Log in

View Full Version : Create Style Groups for Style Chooser


Wayne Luke
04-05-2004, 10:00 PM
If you have a lot of style groups added, it can be hard to organize them in the quick style chooser located in the footer of each page. I wanted to provide a visual break between style groups so I came up with this mini modification. It requires 2 file edits and two new minor templates and a minor query.

Create the following templates:

optiongroup_start:

<optgroup label="$optiontitle">


optiongroup_end:

</optgroup>


Next open up includes/functions.php and find:

eval ('$stylesetlist .= "' . fetch_template('option') . '";');
$stylesetlist .= construct_style_options($style['styleid'], $depthmark . '--', false, $quickchooser);


Change that to:

if ($style['userselect'] == 1)
{
eval ('$stylesetlist .= "' . fetch_template('option') . '";');
$stylesetlist .= construct_style_options($style['styleid'], $depthmark . '--', false, $quickchooser);
}
else
{
eval ('$stylesetlist .= "' . fetch_template('optiongroup_start') . '";');
$stylesetlist .= construct_style_options($style['styleid'], $depthmark . '--', false, $quickchooser);
eval ('$stylesetlist .= "' . fetch_template('optiongroup_end') . '";');
}


In admincp/template.php find:

print_yes_no_row($vbphrase['allow_user_selection'], 'userselect', $style['userselect']);


and replace with:

print_yes_no_other_row($vbphrase['allow_user_selection'], 'userselect', 'Option Group', $style['userselect']);


Finally run this query:

ALTER TABLE `style` CHANGE `userselect` `userselect` SMALLINT( 5 ) DEFAULT '1' NOT NULL


This modification is not phrase friendly but you could easily create a phrase for the words "Option Group" used in admincp/template.php and implement it. You can also modify the templates to apply a CSS class and style the option groups to fit your site.

Feel free to modify this to suit your needs.

A demo can be see at www.vbulletinmods.com (http://www.vbulletinmods.com). Just select the style chooser there.

eXtremeTim
04-06-2004, 08:40 PM
Might want to see about caching thoose templates. Seeing as thats making 2 extra queries on your vbulletinmods.com site.

Zachery
04-06-2004, 08:44 PM
All you need to do is add the cached templates

In global.php find


'STANDARD_REDIRECT'
//'board_inactive_warning'
));


change to

'STANDARD_REDIRECT',
'optiongroup_start',
'optiongroup_end'
//'board_inactive_warning'
));


hit save and your done, :) that should work

eXtremeTim
04-06-2004, 08:50 PM
All you need to do is add the cached templates

In global.php find


'STANDARD_REDIRECT'
//'board_inactive_warning'
));


change to

'STANDARD_REDIRECT',
'optiongroup_start',
'optiongroup_end'
//'board_inactive_warning'
));


hit save and your done, :) that should work
I know what all you had todo. I was just informing wayne here that he might want to add that part into the hack and on vbulletinmods.com.

gmarik
04-08-2004, 05:40 PM
Rather much editing...

Lurk
04-13-2004, 01:44 AM
Rather much editing...
is there something i'm doing wrong?
I currently run:
vBadvanced
vBulletin 3.0.0 gold

i keep getting the error:
Parse error: parse error in /home/lurkcorp/public_html/forum/includes/functions.php on line 1864

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: is_browser() in /home/lurkcorp/public_html/forum/global.php on line 59

blubber12
04-24-2004, 10:48 PM
A question or two:)...Do the skins need to be reinstalled after implementing this? And in order to have categories, I would change Option Group to dark, light, etc...? Sorry for not understanding completely

blubber12
04-25-2004, 08:15 PM
ok I've been playing around with this and am clueless :(...When I go to upload a new skin, I do see yes/no/option group. If i choose it to be in option group, I get that name on the chooser, but cant choose it. I'm at a loss, how to set a category and then put the correct skins under it. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

blubber12
04-28-2004, 12:43 AM
Is there any ideas out there...just a direction to point me in :)....I'm ok once i know what i'm doing
Thanks to all

blubber12
05-14-2004, 11:10 PM
any ideas out there

M1th
07-14-2004, 02:35 PM
I've noticed that the optiongroup_start and optiongroup_end arent cached on any pages. Just thought i'd let you know. :)

blubber12
07-19-2004, 01:36 AM
any ideas out there

M1th
07-19-2004, 09:57 AM
You will need to upload the style AGAIN and make it a Child style for the style you've selected to be the category option.