View Full Version : Even better spider archive?
krohnathlonman
06-11-2004, 10:00 PM
in archive/index.php go down around line 189....
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
while ($thread = $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
{
$bah = str_replace(" ", "_", $thread[title]);
echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]$bah.html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
}
echo "</ol>\n</div>\n";
Here's this quick mod in action: http://www.iamnotageek.com/archive/index.php/f-48.html
basically it puts the Thread title into the URL which in my testing seems to give better search rankings than the URL without the name of the topic in it.
Obviously your mileage may vary..... THis is NOT to start a debate on search placements.
*Clicks Install.
Thanks mate.
krohnathlonman
06-12-2004, 12:10 AM
I'm planning some more archive mods :) My article system will be seeing a variation of this.
The biggest thing I'm working on with it is a uhhh.... Different way of reading threads. Basically it'll mass replace words. It's going to be an addon for humorous reading. Like say everywhere it says computer could be replaced with pie... Of course for my site I'm not going to be using mild words.... It'll have NO affect on the DB, it'll be done completely in PHP.
Looking forward to it.
You are working on an article mod for vB?? :cool:
krohnathlonman
06-12-2004, 12:20 AM
oh, you haven't seen the article system? I had a public beta for a couple weeks and then took the download down....
http://iamnotageek.com/articles.php
ChuanSE
06-12-2004, 08:16 AM
in archive/index.php go down around line 189....
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
while ($thread = $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
{
$bah = str_replace(" ", "_", $thread[title]);
echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]$bah.html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
}
echo "</ol>\n</div>\n";
Here's this quick mod in action: http://www.iamnotageek.com/archive/index.php/f-48.html
basically it puts the Thread title into the URL which in my testing seems to give better search rankings than the URL without the name of the topic in it.
Obviously your mileage may vary..... THis is NOT to start a debate on search placements.
What should i exactly do with this code?
it's interfearing with the [you] hack :(
cho "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
while ($thread = $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
{
$thread['title'] = preg_replace('/\[you\]/i', $bbuserinfo['username'], $thread['title']);
echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid].html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
}
echo "</ol>\n</div>\n";
Ian Montgomerie
06-12-2004, 09:26 PM
Checking your site, there is a bug if there is a "/" in the thread title.
ChuanSE
06-12-2004, 10:18 PM
hmm, i meant that i couldn't add your hack because the [you] hack is also modded in that piece of orig vb code. Can you adapt your code together with it, so i can use your hack 2? :D
Would be great ;)
Osterling
06-13-2004, 01:51 AM
With the code you provide.. what do I do with it? Sorry if that is a stupid question..
monstergamer
06-13-2004, 04:13 AM
With the code you provide.. what do I do with it? Sorry if that is a stupid question..you replace this
echo '<div id="navbar">' . $vboptions['bbtitle'] . "</div>\n<hr />\n";
echo "<p class=\"largefont\" style=\"text-align: left\">$vbphrase[view_full_version]: <a href=\"$vboptions[bburl]/$vboptions[forumhome].php\">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></p>\n";
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n";
print_archive_forum_list();
echo "</div>\n";
with this
echo '<div id="navbar">' . $vboptions['bbtitle'] . "</div>\n<hr />\n";
echo "<p class=\"largefont\" style=\"text-align: left\">$vbphrase[view_full_version]: <a href=\"$vboptions[bburl]/$vboptions[forumhome].php\">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></p>\n";
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n";
print_archive_forum_list();
echo "</div>\n";
Smitty
06-13-2004, 08:11 AM
Checking your site, there is a bug if there is a "/" in the thread title.
Is this still a problem? I have a lot of threads with a / in the thread title.
Osterling
06-13-2004, 08:59 AM
you replace this
echo '<div id="navbar">' . $vboptions['bbtitle'] . "</div>\n<hr />\n";
echo "<p class=\"largefont\" style=\"text-align: left\">$vbphrase[view_full_version]: <a href=\"$vboptions[bburl]/$vboptions[forumhome].php\">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></p>\n";
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n";
print_archive_forum_list();
echo "</div>\n";
with this
echo '<div id="navbar">' . $vboptions['bbtitle'] . "</div>\n<hr />\n";
echo "<p class=\"largefont\" style=\"text-align: left\">$vbphrase[view_full_version]: <a href=\"$vboptions[bburl]/$vboptions[forumhome].php\">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></p>\n";
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n";
print_archive_forum_list();
echo "</div>\n";
isn't that the same code?
Osterling
06-13-2004, 09:10 AM
let me shake your hand.. great hack!
monstergamer
06-13-2004, 07:57 PM
isn't that the same code?
LOL i was tierd last night
RichieBoy67
07-02-2004, 06:40 PM
Is there any way to test this so I know if I did it corrrectly??
krohnathlonman
07-02-2004, 06:48 PM
You mean other than the fact that the URLs will have the title in the address?
porschinho
07-17-2004, 12:58 AM
i have a problem with this hack. in some cases if there is a ":" in the threadtitle, the link in the forumview will not be right.
example:
threadtitle: CPU: welche AMD64 Prozessoren machen 32Bit
generated link: t-8341cpu:_welche_AMD64_Prozessoren_machen_32Bit.htm l
but:
CD/DVD: DVD Brenner <---- this one works!
i think its only if there are exactly 3 or 4 characters before the ":" in the title. and i have many of them. ( HDD: FDD: WIN: LAN: WLAN: )
do you know the problem?
regards
michael
krohnathlonman
07-17-2004, 01:16 AM
under this:
$bah = str_replace(" ", "_", $thread[title]);
Put
$bah = str_replace(":", "", $thread[title]);
I've also noticed the problem with -'s basically anthing that causes an error have it search and replace ;)
Smitty
07-17-2004, 01:46 AM
It appears vB version 3.0.3 broke this. I wanted to try it out but it looks like archive/index.php has significantly changed. Am I missing something?
krohnathlonman
07-17-2004, 01:56 AM
I haven't tried .3 yet..... I have too much tied into VB to make an upgrade simple!
porschinho
07-17-2004, 09:04 AM
thank you, it works...
Smitty
07-17-2004, 04:26 PM
I haven't tried .3 yet..... I have too much tied into VB to make an upgrade simple!
let us know if you check out the upgrade. The archive/index.php file has significantly changed.
krohnathlonman
07-17-2004, 04:53 PM
it'll probably be a while before I even think about doing an upgrade.... I'll have to wait till a low traffic point so I don't lose too much $$$ there's also an alternative to the built in /archive which I prefer using.
infiniterb
07-18-2004, 11:28 PM
What is the alternative to the built in archive?
krohnathlonman
07-18-2004, 11:42 PM
I didn't subscribe to the thread I found it in LOL search through my posts
porschinho
07-20-2004, 07:38 PM
under this:
$bah = str_replace(" ", "_", $thread[title]);
Put
$bah = str_replace(":", "", $thread[title]);
I've also noticed the problem with -'s basically anthing that causes an error have it search and replace ;)
there is a litte mistake in the code. there must be:
$bah = str_replace(":", "", $bah);
if you call the replace function the second time :) ... and the third ...and so on...
krohnathlonman
07-20-2004, 08:29 PM
yeah LOL I was tired when I put that in
Mr. Brian
07-30-2004, 08:41 PM
So what should we do actually?
So what should we do actually?
Good question .. seems like a good hack if we mere mortals could understand what to do with it :)
SaN-DeeP
07-30-2004, 11:03 PM
Installed it. but 2 questions
1. Will this really help in increasing spiders ? or better spider visits etc. ?
2. Can we remove t-299, t-2220 appearing the thread URL ? in archive
Thnx for nice hack.
SaN-DeeP
08-05-2004, 02:54 AM
Bump. I installed this hack 5 days back. and now google spider stopped visiting my archive ;)
any ideaz :)
SaN-DeeP
08-05-2004, 07:09 PM
sorry had to uninstall this,. and moment it got uninstalled google started hogging in again.
I am bit confused on google archiving :S
sorry for uninstall.
but a very nice hack for a fresh board only :)
fiber1
08-07-2004, 04:23 AM
Would be nice to try if we actually knew what to do.
With no disrespect! The instruction need to be updated with clearity.
Fiber
dethfire
08-10-2004, 05:10 PM
a colon in a thread title breaks the script ex. (RE: cats and dogs), how can we fix that?
Mr. Brian
08-15-2004, 02:07 AM
sorry had to uninstall this,. and moment it got uninstalled google started hogging in again.
I am bit confused on google archiving :S
sorry for uninstall.
but a very nice hack for a fresh board only :)
I thought you might be interested with the Xenon's version.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=542979#post542979
Simple to install and with full details provided. :)
hasan2k
10-29-2004, 11:15 AM
in archive/index.php go down around line 189....
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
while ($thread = $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
{
$bah = str_replace(" ", "_", $thread[title]);
echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]$bah.html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
}
echo "</ol>\n</div>\n";
Here's this quick mod in action: http://www.iamnotageek.com/archive/index.php/f-48.html
basically it puts the Thread title into the URL which in my testing seems to give better search rankings than the URL without the name of the topic in it.
Obviously your mileage may vary..... THis is NOT to start a debate on search placements.
I tried using your code. It does not WORK. There is probably something you didnt instruct us on.
CostaRicaForums
11-07-2004, 03:54 AM
I thought you might be interested with the Xenon's version.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=542979#post542979
Simple to install and with full details provided. :)
Sorry, but I have to disagree.
I've seen the example posted in that thread and doesn?t seem to work. At least I don?t see the thread name in the URLs.
But this one, I installed in under 2 minutes, and worked great!
However, I made a couple of small modifications to it.
1- I changed the underscore for a dash, that from my SEO experience seems to work better, and also added a dash as shown below:
Instead of using:
= str_replace(" ", "_", $thread[title]);
I used
= str_replace(" ", "-", $thread[title]);
2- Instead of using:
echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]$bah.html\"
I used:
echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]-$bah.html\"
This way the outcome would be:
http://www.yoursite.com/archive/index.php/t-18-whatever.html
Instead of:
http://www.yoursite.com/archive/index.php/t-18whatever.html
Which I think is even better.
But anyway, I?m not a coder? I?m just an SEO and I?m sure this mod will give a big boost to my archive files.
BIG Kudos and clicking InStALL !!!
You can see it working at my
Costa Rica Forum (http://www.costaricaforums.com/archive/index.php/f-2.html)?s archive.
Here?s also the example of the modified thread regarding Costa Rica Food (http://www.costaricaforums.com/archive/index.php/t-21-Costa-Rica-Food.html). ( notice the URL in the Status Bar )
By the way... as you can see, even though the URLs of the threads are changed, the name of the forum in not affected by this cool mod... :ermm: which would be great. Any coder out there with a tip on how to make this? :rolleyes:
Thanks
IC-Games
12-11-2004, 05:03 AM
Does anyone know exactly what we are supposed to do in this thread or do you need to belong to some secret club :D
The instructions are very unclear to beginners
version2
12-16-2004, 03:29 PM
Unclear to beginners? Im no beginner and I still am wondering what to do with this code.
auveeb
12-17-2004, 11:19 PM
What exactly am I supposed to do with the provided code?
SHANE-D-PAIN
12-29-2004, 02:38 PM
was going to do it but my archives havent worked since i set my site up last week!
can anyone help me out?
when i click the archive link at the bottom of my forums it loads up the forums index page and not the archivves like it does on other sites! :S
http://teenageforums.com/forums/archive/
JulianD
12-31-2004, 03:28 PM
There is a problem when the thread title starts with a number... Good hack though.
Hexemer
01-19-2005, 08:03 PM
How does this work with 3.0.5? :confused:
Freezerator
04-30-2005, 08:39 AM
Ok,
i have sorted things out, so it works on 3.0.7.
Open index.php.
Search for
// list threads
A few line below you will see this lines:
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\">\n";
while ($thread = $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
{
echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid].html\">$thread[title]</a>" . iif($pda, " <i>(" . construct_phrase($vbphrase['x_replies'], $thread['replycount']) . ")</i>") . "</li>\n";
}
echo "</ol>\n</div>\n";
Replace this with:
// archive thread title hack
echo "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
while ($thread = $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
{
$bah = str_replace(" ", "-", $thread[title]);
echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]-$bah.html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
}
echo "</ol>\n</div>\n";
// end archive thread title hack
This works for me on 3.0.7.
I have used the code from Costa Rica Forums :)
Hexemer
05-02-2005, 06:34 AM
Don't work in my forums :(:
Freezerator
05-03-2005, 05:38 AM
Don't work in my forums :(:
When i see your screenshot it appears to work???
Hexemer
05-07-2005, 09:22 AM
When i see your screenshot it appears to work???
The (Thread-)URL is okay but it links to the Forum Home in the Archive. :ermm:
Hexemer
05-15-2005, 05:25 PM
Can nobody help me with this problem? :(
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.