Log in

View Full Version : Random Usergroup on registration


dstruct2k
08-19-2004, 10:00 PM
Ever wanted to randomly sort your new registrants into seperate usergroups?

Now you can!

Good for Harry Potter themed forums. ;)


Instructions: Create the usergroups you want to randomly sort between and record the usergroupid's for use when installing the hack. Further instructions in TXT file.

File Modifications: 1 (register.php)

Template Mods: 0

Time to install: >2 minutes


Enjoy!

Update: Version 2.0 released
This version incorporates code by True.Rooster which fixes my half-assed attempts at getting the code right. (It's been a while... lol)

To upgrade, reapply the hack.

assassingod
08-20-2004, 06:30 PM
Nice:)

Reeve of shinra
08-20-2004, 06:32 PM
Pretty cool.

KW802
08-20-2004, 06:34 PM
Would there then be an easy way for the user to change their group post registration? I could see something like this hack being fun for RPG type sites.

Merjawy
08-21-2004, 12:42 AM
Nice indeed

but I don't want to do a random thningy :) I want to simply make new users register into a usergroup of my choosing, not the default usergroupID 2 , can I do that with this? :)

thnx

nighteyes
08-21-2004, 12:46 AM
Do you have a script to automatically assign random usersgroups to existing members too (excluding moderators and admins)? :) So you can run the script once.... everyone would be assigned a certain group, then randomly add people to new groups as they register.

dstruct2k
08-21-2004, 04:19 AM
Nice indeed

but I don't want to do a random thningy :) I want to simply make new users register into a usergroup of my choosing, not the default usergroupID 2 , can I do that with this? :)

thnxJust only put one group, that'd do it.



Do you have a script to automatically assign random usersgroups to existing members too (excluding moderators and admins)? :) So you can run the script once.... everyone would be assigned a certain group, then randomly add people to new groups as they register.No, I don't, as I coded this for a request, not for my own usage.... I think one could be written though, I just will have to find time... They gave me shifts every day this week at work so I'll be hard-pressed for time.

integra99
08-21-2004, 06:28 AM
dstruct2k: what is the application of this hack on your site?

b4ne
08-21-2004, 02:14 PM
Coudl this be changed so that the user has some otions like

1
2
3

and whatever option he chooses when register he gets put into a specific usergroup ?

isla142
08-22-2004, 01:08 PM
This doesn't appear to be working. I put it on my site and signed up as a new member, but for some reason they were placed in 'COPPA users awaiting moderation' (group 4)

I had put the four usergroups as 2 (Gryffindor), 9 (Hufflepuff), 10 (Ravenclaw) and 11 (Slytherin). Maybe you need to check your code. I did a straight copy with the numbers changed.

Merjawy
08-22-2004, 07:27 PM
Just only put one group, that'd do it.

thnx mate, will try that

dstruct2k
08-30-2004, 07:38 AM
This doesn't appear to be working. I put it on my site and signed up as a new member, but for some reason they were placed in 'COPPA users awaiting moderation' (group 4)

I had put the four usergroups as 2 (Gryffindor), 9 (Hufflepuff), 10 (Ravenclaw) and 11 (Slytherin). Maybe you need to check your code. I did a straight copy with the numbers changed.That would be because you're requiring email verification or COPPA registration. This hack doesn't support verification yet.

dstruct2k: what is the application of this hack on your site?No application. Wrote it for someone else. ;)

isla142
08-30-2004, 10:41 AM
That would be because you're requiring email verification or COPPA registration. This hack doesn't support verification yet.

That's the thing. I don't require e-mail verification or COPPA registration on my site, which is why I needed the original hack that I asked for modified. :disappointed:

Wifey
10-31-2004, 07:50 PM
I don't require e-mail, COPPA registration, image verification, nor birthday's ro register. I just changed the not requiring birthday and am hoping that this alleviates the problem I'm having, but for some reason or other a few people have been thrown into that COPPA group up on registration. Any ideas?

Here's my PHP code verbatim from my DB:

// RANDOM USERGROUP HACK by dstruct2k
// Replace "999" with the usergroupid's of your randomized groups.
// Add extra groups if required.

$rndgroups = array(
'10',
'11',
'13');
$rndid = $rndgroups[rand(0,count($rndgroups) + 1) - 1];

// assign user to group 3 if email needs verification
if ($vboptions['verifyemail'])
{
$newusergroupid = 3;
}
else
{
if ($vboptions['moderatenewmembers'] OR $_POST['coppauser'])
{
$newusergroupid = 4;
}
else
{
$newusergroupid = $rndid;
}
}

// END RANDOM USERGROUP HACK by dstruct2k

Wifey
10-31-2004, 11:43 PM
Okay, since I'm wickedly impatient I decided to see about figuring this out on my own. After disabling virtually everything and still having the problem, I realized that the hack was rotating improperly and therefore throwing people into COPPA - problem is, they weren't IN the COPPA usergroup. The query had somehow created a NEW usergroup with no name and no id number that can't be modified. All as a result of a simple -1

So, change:

$rndid = $rndgroups[rand(0,count($rndgroups) + 1) - 1];

to:

$rndid = $rndgroups[rand(0,count($rndgroups) + 1)];

and there should be no more problems.

I tested it no less than 5 times and was able to keep it working even with re-activating my image verification :)

bexie
11-14-2004, 09:48 PM
EXACTLY what I need--is this possible for 2.3.5?

The Equivocate
12-10-2004, 02:14 AM
Okay, since I'm wickedly impatient I decided to see about figuring this out on my own. After disabling virtually everything and still having the problem, I realized that the hack was rotating improperly and therefore throwing people into COPPA - problem is, they weren't IN the COPPA usergroup. The query had somehow created a NEW usergroup with no name and no id number that can't be modified. All as a result of a simple -1

So, change:

$rndid = $rndgroups[rand(0,count($rndgroups) + 1) - 1];

to:

$rndid = $rndgroups[rand(0,count($rndgroups) + 1)];

and there should be no more problems.

I tested it no less than 5 times and was able to keep it working even with re-activating my image verification :)

Doing that didn't solve the problem.

Andrew
12-10-2004, 03:42 AM
// RANDOM USERGROUP HACK by dstruct2k
// Replace "999" with the usergroupid's of your randomized groups.
// Add extra groups if required.

$rndgroups = array(
'10',
'11',
'13');

if (count($rndgroups) == 1)
{
$newusergroupid = $rndgroups[0];
}
else
{
$rndid = $rndgroups[rand(0,count($rndgroups) - 1)];

// assign user to group 3 if email needs verification
if ($vboptions['verifyemail'])
{
$newusergroupid = 3;
}
else
{
if ($vboptions['moderatenewmembers'] OR $_POST['coppauser'])
{
$newusergroupid = 4;
}
else
{
$newusergroupid = $rndid;
}
}
}

// END RANDOM USERGROUP HACK by dstruct2k
Try that there - I've been creating new users for the last 30 minutes and it is working perfectly. I've tested with everything from 1 usergroup to 10 random ones and no errors. All I did was add an if statement that if there is only one automattically sets that as the group otherwise it randomly generates a group. I fixed the random part as well so it wouldn't throw out bad group numbers.

The Equivocate
12-10-2004, 05:17 PM
Yep, your fix worked - thanks!

Andrew
12-10-2004, 07:47 PM
Yep, your fix worked - thanks!
No problem - Glad I could help out !

Wifey
12-13-2004, 01:55 AM
I ended up having to change mine to -1 and it works perfectly now :) Sorry, I should have posted that a while back, but your problem is fixed so it really makes no difference how I fixed mine :p

edit: LMAO. And now I just looked at what the person after you posted that said and it's what I did. I'm so proud of myself, I figured it out on my own which is AMAZING considering how PHP illiterate I feel!

@ Bexie - hello Bex, darling. This was originally a vB2 hack, so yes, they have it for 2 - check the forums, I know it's there. If not I can find it for you because I know someone who uses it.

babolo
01-08-2005, 07:14 PM
I ended up having to change mine to -1 and it works perfectly now :) Sorry, I should have posted that a while back, but your problem is fixed so it really makes no difference how I fixed mine :p

edit: LMAO. And now I just looked at what the person after you posted that said and it's what I did. I'm so proud of myself, I figured it out on my own which is AMAZING considering how PHP illiterate I feel!

@ Bexie - hello Bex, darling. This was originally a vB2 hack, so yes, they have it for 2 - check the forums, I know it's there. If not I can find it for you because I know someone who uses it.

Hey Ashley I finally found the hack you used. Anyways Ashkarita's technique work perfectly for me also. Hmm...

Dark Aura
04-08-2005, 01:28 PM
Is this hack not supported if you have to moderate your members when they sign up?

I have tried all the different ways of doing this and nothing works :(

TrentHart
12-04-2005, 06:00 PM
Does this hack work for 3.5 boards?

dcdub
12-16-2005, 09:33 AM
Does this hack work for 3.5 boards?


Yea i was wondering the same thing

Senza
02-01-2006, 01:54 AM
If this could work for moderating new registrations, that would be most excellent.

iHogwarts.com
04-21-2007, 04:39 AM
OMG IT WORKS FOR vB3.6.5 with a few tweaks! THANK YOU SO MUCH!

/me clicks install.

Freak0204
05-22-2007, 05:30 AM
OMG IT WORKS FOR vB3.6.5 with a few tweaks! THANK YOU SO MUCH!

What kind of tweaks? Would like to use this myself.

teamsupra
07-24-2007, 04:56 PM
Does anyone have this working on 3.6.x?