PDA

View Full Version : V3Arcade - Scrollable news / more news


frankenberrie
10-28-2004, 10:00 PM
[MOD] V3Arcade - Scrollable news / more news

This little mod will make your news window thats on the main Arcade screen / Arcade category screen scrollable.

Files to modify
Arcade.php

Templates to modify:
arcade_main
arcade_main_category (if your using the category mod)


**** DONT FORGET TO BACK UP BEFORE U MODIFY ****


Here what to do:
Open your admincp ==> Styles & Templates ==> Style Manager ==> Edit templates

Open up the arcade_main template
FIND:
$arcadenews
Add this directly above that:
<div style="height:125px; width:100%; overflow:auto;">

If you have the category mod installed:

Open the arcade_main_category template
FIND:
$arcadenews
Add this directly above that:
<div style="height:125px; width:100%; overflow:auto;">


NOTE: CHANGE :
height:125px to your liking

Now to make more news available for viewing. Remember, depending on how much news you set to view, this can have an effect on your sites performance.

Open up Arcade.php
FIND: (if you are using the category mod, this like will be in there twice)

$newsresult = $DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "gamenews ORDER BY datestamp DESC LIMIT 4");

SET Number of new items to show by changing this:
LIMIT 4

Hope this can be usefull. Just click install if you use.

The Realist
10-29-2004, 05:43 PM
<div style="height:125px; width:100%; overflow:auto;"> you say above?

Do you mean before?

My line looks like:
$welcomeblock
<td class="alt1" width="40%" valign="top">$arcadenews</td>
</tr>
</table></td>

Laters

docvader
12-17-2004, 11:00 PM
Mine kind of looks like that too, :). I tried to input this, but can't figure out how to make it work with this code. Any ideas?

Sooner95
12-22-2004, 12:28 AM
same here... anyone???

BTPRex
12-27-2004, 06:53 PM
Same Problem here :S

Psybadek
01-14-2005, 11:54 AM
It works fine for me the way described. :)

sim tech
02-28-2005, 04:01 AM
<div style="height:125px; width:100%; overflow:auto;"> you say above?

Do you mean before?

My line looks like:
$welcomeblock
<td class="alt1" width="40%" valign="top">$arcadenews</td>
</tr>
</table></td>

Laters

I am runing 3.0.7 and inserted it as follows:


$welcomeblock
</td>
<td class="alt1" width="40%" valign="top">
<div style="height:125px; width:100%; overflow:auto;">
$arcadenews
</td>
</tr>
</table></td>


Note that I added a </td> just below $welcomeblock And moved the </td> from the end of the mod line to below the $arcadenews.

I don't have the catagory mod, so I skipped that part and went directly to modding arcade.php (I set mine to DESC LIMIT 48)... I had to change the mod slightly 'cause the original one caused the frames that the scroll bar was in to triple in size.

Thanks for the mod - I've been wanting to do that but did not know how! Hope I didn't step on any toes by changing mine a bit... (php newbie here)

sim tech
02-28-2005, 05:11 AM
modding
height:125px to your liking

Still causes the frams size to go haywire though I had mine increased to 140 until I checked it on another pc and saw that it screwed up the frame size.

This mod gets 5 stars from me though! Sweet!

Polo
03-14-2005, 03:06 PM
I am runing 3.0.7 and inserted it as follows:


$welcomeblock
</td>
<td class="alt1" width="40%" valign="top">
<div style="height:125px; width:100%; overflow:auto;">
$arcadenews
</td>
</tr>
</table></td>


Note that I added a </td> just below $welcomeblock And moved the </td> from the end of the mod line to below the $arcadenews.

I don't have the catagory mod, so I skipped that part and went directly to modding arcade.php (I set mine to DESC LIMIT 48)... I had to change the mod slightly 'cause the original one caused the frames that the scroll bar was in to triple in size.

Thanks for the mod - I've been wanting to do that but did not know how! Hope I didn't step on any toes by changing mine a bit... (php newbie here)

Mine worked using this method...

YLP1
04-04-2005, 03:17 PM
This is an awesome mod..... I would love to have this on my portal latest topics versus an auto scrolling. Could the code that is used on this work for the latest topics?

Pete C
10-20-2005, 02:19 PM
Neat hack *Installed* Thank you.

Thanks also to sim tech for that very helpful info . . it worked for me too ;)