Log in

View Full Version : vBa CMPS: Dynamic Navigation menu - all your Custom CMPS Pages


Natch
08-02-2004, 10:00 PM
What this does: creates a Navigation menu (best as a left or right side block) which is populates automagically by the custom pages you have inserted into your CMPS. It should only show the user the pages that they have permissions to view.

Step 1: create and upload a new module modules/navmenu.php with the contents<?
// edit this var if you wish a custom name for your homepage link
$homepage_name = $vboptions[hometitle];
// end var editing
$nav_menus = $DB_site->query("SELECT pageid,name,title,userperms FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "adv_pages");
while($nav_menu = $DB_site->fetch_array($nav_menus))
{
$title = ($nav_menu['pageid']==1) ? $homepage_name : $nav_menu['title'];
$groupperms = explode(",",$nav_menu['userperms']);
$membrperms = fetch_membergroupids_array($bbuserinfo);
foreach($membrperms as $usergroup)
{
if(in_array($usergroup,$groupperms) && ($pagename != $nav_menu['name']))
{
$bgclass = exec_switch_bg(1);
$pagename = $nav_menu['name'];
eval('$pages_menubits .= "' . fetch_template('adv_portal_pagesmenubits') . '";');
}
}
}
eval('$home[$mods[\'modid\']][\'content\'] = "' . fetch_template('adv_portal_pagesmenu') . '";');
?>Step 2: Create a new template adv_portal_pagesmenu with the contents:<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" class="tborder" width="100%">
<thead>
<tr>
<td class="tcat">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('cmps_pagesmenu')"><img id="collapseimg_cmps_pagesmenu" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_cmps_pagesmenu].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
<span class="smallfont"><strong>$vba_options[portal_blockbullet] Navigation</strong></span>
</td>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody id="collapseobj_cmps_pagesmenu" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_cmps_pagesmenu];text-align:$stylevar[left]">
$pages_menubits
</tbody>
</table>
<br />Step 3: Create a new template adv_portal_pagesmenubits with the contents:<tr>
<td class="$bgclass" style="text-align:right">
<span class="smallfont">
<!-- edit this entry to alter the index.php if your cmps portal has a different filename -->
<a href="$vboptions[homeurl]/index.php?$session[sessionurl]<if condition="$pagename!=home">$vba_options[portal_pagevar]=$pagename</if>" title="link to $title page">$title</a>
</span>
</td>
</tr>Step 4: Create a new CMPS module, with the following settings (other than the defaults):
Module Title: Page Navigation
File To Include: navmenu.php
Templates used: adv_portal_pagesmenu, adv_portal_pagesmenubits

HTH y'all :) I like it ;)

Demo (http://www.mobileforces.org/) <= this shows only one link available due to Guest permissions
Login with test/testicular to see the menu populate with extra pages

EDIT:// Altered the module; if you have installed this prior to now, please update the contents of your module with the edited one above.

Andreas
08-03-2004, 01:24 PM
Doesn't belong to the hack but: Which journal script are you using? Looks nice :)

Natch
08-03-2004, 01:37 PM
Found on www.bearfacts2.com - Boofo's site - they are working on it over there :)

OblivionKnight, sabert00the, Bane and Boofo (hope I didn't leave anyone out)

Silverdawn222
08-03-2004, 01:52 PM
Loving this hack! Also, regarding the Journal hack on the site you mentioned: don't see it. Can you tell me where to look?

Natch
08-03-2004, 02:41 PM
Upfdated to get rid of a small bug: if you are getting multiple instances of each item for users who are in more than one usergroup, please update your module with the module code in the first post.

Polo
08-03-2004, 03:07 PM
yup, nice hack and nice journal too....

weirdpixels
08-03-2004, 03:56 PM
nice hack!
*clicks install

Silverdawn222
08-03-2004, 04:53 PM
Fix works, thanks. Also, I still don't see the journal. :) I know that's not what this thread is for, but I'm really wondering.

Andreas
08-03-2004, 04:54 PM
@Silverdawn222
http://www.bearfacts2.com/forums/showthread.php?t=804

NuclioN
08-03-2004, 05:15 PM
woow this is one step further to get a function i once mentioned...links that open content in the centerblock and in that content a respond/comment field on newsitems from external cms progs. :)

Silverdawn222
08-03-2004, 05:15 PM
Hi,

Can't seem to visit that thread, even when I register... But thanks. :)

House_of_Crazed
08-03-2004, 06:38 PM
Yea, same here.

I suspect that Boofo will verify people as being members here since he is also a Moderator here and I'm sure he has the capability of seeing if they are verified & etc...

HoC

NuclioN
08-04-2004, 01:13 AM
Natch how to get the result of links in the centerblock as in your example?

Natch
08-04-2004, 09:15 AM
I'm not sure I understand the question - there's nothing in my hack that is not in standard CMPS - it's just Custom Pages - I am just parsing the adv_pages table for userperms and pages and outputting an array of links...

NuclioN
08-04-2004, 11:44 AM
Then i hope you specify the use of this function a bit better because when i add urls in the template they all open in blanc pages, not in the center block. Maybe i'm missing something. :)

Natch
08-04-2004, 11:56 AM
You don't add URL's in the template ... that's the whole point!

1. Do you have the CMPS installed?
2. Do you have any custom pages installed?

You can install this, leave the DEFAULT templates, and you will have a navigation menu with all your custom CMPS pages added.

If you want to add new links to this (NOT SUPPORTED - this is not the point of this hack), you will need to ensure they have target="_parent" in the <a href definition or you will open links in new pages (as per the default vB behaviour...

NuclioN
08-04-2004, 12:14 PM
DMPS? You mean CMPS.... :D It looks i have to look more often on the vbadvanced homepage

Natch
08-04-2004, 01:53 PM
Do you have a serious question?

NuclioN
08-04-2004, 01:59 PM
Yes i have. Now this is installed i can't see how to create new links to it that open content in centerblocks as on your example site.

Natch
08-04-2004, 02:58 PM
I suggest you read the manual for CMPS - in your CMPS admin cp you have the facility to "Create Page" - this will call on a new template, or simply a construction based on the modules you have already installed ...

Well if you create a template and add that intothe page definition up the top there,m then that tempalte's contents will go intothe place of the "Custom PAge Content" module in the center at the top of your custom page ...

Make sense ?

Now I had heaps of content from my old vBindex install - I just used those templates for my custom pages - I have customised this hack to not list all the custom pages - I have about 50 extra pages that are linked behind the "Tutorials" vB dropdown menu - this menu is populated automagically using a different script I dev'ed up. So my version of this has an extra bit that adds AND !strstr("tut-",$pagename) to the determination of the items for the menu so that these aren't displayed in the NAvigation menu - but that's just for me - you can see far more Custom Page content by looking at the Tutorials menu...

I hoppe that makes things a bit clearer.

NuclioN
08-04-2004, 06:02 PM
Getting closer to understand this, tnx Natch ;)

opus
08-06-2004, 10:07 PM
can someone give me a link to the journal?

weirdpixels
08-11-2004, 12:30 PM
Great hack btw this is going to be very useful, but I have a problem with it

Its fine when adding a page that just includes standard html, but I have just tried to add a page with a java page redirect script, the page itself works fine, but it does not get added to this page nav module.
Do you know if you could fix this. I really need this as I use the redirect script to take the user to my forums

Thanks

Natch
08-12-2004, 12:03 AM
If you added the page in as a part of the CMPS script (as in AdminCP -> vBa CMPS -> Add Page) then it should work - I don't understand how you have added the page isf you didn't add it this way.

weirdpixels
08-12-2004, 08:47 AM
I did actually add it that way, well i just saved the page again and its working now, thanks

Natch
08-12-2004, 03:46 PM
NP - glad u got it working :D

venomx
09-06-2004, 11:19 AM
arghhhhh this isnt working for me... :(

venomx
09-06-2004, 11:28 AM
Got it to work... Odd... I had to edit each page and click the "All Yes" in Usergroups and ssave it even though all were set to yes....

venomx
09-22-2004, 08:02 PM
Ok I moved my site to a new server. Everything works except the cmps_index.php if I turn this or the Featured Article mods on. I have removed both and reinstalled and the cmps_index.php still shows up as a white page if either is turned on. Ideas?

Natch
09-22-2004, 10:07 PM
White page as a general rule means missing templates - some hacks require you to re-install the templates - take a look at the Articles Hack installer and the CMPS installer - they both have "Re-install templates" options for upgrading...

venomx
09-22-2004, 10:24 PM
Already redid the CMPS ones... :(

Mattius
09-24-2004, 11:35 AM
Actually i found its not the templates, its the module that you have to make up that causes the blank page from my experience...not sure how you overcome that yet.

venomx
09-24-2004, 01:59 PM
Well I had to remove it altogether. No use it taking up space when I cant get it to work again. :(

Blam Forumz
09-25-2004, 03:00 PM
i dont get the box appearing....
I followed everything 100%

Blam Forumz
09-25-2004, 03:11 PM
ok it did work, but nothings in the box

Natch
09-27-2004, 05:17 AM
All this script does is create a list of the pages you have installed for your CMPS system - if you don't use the extra pages feature or you don't use CMPS then this is of no use to you.

Please check that your current style has the new template, and that you have got the module in place.

Please also post the site url's or PM them if you are still having problems.

Blam Forumz
09-27-2004, 05:37 AM
<a href="http://www.blaminator.co.uk" target="_blank">www.blaminator.co.uk</a>

I had to make my own silly navigation menu, yours is a few blocks down, its jsut blank

yes i do have other pages

Natch
09-27-2004, 05:54 AM
OK - can you give me temp acces to your AdminCP - cos at the moment I cannot see how you could have my script installed and the tempaltes installed correctly without them showing up: there is nothing complicated in this script.

Mattius
10-08-2004, 08:02 AM
Natch the menu works fine, but have you got any examples of creating submenus with it...say i want to have

vb Tutorials Section
- CMPS hacks
- vb hacks
- my life story

Natch
10-08-2004, 10:18 AM
Well, that would defintely go beyond the scope of this, as all pages in the CMPS are on one level.

One could create multi-dimensional menus, but it would require you manually dividing up your CPMPS apges into groups somehow: possibly by giving all tempaltes of items in the same group an identical prefix...

eg:
adv_portal_tut_tutorial1
adv_portal_tut_tutorial2
adv_portal_tut_tutorial3
adv_portal_faq_faq1
adv_portal_faq_faq2
adv_portal_faq_faq3

Then you can add a filter into the module to parse each group into a separate array, then walking thru each array inside a UL...

Mattius
10-11-2004, 09:40 PM
As soon as you start talking arrays i get scared, has anybody attempted to modify this script to work with submenu's or anybody out there that cares to give it a go...

Natch
10-13-2004, 02:32 AM
It's more than just this script that would need to be modified: it would be your whole board setup.

What you are asking for is more of a custom job than just a "quick thing".

Dio
12-12-2004, 11:19 AM
Great Hack!

Quick question, which Hack are you using for your Downloads and Uploads boxes on the main page? I have searched high and low with no luck.

Natch
12-13-2004, 01:59 AM
It's the Links and Files Database here on vB.org

soft_link
10-19-2005, 01:42 AM
This hack seems to be perfect for my site except that every time I set the module to be active in the left column, it changes my entire page to be one wide column. This baffles me because when I view the source code I see that the td width for this column is still intact at 175 pixels.

I am not sure where to change the code to fix this. Has anyone else had this problem or know what I am doing wrong?