Log in

View Full Version : User info collapsable table on left side of postbit_legacy


Steve St.Lauren
08-05-2004, 10:00 PM
******* User info collapse on postbit_legacy v.9 **********


I had a number of users complaining about how much "white space" there was on posts where the person had only entered 1 line of text because of the size of the user information below the username on the left hand side.

This hack puts the user information (online/offline status, location, post count, join date, etc) in the postbit_legacy template (only works if you are using the legacy postbit) into a collapsable table like many of the other collapsable tables in vB3. Users can collapse/expand this information at will while viewing a thread and the status is saved in the cookie.

This is the very first javascript code I've ever written so go easy on me ;) .

Please click on install if you use this hack!

insanctus
08-06-2004, 09:20 AM
Does this collpase all or just the ones you choose ?

Steve St.Lauren
08-06-2004, 09:29 AM
It collapses all. You can see it here if you want - http://www.turbodieselregister.com/forums/showthread.php?t=105948 . Just click on the up arrow below any of the names. It does it on the fly so you can switch back and forth at any time.

Gaffer
08-06-2004, 09:34 AM
oh this is SOOO being installed.... our postbits are so damn long.

thats steve i needed this.

Floris
08-06-2004, 12:37 PM
oh this is SOOO being installed.... our postbits are so damn long.

thats steve i needed this.
Does this remember which threads have it collapsed, or does it remember at all if you have it collapsed or do you need to set it each time?

Steve St.Lauren
08-06-2004, 12:43 PM
Does this remember which threads have it collapsed, or does it remember at all if you have it collapsed or do you need to set it each time?
They are collapsed or uncollapsed for all threads. Once you change it, it's that way for everything until you change it back.

Hiro
08-06-2004, 12:45 PM
Great, Thanks steve ima have a fiddle.

alkatraz
08-06-2004, 06:19 PM
nice idea! thx

Polo
08-06-2004, 07:39 PM
Wow, maybe with this mod I will be back to the traditional postbit_legacy!

Steve St.Lauren
08-06-2004, 07:58 PM
Please click on install if you guys use this that way I know how many are running it! I use that to judge when to go full release.

Steve St.Lauren
09-03-2004, 02:25 AM
Moved to full release - no known issues

nelto
09-06-2004, 02:00 AM
only works if you are using the legacy
postbit

Where can I turn this on?

venomx
09-06-2004, 08:37 AM
I may install this when I feel like making some edits to the hack. I have added so much to my postbit legacy that I would have to add them all... :(

Steve St.Lauren
09-07-2004, 03:10 AM
only works if you are using the legacy
postbit

Where can I turn this on?
You can change to the legacy postbit (vertical columns like on this site rather than the newer horizontal style) by going to vBulletin options and then "style & language settings) - it's the last option there.

integra99
09-14-2004, 04:36 PM
* integra99 clicks Install!


I redid your template hacks a bit though.. I like it better :)

Sooner95
01-10-2005, 05:33 PM
beauty, nice job

JD210
01-14-2005, 09:22 AM
Okay, installed this and it looks good, however, I am experiencing a small problem. Whenever you click on the small arrow to collapse the user info, all it does is take you to the top of the page and the user info stays open. Here is a link to one of my posts there so you can see for yourself: http://www.gothicgaming.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3

cinq
01-14-2005, 09:56 AM
Doing a hard refresh of your browser CTRL-F5 should do the trick.

Steve St.Lauren
01-14-2005, 01:32 PM
Okay, installed this and it looks good, however, I am experiencing a small problem. Whenever you click on the small arrow to collapse the user info, all it does is take you to the top of the page and the user info stays open. Here is a link to one of my posts there so you can see for yourself: http://www.gothicgaming.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3
It's giving an error on the page. My guess would be that you made a mistake installing the hack somewhere. If you email me your clientscript/vbulletin_global.js and includes/functions_showthread.php to (removed) I'll take a look at them for you.

JD210
01-15-2005, 01:24 AM
Email sent, and thanks.

Steve St.Lauren
01-15-2005, 03:23 PM
Email sent, and thanks.
I sent your files back to you. Looks like none of the modifications were made to the two .php files.

JD210
01-15-2005, 05:06 PM
I think I sent you the backups and not the modified files. I will check and resend them

JD210
01-18-2005, 12:21 AM
Resolved and working well, thanks.

*clicks installed*

Acid_Reflux
03-16-2005, 03:14 AM
I am having a slight problem where I'm supposed to post the following code in my postbit:

<table class="tborder" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%"><tbody>
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="2">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapseuserinfo('postbit_legacy_userinfo$p ost[postcount]')"><img id="collapseimg_postbit_legacy_userinfo$post[postcount]" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_postbit_legacy_userinfo].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>$post[onlinestatus]
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
<tbody id="collapseobj_postbit_legacy_userinfo$post[postcount]" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_postbit_legacy_userinfo]"><tr><td class="alt2">
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>

<if condition="$show['avatar']">
<div class="smallfont">
&nbsp;<br /><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$post[userid]"><img src="$avatarurl" alt="<phrase 1="$post[username]">$vbphrase[xs_avatar]</phrase>" border="0" /></a>
</div>
</if>

<div class="smallfont">
<if condition="$post['joindate']">$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]<br /></if>
<if condition="$post['field2']">$vbphrase[location_perm]: $post[field2]<br /></if>
<if condition="$post['age']">$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]<br /></if>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
<if condition="$show['reputation']">
<if condition="$show['reppower']">$vbphrase[reppower]: $post[reppower] </if>
$post[reputationdisplay]
</if><br />
<if condition="$post[icqicon] or $post[aimicon] or $post[msnicon] or $post[yahooicon]">
$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon]<br /></if>

</div></td></tr></tbody></table>

My problem is that my postbit code that I'm supposed to replace looks like this instead of the default code:

<if condition="$post['usertitle']"><div class="smallfont">$post[usertitle]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>

<if condition="$post[IsOnline] == true">
&nbsp;<br /><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$post[userid]"><img src="$avatarurl" alt="<phrase 1="$post[username]">$vbphrase[xs_avatar]</phrase>" border="0" /></a>
<else />
&nbsp;<br /><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$post[userid]"><img src="$avatarurl" alt="<phrase 1="$post[username]">$vbphrase[xs_avatar]</phrase>" border="0" style="filter:alpha(opacity=30);-moz-opacity:0.3;opacity: 0.3;" /></a>
</if>

<div class="smallfont">
&nbsp;<br />
<if condition="$post[starsign]">
<a href="#" onclick="window.open('zodiac.php?do=$post[starsign]&amp;focus=1','horroscope','statusbar=no,menubar=no,to olbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=450,he ight=350'); return false;">
<img src="images/starsign/$post[starsign].gif" alt="weekly horoscope for $post[starsign]" border="0"></a>
</if>
<if condition="$post['joindate']"><div>$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['field2']"><div>$vbphrase[location_perm]: $post[field2]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>
<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>
<if condition="$show['reputation']"><div><if condition="$show['reppower']">$vbphrase[reppower]: $post[reppower]</if>$post[reputationdisplay]</div></if>
<!-- user forum style -->
<div>$vbphrase[style]: <if condition="$post[style] == '$vbphrase[not_specified]'"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?styleid=$vboptions[styleid]">Default Style</a><else />$post[style]</if></div>
<!-- / user forum style -->
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon]</div>
</div>

I've tried a few times to incorporate this hack with my existing code as I do not want to get rid of the profile options I've installed; however, none of my attempts have worked. That is not surprising considering I'm a Class A Newbie when it comes to this kind of thing and I'm only able to install vBulletin hacks because I'm capable of reading directions. I was wondering if someone would be kind enough to let me know how I can install this hack with my existing code?

DJDarknez
04-04-2005, 04:30 AM
Got this one installed, works good!

Questions:

How can I make the title / rank visible? It seems to hide it.

Also, how can I get rid of the border around the table? I tried sniffing around the code for the border width code, but everything was set to zero!

Help me! Please! :nervous:

ChrisLM2001
04-15-2005, 01:02 AM
Nice mod. Friendly for those who don't like postbit clutter, but also allows a lot for those info hounds. ;)

DJDarknez: If you haven't found a workaround yet: just add the table code below the title/rank (inbetween the divs), then it won't hide them.

And change this in clientscript/vbulletin_global.js (there's 2 of these) from thead|tcat to your new CSS class names for a different thead and tcat for the postbit...

if (cel)
{
cel_re = new RegExp("^(thead|tcat)(_collapsed)$");
cel.className = cel.className.replace(cel_re, '$1');
}

Also set the table around 20px larger than the divs inside it. 100% will cause it to shrink and expand to the contents. That way when it opens and closes it won't cause that width expand/shrink movement. Keeps it tidier.

Added: you can also change the table class from tborder to something else to customize the border (easier).

Chris

venomx
04-25-2005, 04:57 PM
How hard is it to change this so only some things collapse?

Polo
04-25-2005, 08:05 PM
How hard is it to change this so only some things collapse?
shouldt be that hard... whatever is in the tags <tbody> are the things that will collapse...

DJDarknez
04-26-2005, 05:07 AM
edit......

Officially uninstalled. Followed instructions to a T, but gave me, and my users, this message:

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/djd/public_html/forums/includes/functions_showthread.php:673) in /includes/functions.php on line 2946

whenever trying to view a thread.

Allan
05-02-2005, 12:23 AM
Hello Steven, thanks for this hack :)

a question :p, in your installation, kept silent asks to replace a complete part of text, regrettably, I have to modify my postbit, can you put, just change has to make in the postbit Please ?

Cyricx
08-09-2005, 04:48 PM
I sent a pm to you, Steven, asking for permission to port this over to 3.5 :)

Please respond when you have a chance :)

Steve St.Lauren
08-13-2005, 05:41 AM
I sent a pm to you, Steven, asking for permission to port this over to 3.5 :)

Please respond when you have a chance :)

Thanks for porting it Chris. Here's the 3.5 port - https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=94092

Ryuk
06-23-2007, 08:29 PM
Thanks ;D I got a few questions tho...
how does this works? I mean, once u click on the arrow, it stays collapsed till?? I mean, each time the user logs out he has to re-collapse it? or every time he goes to the forum?
Is there a way to keep by default, the user info collapsed? n_n

Steve St.Lauren
06-23-2007, 08:47 PM
It sets a cookie on the users PC for the setting. They will stay collapsed until they either uncollapse them or delete their cookies.

hddstudio
10-24-2007, 02:38 PM
Is there anything similar for 3.6.8 or is it possible to set it from default Vbulletin options ? I can't find it....newbie in vBUlletin...:(