PDA

View Full Version : stripping signature editor


trag
10-03-2004, 05:12 PM
OK, I've done a bit of searching on this forum, .com, and templates... and I still havn't found exactly what I'm looking for. However... I'm sure I might have missed it... but anyway.

My question is... how do I strip the special editing functions of the signature editor. I don't want users to be able to set anything except basic text (of which I force size/font etc).

I saw a fancy signature limiting hack... but it was only a picture of what someone was requesting (or may have been on another board or something).

(note: I know you can turn off vb code and such in user options, but the options still appear in the sig editor. I want to remove that completely.)

Anyway... thanks.

trag
10-03-2004, 06:24 PM
Basically, I want to force a specific style for signatures. I don't want size/font/color. I don't mind link, bold, italic etc...

Worst case, I can just turn of VB code in the options... HOWEVER... the buttons still appear in the signature editor. How do I remove these so it is simply a text box?

trag
10-03-2004, 07:55 PM
I've found the toolbar contents in editor_toolbar_standard. What would be the best way to make an editor_toolbar_signature. Should I just edit the standard version to have an "if" statement, or should I make an actual new template with the items that I want... and just call editor_toolbar_signature when someone attempts to edit their sig?

trag
10-07-2004, 05:32 PM
Anyone have any ideas on how to strip the buttons out of the signature editor?

boatdesign
11-16-2004, 02:37 AM
Trag, did you find a modification / solution for this?

I'm looking for something similar - a way to not display specific options (e.g. the font size and image options) when users click "edit signature" from their user cp, and to disallow specific bbcodes in signatures.

I have found mods which allow users to limit what signature elements they see, but I would prefer to not have any users set huge font sizes for their signatures in the first place. I also don't want to allow images in signatures.

Many thanks in advance for any pointers or suggestions.

Ianomed
11-16-2004, 08:57 AM
I've found the toolbar contents in editor_toolbar_standard. What would be the best way to make an editor_toolbar_signature. Should I just edit the standard version to have an "if" statement, or should I make an actual new template with the items that I want... and just call editor_toolbar_signature when someone attempts to edit their sig?

yup, try this conditional


<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'profile'">

// template code that should only appear on posts and PMs, but not in signature page.

</if>


alternatively:


<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'profile'">

// template code that should only appear on signature page and not on posts or PMs.

</if>


untested, but I think it'll work :)

burnist
11-16-2004, 01:12 PM
Quick note, you used

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'profile'">
on both those code snippits

Should the top one not be

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'private' OR 'newthread' OR 'newpost' ">
//Im not sure about that syntax :P

Ianomed
11-16-2004, 02:06 PM
if you just want the signature editor to be limited, then it's just profile :)


<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'profile'">
... signature related markup
<else>
... markup for the editor on all but signature
</if>


if you want to exclude something from showing up on the sig editor, then you can also put this around it:


<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'profile'">
... markup for the editor on all but signature
</if>


THIS_SCRIPT is set at the top of a php file, for private messages it's private, and so on... for the signature editor (profile.php?do=editsignature), it resolves to profile.

so without having tested this particularcode, I'm pretty sure it works as I stated, I did a similar conditional here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=71609

let me know if it works out, or not?

Andreas
11-16-2004, 05:10 PM
Hmm, but even if you limit the editor the users can still use vB-Code (if they know how to do that).

Ianomed
11-16-2004, 05:13 PM
that follows of course
code so far presented is to remove the buttons, in answer to trag's query.

RCA
11-19-2004, 10:10 AM
This should be merged with some code that filter bbcodes [ size = x ] etc