PDA

View Full Version : add a location outside vb to wol !


corsacrazy
03-23-2004, 08:13 AM
im looking to add every page in another folder not in forums directory to the whos online page of vb.. is this possle ?

NTLDR
03-23-2004, 10:23 AM
You'll need to require global.php in each of the files and then edit includes/functions_online.php too add the files names and location names.

corsacrazy
03-23-2004, 12:17 PM
You'll need to require global.php in each of the files and then edit includes/functions_online.php too add the files names and location names.
advice taken :) cheers

corsacrazy
03-23-2004, 12:36 PM
how do i include ot functions online ? shall i put the full path ie /home/corsacrazy/directoryfile.php/

or another way?

NTLDR
03-23-2004, 01:13 PM
chdir('/path/to/forums');
require_once('./global.php');
require_once('./includes/functions_online.php')


You don't need to require functions_online.php in your pages unless you are using the functions on that page. It just needs to be edited for the pages to appear with titles etc on online.php/member.php

glo
03-23-2004, 09:34 PM
can it be done so that each page does not have to be renamed .php?
and so that each location is identified by page name?

NTLDR
03-23-2004, 09:46 PM
Note sure I follow. The page can have any extension as long as its parsed as PHP (for example I use .ts3 and .core on my sites). All the pages are detemined by the script name.

glo
03-25-2004, 09:47 AM
Hi NTLDR,

I can see from your last post that it doesnt have to be a .php file extension which is good.

How is the page name identified?

And how do we ensure that the code is being parsed properly, as i only intend on using it with html code.

Thanks in advance.

ryancooper
05-21-2004, 04:36 PM
Hi NTLDR,


I can see from your last post that it doesnt have to be a .php file extension which is good.

How is the page name identified?

And how do we ensure that the code is being parsed properly, as i only intend on using it with html code.

Thanks in advance.
I am a little confused so i put

<php>
chdir('/path/to/forums');
require_once('./global.php');
require_once('./includes/functions_online.php') </php>

into my html page . . . then what do i need to ad to the functions?

ryancooper
05-23-2004, 01:00 AM
OK got this up and running but one question when a guest is viewing the page it says viewing forum home with a error message and the location is /

But when a member is on hte apge it works fine some of the time. Other times I get the same as above?

Any suggestions?

This is what i have in the php
<?php

require_once('./global.php');

?>
it is in the same directory as the forums so I don;t need the chdir('/path/to/forums');

thanks ;)

apokphp
08-13-2004, 07:21 AM
What is the sample code to put into the /functions_online.php ? I tried to use what was there as a "template" for the code....but nothing seemed to work.

My page is a .php page.

Let's say the page is: www.mysite.com/test/index.php

How can I get that index page to show upon the WOL when the forums are located at:
www.mysite.com/forums/ ?