View Full Version : You guys always help out Thanks....
T3MEDIA
12-21-2004, 03:30 PM
HELP! Trying to make this (http://www.sprnch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=146) search box work.
the link it is supposed to search is http://www.sprnch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=361
here is my code.
I get a invalid specified thread error. you know the drill contact your webmaster ect. ect. what am I doing wrong?
<form action="search.php" method="post">
<div class="smallfont">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="http://www.sprnch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=361"/><input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" /><input type="hidden" name="searchthread" value="1" /><input type="hidden" name="showposts" value="1" /><input type="hidden" name="searchthreadid" value="361" /><strong>search for a video</strong>:<br />
<input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="20" style="width:175px" /> <button name="$gobutton" type="submit">Get it!</button><br />
</div>
</form>
Dean C
12-21-2004, 03:53 PM
Please note questions like this are meant for vBulletin Questions and not General Modification Discussion. I've moved your thread for you :)
Back to your question, are you trying to search within a particular threadvia this form?
T3MEDIA
12-21-2004, 03:57 PM
Ic ok sorry about that. Assumed it was the proper place.
Thanks.
Dean C
12-21-2004, 04:02 PM
Hehe I just edited my reply back in to avoid double posting. Have a read up ^^
T3MEDIA
12-21-2004, 04:08 PM
Please note questions like this are meant for vBulletin Questions and not General Modification Discussion. I've moved your thread for you :)
Back to your question, are you trying to search within a particular threadvia this form?
YES. one thread is like a intro thread. the other thread is almost like a database.
you can look thru it normally but I rahther users to use this. NOW I made a post and put HTML into the thread. so that is how its up there. so I cant us variables but I know where I want to search. so that is why I am not sure if put in the right code. I honestly dont know what "$threadid" is I assumed it was the Thread ID wich is what I posted in the code. I also dont know what "$session[sessionhash]" is... I assumed it had to do with cookies... I assumed it was the URL of the thread.
Dean C
12-21-2004, 04:16 PM
Try this:
<form action="search.php" method="post">
<div class="smallfont"><input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" /><input type="hidden" name="searchthread" value="1" /><input type="hidden" name="showposts" value="1" /><input type="hidden" name="threadid" value="361" /><strong>search for a video</strong>:<br />
<input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="20" style="width:175px" />$gobutton<br />
</div>
</form>
T3MEDIA
12-21-2004, 04:37 PM
Try this:
<form action="search.php" method="post">
<div class="smallfont"><input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" /><input type="hidden" name="searchthread" value="1" /><input type="hidden" name="showposts" value="1" /><input type="hidden" name="threadid" value="361" /><strong>search for a video</strong>:<br />
<input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="20" style="width:175px" />$gobutton<br />
</div>
</form>
jumpping on that now.
T3MEDIA
12-21-2004, 04:52 PM
Awsome man... really Thank you very much.
Thank you.
T3MEDIA
12-21-2004, 05:11 PM
Hehe I just edited my reply back in to avoid double posting. Have a read up ^^
After some testing it works but it searches all threads. Ok you see this thread? you can hit search with in this thread. that is what I want. but from a outside thred. I input box like that. That what I had works but seaches the whole site. Not what I want to do.
Dean C
12-21-2004, 05:26 PM
Hmm it worked on my test forum?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.