PDA

View Full Version : Blank showthread.php, anyone a wiz on this?


vajb
08-04-2004, 10:38 AM
Started setting up my forum, got it to work the way I wanted (to start with) except for one thing, showthread.php ends up all white, so I suppose I've done a doodie in there somewhere. Since this is my first confrontation with vb3 I'm not familiar with it yet.

Think anyone can spot the error? Probably something small & stupid :/

v3Articles, v3Arcade, Statistics hacks installed.

http://www.vajb.se/forums
http://www.vajb.se/forums/showthread.php?t=1

Attaching showthread.php / functions_showthread.php.

[edit]

http://vajb.se/forums/announcement.php?f=2 - didn't work too well either :(

Colin F
08-04-2004, 10:52 AM
Well you get a valid error message if the thread isn't around. (t=88)
I also get a foreach error on line 653 of the functions_showthread file, which when I check in your file is something from the arcade

I think it's missing the $awards variable, but I see a global $awards, so let's have a look at the showthread file as well...

OK, it's not in the showthread file either. I don't know the arcade hack that well.
Go through the instructions again and check if you did everything the way it says...

vajb
08-04-2004, 10:57 AM
Okay, so if VB3 misses a variable it just doesn't ignore that "part" but blanks out the page instead?

I'll browse through the arcade straigth away.

Colin F
08-04-2004, 11:05 AM
it doesn't have anything to do with vBulletin but rather with PHP

you inserted code which asked it to do something with a variable. Because it can't find that variable (I'm assuming that's the problem) it displays an error.

vajb
08-04-2004, 11:09 AM
Well the only thing that doesn't seem right straight away would be that it instructs me to find;

// ###################### Start getreputationimage #######################

and Add this Above it;


if ($arcadegeneral['awardson']==1) {
// declares the arcade image directory
$stylevar['imgdir_arcade'] = "images/arcade";
$arcade_result = $DB_site->query("SELECT shortname,title,gamesettings,highscorerid,highscor e,miniimage,gameid FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "games ");
while ($arcade = $DB_site->fetch_array($arcade_result)){
if (($arcade[gamesettings] & $_GAMESCHECK['showaward'])){
$awards[$arcade[shortname]]['userid'] = $arcade['highscorerid'];
$awards[$arcade[shortname]]['gametitle'] = $arcade['title'];
$awards[$arcade[shortname]]['icon'] = $arcade['miniimage'];
$awards[$arcade[shortname]]['highscore'] = $arcade['highscore'];
$awards[$arcade[shortname]]['gameid'] = $arcade['gameid'];
}
}
}

----------------------------

Though, there is no get reputation image line, but - there is something i thought was similar, which made me add it before that part instead.

// get reputation
if ($vboptions['reputationenable'])
{
fetch_reputation_image($post, $checkperms["$post[userid]"]);
$show['reputation'] = true;
}
else
{
$show['reputation'] = false;
}

-----------------------------

This part did not exist in functions_showthread either:


// sorts through all the stuff to return the postbit template


Where you should place this below it:

// arcade
global $awards,$arcadegeneral;


So i ended up placing it "here" instead:

// arcade
global $awards,$arcadegeneral;
// do alternate postbit types

Colin F
08-04-2004, 11:13 AM
I found the second part.

try looking for this: // ###################### Start getpostbit #######################
function construct_postbit($post, $maintemplatename = 'postbit', $alternate = '')
{
// sorts through all the stuff to return the postbit template

and if you don't find exactly that, try looking for parts of it. It should be around line 85

I coudn't find the first part in the functions_showthread file either...

vajb
08-04-2004, 11:19 AM
Sorted the secondpart, dunno how I could've missed it to be honest, still no result from trying to look at threads/announcements, hopeless.

Hmm, tried replacing showthread and includes/functions_showthread with the "original" ones from the vb package, still no result, hence the error is not in there.

This might be the spot for me to express a loud Blah!

Colin F
08-04-2004, 11:26 AM
:)

Once again, try going through the whole instructions...

vajb
08-04-2004, 11:41 AM
Already did, think I'll just to the whole install procedure over again in a couple of hours when I get back, something lost track somewhere. Did follow the instructions for the arcade, and the article/ statistics weren't complicated nor deep enough to cause problems i reckon.

I normally just code my own stuff, a cs-gamingleague for a few friends, getting into someone elses code is just the worst thing :)

Xenon
08-04-2004, 04:05 PM
vajb: I have deleted the files from your first post.
Our board rules do not allow to upload full vb files.

Just so you know of next time.

vajb
08-04-2004, 04:08 PM
Ouch, very sorry, didn't think that far, kind of obvious rule, point taken :)

vajb
08-04-2004, 06:05 PM
Reinstalled from scratch and remade all changes for the arcade, eventually the error occured again so I reuploaded an unmodified file, when I reuploaded global.php the showthread page worked fine again.

==========
global.php
==========

Find:
__________________________________________________ ______________________________ ___________

echo "End call of global.php: $aftertime\n";
echo "\n<hr />\n\n";
}

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Below this, add:
__________________________________________________ ______________________________ ___________

// Creates general settings for the Arcade
$arcadegeneral = convert_bits_to_array($arcadesettings,$_ARCADE);
$arcadeuser = convert_bits_to_array($bbuserinfo['arcadesettings'],$_ARCADEUSER);
$arcadepermissions = convert_bits_to_array($permissions['arcadepermissions'],$_BITFIELD['usergroup']['arcadepermissions']);

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
==============
Save and Close
==============

So its something in there in global.php that my forum just doesnt like (unmodified except for this install of the arcade)