View Full Version : User-optional Replacements-based Censorship
tjdrico
04-13-2004, 10:00 PM
User-optional Replacements-based Censorship Hack
================================================
Rationale:
----------
Some of my forum members wanted a swear filter for use at work, but others didn't. I searched for a hack that could do that and I saw a similar hack ( https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=53640 ) by 006 but that's for vB 2.2.* and I have vB 3.0.0. I started to look at the hack to install it but it looked significantly different from the code I had for vB, so I thought it'd be simpler to write a new version for vB 3 from scratch. This is it.
Description:
------------
The "bad words" censorship filter built in to vBulletin has at least three drawbacks:
1. It's all or nothing - all users are subject to the censorship whether they choose to be or not.
2. Censored words are replaced by asterisks and are not recoverable, even if the censorship is subsequently removed.
3. There is only a single list possible, where a forum administrator may wish different censorship lists within different styles (if they relate to different fora, for example).
This hack is a solution.
Based upon the built-in Replacement Variables system, this hack enables individual users to specify whether they want to view censored posts or not. Even if the Administrator chooses not to censor his forum, individual members sometimes prefer some words to be censored because they view in an office environment and Web proxies log certain words, or because minors may be present and read the screen.
Using his own "Edit Options" page, a member of your forum can turn his censorhip on or off unilaterally, and because of the way the replacements system works this is an entirely reversible operation. He can view censored posts at work, then log in at home and turn the censorship off again to view the posts as intended.
Also because of the way the replacements system works, censorship should take place in thread titles as well as posts.
If there are words that simply must be censored for all users, the built-in global censorship system can deal with that.
Caveats:
--------
Using the Replacement Variables system in this manner may preclude its use from any other function.
I have no useful information relating to how much additional load this will put in your server. I would imagine it would be minimal if the list of words is short or most users have censorship turned off.
Hack Information:
-----------------
Queries to run: 1
Files to modify: 2
Templates to modify: 1
Phrases to add: 4
Estimated time to install hack: 5 minutes
As ever, please take sensible precautions before installing this hack; back up your database and files beforehand. I have tested this hack on my own forum and my test forum and found it to be fine, but I am not responsible for the application of any hack I don't do myself.
For support, please use this thread or email me if you don't get a response. Thanks.
Daren "Rico" Chandisingh
rico[at]justice-department.org.uk
http://www.respawned.co.uk/forums/
???`S?LV?R???`
04-14-2004, 09:13 PM
nice idea, I think I might use it for my board
Red Blaze
04-14-2004, 09:27 PM
I'm definatly using this for my board. Will install later today. :) Finally, some php editing to do. XD
BarryA
04-14-2004, 09:59 PM
I'm definatly using this for my board. Will install later today. :) Finally, some php editing to do. XD
This could also be used as an advertising hack.
Say you have a webhost running a banner on your website, now you could charge him to have every instance of the word webhosting replaced with a link to his site. Maybe you could charge a few $$$ per key word... :)
Great hack BTW...
Koutaru
04-14-2004, 10:11 PM
Definately will try this out :-D
alkatraz
04-14-2004, 11:07 PM
fantastic idea, thank you!
Suggestion: If a user types a censored word with bbcode in the middle of it (ie: sh[anybbcode]it) vbulletin will display the word uncensored. Any way you could incorporate a fix for this into your hack?
Red Blaze
04-15-2004, 02:19 AM
I tried to install it but dunno why it af fected it, but my background image disappeared. 'Twas odd. I uninstalled it. Oh well, nice hack though. :)
tjdrico
04-15-2004, 06:02 AM
fantastic idea, thank you!
Suggestion: If a user types a censored word with bbcode in the middle of it (ie: sh[anybbcode]it) vbulletin will display the word uncensored. Any way you could incorporate a fix for this into your hack?
Really the hope is that since the censorship is optional and not forced, users won't resort to such tricks to be able to "swear".
Oblivion Knight
04-15-2004, 08:46 AM
I really like the idea behind this hack.. :)
I'll take a look at it later today and hopefully it won't increase the server load too much.
Thanks for sharing.!
colicab-d
04-15-2004, 10:32 AM
just the other day I had a thread started on my board about this, the older members wanted to see this and it looks like i,ll be able to do it thnx :D
ptbyjason
04-15-2004, 03:29 PM
Oh thank you so much! I have been wanting to do this but I had no idea how. Now everyone will be happy. THANK YOU! :)
tjdrico
04-15-2004, 08:31 PM
I tried to install it but dunno why it af fected it, but my background image disappeared. 'Twas odd. I uninstalled it. Oh well, nice hack though. :)
I can't imagine why that would be, unless you were already using the replacement variables for something else, or added a word that modified your display template somehow. The replacement variables don't just get operated upon post contents, but entire templates, so it's quite possible that something like that happened. If you try re-installing the hack, check that it doesn't affect your forum display before adding any words. If it only happens with some words, then change those words, or change the part of the template that's being altered (such as the image name or URL). I can't think why else it would be happening.
Cyricx
04-18-2004, 03:09 PM
Very awesome! Thank you TONS :)
Gio Takahashi
04-19-2004, 01:16 AM
this is interesting however, I want to make it so that it is censored from Guests. Is it possible?
tjdrico
04-19-2004, 08:04 AM
this is interesting however, I want to make it so that it is censored from Guests. Is it possible?
Yes, it's a simple change.
Open ./includes/functions.php and replace this:
// USER OPTIONAL REPLACEMENTS AS WORD CENSOR HACK
// Use replacements as an optional display-time swear filter.
if (0 == $bbuserinfo['usereplacementscensor'])
{
// this user doesn't want censoring
// so just return the text as given
return $newtext;
}
with this:
// USER OPTIONAL REPLACEMENTS AS WORD CENSOR HACK
// Use replacements as an optional display-time swear filter.
if ( (0 == $bbuserinfo['usereplacementscensor']) && (0 != $bbuserinfo['userid']) )
{
// this user doesn't want censoring
// so just return the text as given
return $newtext;
}
Save and close the file. That should be that, and guests will be subject to censorship. I'll update the main instructions with this information.
Oblivion Knight
04-20-2004, 10:54 AM
The zip file has disappeared.. ;)
I was just going to install this, and now I can't.!
tjdrico
04-20-2004, 11:26 AM
The zip file has disappeared.. ;)
I was just going to install this, and now I can't.!
Oddness! Hehe, I think I screwed up when I was updating the instructions. Should be back now - sorry about that. =)
Oblivion Knight
04-20-2004, 12:24 PM
It doesn't appear to be working for me.. :(
I'm using 3.0.1.. The Microstats hack also touches the same area of code in includes/functions.php, but I don't think that's the cause of it. The censor is disabled in the Admin CP, and tested on my account to enable the censor option - and the words are still visible uncensored..
Any ideas?
Good work tjdrico. I don't have VB3 yet (plan to upgrade in the next week or so) so it will be nice not to have to rehack this one. Thanks for giving me credit for the idea. Looks like you have managed to take yours a step further and get it to work with titles as well. Looks good. I will install for sure when I upgrade.
tjdrico
04-20-2004, 04:13 PM
Thanks 006, but there was absolutely zero extra effort involved in getting it to work with titles as well as thread bodies. The way the replacements system works, the entire page seems to be fed through the filter before it's sent to the browser, so it's always likely to catch everything. I may be wrong there, but it seems that way.
It could present a problem if a forum used a, image URL or something that matches part of the replaced text - users with the censorship turned on would end up with missing images. =)
tjdrico
04-20-2004, 04:17 PM
It doesn't appear to be working for me.. :(
I'm using 3.0.1.. The Microstats hack also touches the same area of code in includes/functions.php, but I don't think that's the cause of it. The censor is disabled in the Admin CP, and tested on my account to enable the censor option - and the words are still visible uncensored..
Any ideas?
This hack doesn't use the vBulletin censorship system at all, so that would make no difference at all whether it's on or off. To get words filtered or replaced using this hack you must enter each one into the Replacement Variables system. It's a bit of a pain if you have a long list of words, but it is flexible and means that rather than have just asterisks (as with the vB censorship system) you can replace one word with another. For example, m*therf**ker could be replaced by muddyfunster.
I can't think of a reason why it wouldn't be working for you off the top of my head. I haven't upgraded my forum to 3.0.1 yet, nor do I have Microstats applied. All I can say is it "should work" if you've followed the instructions correctly, to the best of my knowledge.
If anyone else has had problems installing this, I'd be grateful to hear about it.
Oblivion Knight
04-20-2004, 04:22 PM
Ahh.. I thought it used the forum's censored words and bypassed the off switch.
My apologies.. I'm not with it at the moment.! ;)
Unfortunately, doing it via replacements censors "ass" in password for example.. Bah, it's a nice idea - but not quite what I wanted.
I just remembered why I disabled it for titles. The fact that, like Obliviaon Knight said, parts of words are censored, such as "ass." That's the same problem I ran into. No worries though. it's still better than the permanent *** censor. I will install this later tonight when I get home from work. :)
tjdrico
04-21-2004, 01:54 PM
Hehe, fair comment. Where I live, "ass" is more likely to mean donkey than buttocks, so I don't even regard it as a candidate for censorship.
However, if it posed a problem, an administrator should be able to get round it by using 3 replacements. For example:
1. ass -> donkey
This has the undesired side-effect of changing password to "pdonkeyword" and "class" to "cldonkey". The abomination of "class" means that a lot of the CSS stuff up. However, if the admin also includes:
2. cldonkey -> class
3. pdonkeyword -> password
Then everything's fine. "ass password" gets rendered as "donkey password", and all the class= definitions in the source are also correct.
Whether an admin can be bothered to add a couple of extra replacements to "correct" any such problems really depends on how important the optional censorship is.
Eternal2u
04-25-2004, 07:27 AM
This is a very nice hack, i myself find it EXTREMLY aggrvating that i have to view edited ++++ even though i like to curse myself, therby not really caring if others do as well..
Curll
05-01-2004, 11:13 PM
How do I turn on filtering by default to my registered users?
zsmom
05-04-2004, 05:11 AM
It doesn't appear to be working for me either and I went back and double, and triple-checked that I followed the instructions correctly. I also have 3.0.1 and Microstats installed, not sure if there's a correlation or not. It just censors words for everyone, regardless of the setting in their control panel.
I'd love to use this, we have a few potty mouths (me included) and a few others quite the opposite and this would be perfect!
tjdrico
05-05-2004, 06:46 PM
How do I turn on filtering by default to my registered users?
You can do this by using the following SQL instead of the line in the instructions:
ALTER TABLE user ADD usereplacementscensor TINYINT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0' AFTER pmunread;
If you have already added this new column, you can set all the existing users to use the censorship by default using this:
ALTER TABLE user ALTER COLUMN usereplacementscensor SET DEFAULT '1';
UPDATE user SET usereplacementscensor=1;
This will set everyone to be using the censorship filter, and make it the default for all new users. Anyone that had it turned off will have to turn it off again if they want it that way.
tjdrico
05-05-2004, 06:48 PM
It doesn't appear to be working for me either and I went back and double, and triple-checked that I followed the instructions correctly. I also have 3.0.1 and Microstats installed, not sure if there's a correlation or not. It just censors words for everyone, regardless of the setting in their control panel.
I'd love to use this, we have a few potty mouths (me included) and a few others quite the opposite and this would be perfect!
I'm not sure about this as I don't have Microstats installed. If you give me a link ti the appropriate release thread I'll take a look at installing it and see if I can work out what the problem is.
zetetic
05-08-2004, 04:41 PM
I'm interested in this hack, but I'm brand new to vB3 and a bit put off by the caveat that use of the replacements system in this way might preclude its use in other ways. I guess I'm asking what potential I lose by using this, since I'm not really sure what else I would use replacements for.
Thanks!
tjdrico
05-11-2004, 11:58 AM
I'm interested in this hack, but I'm brand new to vB3 and a bit put off by the caveat that use of the replacements system in this way might preclude its use in other ways. I guess I'm asking what potential I lose by using this, since I'm not really sure what else I would use replacements for.
Thanks!
Well, if you have to ask, you're probably not likely to be affected. =) I haven't yet had any use for replacements, but you could use them to... um... alter the pages in some way. e.g. replacing "<body " with "<body onLoad=..." -- that's something you could do with templates though. Or, say, "someword" with one of those "sponsored links" things. I don't know what else people use the replacements for generally.
I put the caveat in there really as I'm sure some people use the replacements for various purposes, but in general I think most people would be fine using them to implement a censorship hack.
zetetic
05-11-2004, 01:19 PM
Excellent. I think I'll give it a shot, then. Thanks. :)
I really like the idea of this hack, but as you mentioned in the instructions, some odd errors may appear. I must frankly say that it is really hard to actually think of all the combinations of ( ass = donkey , password = donkeyword ) swearing / non-swearing words. There must be some way to work this out without having to sit and think of hundreds, maybe thousands of combinations? ( yes... norwegian language has a whole lot of swearing )
moonclamp
05-28-2004, 07:16 PM
This is very useful for me as one of my members logs on from work and constantly has pages restricted to her by 'webmarshal' software because of bad language. *installs*
Nice little hack, thanks.
In regards to having part words replaced, you can solve the problem in most cases by using spaces, example:
If you want "ass" replaced with "thingy" for the text to replace put <space>ass<space>
then "password ass glass" would come out as
"password thingy glass" rather than "pthingyword thingy glthingy"
the only time this wouldn't work is if they post the word that's getting replaced as the first word in their post, but it's probally very very rare that would happen.
tjdrico
06-06-2004, 03:43 PM
That's handy to know, Loon, thanks.
I noticed that "parse links in text" was coming out as "pdonkey links in text" on my test forum the other day. =)
forumdude
06-09-2004, 08:07 PM
AAhhh. Awsome! I'll have to seriously consider this when we install vb3.
I briefly read over this and am wondering if there's still a place where you can have words censored for everyone outside of the optional censorship? We sometimes censor outwar links and other various domain names.
tjdrico
06-09-2004, 08:14 PM
You can still use the standard vBulletin censorship system, and those words would be replaced by '**********' as normal.
forumdude
06-09-2004, 08:16 PM
great thanks
FASherman
06-10-2004, 04:29 PM
One more suggestion, if you don't mind...
Instead of using the forum default for "bad words", why not allow users to specify their own list of words that they personally find offensive?
tjdrico
06-10-2004, 04:32 PM
One more suggestion, if you don't mind...
Instead of using the forum default for "bad words", why not allow users to specify their own list of words that they personally find offensive?
I did consider that. In fact, I'm pretty sure that I started doing that as well. I can't remember what changed my mind... It might have been something about not fully understanding how vBulletin slotted together at the time, and not being sure about how to plug in a new page to edit ones own list. I'm more familiar with the code now so I'm sure I could make these changes now. I'll stick it on my list.
forumdude
06-10-2004, 07:47 PM
Has anyone noticed or calculated performace differences of this hack? Will it work on a board using the post cache?
forumdude
07-06-2004, 05:43 PM
Has anyone noticed or calculated performace differences of this hack? Will it work on a board using the post cache?
any updates?
romeshomey
07-20-2004, 07:27 AM
I did consider that. In fact, I'm pretty sure that I started doing that as well. I can't remember what changed my mind... It might have been something about not fully understanding how vBulletin slotted together at the time, and not being sure about how to plug in a new page to edit ones own list. I'm more familiar with the code now so I'm sure I could make these changes now. I'll stick it on my list.
That would be awsome. Thats what I was hoping this would do until I started reading into the posts. I love your VBookie add on..
zetetic
07-24-2004, 03:25 PM
This hack is working fine for me in posts, but it's not censoring titles in forumdisplay or forumhome. Any idea why that might be?
TruthElixirX
10-31-2004, 05:25 PM
It has screwed up my colors/tables..anyone know why?
www.punktek.com
and
www.punktek.com/testboards/
EDIT::What phrase type were the phrases supposed to be? It didn't specify in the instructinos so I made thme global.
tryckj?vel
11-08-2004, 05:38 PM
ok im stuck, i've followed the instructions per the txt file step by step twice now double checked everything each time and i get this error in functions.php:
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING in /home/turbobri/public_html/forums/includes/functions.php on line 1887
which is in reference to this if statement:
// do vBulletin 3 replacement variables
if (!empty($style['replacements']))
{
if (!isset($replacementvars))
{
$replacementvars = unserialize($style['replacements']);
}
I've read through the code, and its not missing any formating that i can find, i've tried both "guest = yes" and the default one as well..
Any ideas?
TwinsForMe
12-10-2004, 12:12 AM
* TwinsForMe clicks install :)
moethelawn
02-04-2005, 10:57 PM
Anyone got this to work with 3.0.6?
Megareus Rex
02-05-2005, 06:19 AM
Hmmm...it works on 3.0.5 for me, moe. I'll see if I can help you :-/
moethelawn
02-05-2005, 12:41 PM
Hmmm...it works on 3.0.5 for me, moe. I'll see if I can help you :-/
I didn't even try it, lol... I was just wondering if it would work with 3.0.6 before I install it, that's all
I didn't know you had this hack >_>...
FASherman
02-14-2005, 05:01 AM
I'd like to see this taken just one step further.
Instead of applying a global forum-wide censor list, let users manage their own individual swear-replace list.
nighteyes
02-14-2005, 01:20 PM
Works fine on 3.06 for me
natez0rz
02-20-2005, 02:50 AM
This would be more useful if it didn't stop you from using replacement variables for anything else. :( I like the idea though.
zetetic
02-27-2005, 04:32 PM
I've noticed a problem with this since we upgraded to 3.0.6.
We don't seem to be able to add a space after a word anymore. For example, replacing 'ass' with '***' would result in '***' when the word ass was found, and '***ert' for the word 'assert'.
However telling it to censor ' ass ' would fix that by only affecting 'ass' alone, not when used as part of another word.
Since the upgrade, the database won't accept words with a space after them.
lefthome
03-09-2005, 11:06 AM
I would like to install this hack. Currently I am using vb 3.06 and will upgrade to vb3.07 this weekend. Does this hack work in vb3.07?
T3MEDIA
03-10-2005, 12:14 PM
has this been updated to not touch anything besides text in forums and pm messages?
I dont want this messing up anything else.
will wait for an answer.
ProperMethodz
03-14-2005, 06:34 PM
RUN SQL (use mySQL or phpMyAdmin etc.):
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALTER TABLE user ADD usereplacementscensor TINYINT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT '1' AFTER pmunread;
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The default value of 1 means that users WILL use the censorship by default unless
they turn it off. If you would prefer it to be OFF by default, then use this
INSTEAD:
ALTER TABLE user ADD usereplacementscensor TINYINT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0' AFTER pmunread;
If you change your mind you can change the default using:
ALTER TABLE user ALTER COLUMN usereplacementscensor SET DEFAULT '1';
(or SET DEFAULT '0' as appropriate).
Hello... I don't believe I have access to run these things with my host. Is there a work around or do I have to have them run this for me?
ProperMethodz
03-19-2005, 01:24 AM
ok im stuck, i've followed the instructions per the txt file step by step twice now double checked everything each time and i get this error in functions.php:
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING in /home/turbobri/public_html/forums/includes/functions.php on line 1887
which is in reference to this if statement:
// do vBulletin 3 replacement variables
if (!empty($style['replacements']))
{
if (!isset($replacementvars))
{
$replacementvars = unserialize($style['replacements']);
}
I've read through the code, and its not missing any formating that i can find, i've tried both "guest = yes" and the default one as well..
Any ideas?
Hello... I'm having the same issue but with a different line refrenced.
I really want to do this thing here... I have been reading the thread the whole night and looking into it... I am really Bawls to the wall right now too so my anticipation is through the roof to make this thing happen.
My biggest issue is that I really have no background with Php, and am pretty lost... PLEASE HELP!
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING in /forum/includes/functions.php on line 2018
BamaStangGuy
07-28-2005, 06:16 AM
Anyway we can get a port to 3.5?
forumdude
07-28-2005, 06:20 AM
I'm wondering if anyone has noticed how this hack effects performance?
BamaStangGuy
07-28-2005, 04:24 PM
Never noticed anything on my end
AllenSam
08-10-2005, 07:13 PM
It would be nice to allow the users to type in their own words that they want censored and what to replace them with. Also, for the "ass/password" thing, couldn't you use {ass} (if you just want just "ass" replaced) and *ass* (if you want anything with "ass" in it replaced), like the vB cencorship option do? It would probably take alot of work though...
csidlernet
08-19-2005, 10:01 AM
sweet this'll be fun!
forumdude
08-19-2005, 08:34 PM
sweet this'll be fun!
Has anyone thought about doing this seperate from the replacements system? I actually use the replacements so I cannot use this hack though I would love to.
Antwerp
09-16-2005, 07:24 PM
I can't get past the mySQL -> ALTER TABLE Either.
It says... Error #1146 WebSite.user doesn't exist.
I'm using 3.0.8 Perhaps that is the problem.
Borgs8472
12-04-2005, 07:52 PM
Anyway we can get a port to 3.5?
Please!
OrangeFlea
10-05-2006, 03:19 PM
Double please.
Antwerp
01-08-2007, 04:27 PM
Still nothing for 3.5 :(
Guess I'll just have to go with this one.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=105209
Centrix
09-03-2007, 11:55 AM
is there a 3.6.x version of this? I hate the normal vbulletin censor where it changes the word in ****** <---- that
Lilyk
11-04-2007, 12:10 PM
Im after this aah!! 3.6.8 though :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.