View Full Version : Request - Stock Quotes in Header
scottct1
05-10-2004, 12:36 PM
Hi there,
I have noticed that a few phpBB sites have company stock quotes listed in their headers (check out http://www.xmfan.com and http://www.xm411.com for examples)
I want to do the same thing on my site with vBulletin 3.
Any ideas how I can do this?
I believe they are pulling the info from Yahoo.
Thanks for anyone who can help!
scottct1
05-10-2004, 04:27 PM
Ok I have been able to figure it out a little bit...
Here is what I got so far...
If I put the following code in a PHP file the stock quotes will display, but only at the top of the page.
$fd = fopen ("http://quote.yahoo.com/d/quotes.csv?s=DISH&f=sl1d1t1c1ohgv&e=.csv", "r");
$contents = fread ($fd, 200);
fclose ($fd);
$contents = str_replace ("\"", "", $contents);
$contents = explode (",", $contents);
echo "<ul><li>DISH Network stock tracker. Most recent trade: <b>\$$contents[1]</b>. ($contents[4]) (Prices delayed up to 20 minutes.)</li>";
Again this code works however the data is displayed at the top of my page.
I would like to be able to take this data and the
<ul><li>DISH Network stock tracker. Most recent trade: <b>\$$contents[1]</b>. ($contents[4]) (Prices delayed up to 20 minutes.)</li>
and put it into my templates, so the stock is displayed exactly where I want it on the page not at the top of the page. I would like it to go in my header, below my logo and above the Navbar.
Any ideas?
scottct1
05-10-2004, 07:06 PM
Can anyone help? I would really like this displayed in my templates and not at the top of my page.
Check out http://www.satelliteguys.us/index.php to see what I mean.
Thanks!
scottct1
05-11-2004, 01:22 PM
Can anyone PLEASE help?
ponche
05-11-2004, 01:41 PM
Where did you put your additions? Try putting your code where you want the information to be displayed?
-Kevin
scottct1
05-11-2004, 03:54 PM
Right now the code is in my index.php file.
The problem with this is no matter where I put the PHP in the file it still displays above the top and above the <html> & <body> when it is displayed to the user.
I want to be able to put this in my header template below my logo.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.