_item[$_tags[$_depth[$parser]]] .=
$text;
} else {
$_item[$_tags[$_depth[$parser]]] =
$text;
}
}
}
function parseRDF($file){
global $_depth, $_tags, $_item;
$xml_parser = xml_parser_create();
initArray();
/* Set up event handlers */
xml_set_element_handler
($xml_parser, "startElement", "endElement");
xml_set_character_data_handler
($xml_parser, "parseData");
/* Open up the file */
$fp = fopen ($file, "r") or die ("Could not
open $file for input");
while ($data = fread ($fp, 4096)) {
if (!xml_parse($xml_parser, $data, feof
($fp))) {
die (sprintf("XML error: %s at line %d",
xml_error_string(xml_get_error_code
($xml_parser)),
xml_get_current_line_number
($xml_parser)));
}
}
fclose($fp);
xml_parser_free($xml_parser);
}
parseRDF
("http://www.yoursite.com/external.php?type=rss");
?>
kabir
05-11-2010, 11:52 AM
XML error: not well-formed (invalid token) at line 30
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.