PDA

View Full Version : Forum Jump in Navbar


NTLDR
03-13-2004, 10:00 PM
This adds a dropdown menu on the navbar which contains all the links found in the forumjump that apears on certain pages. Note the forumjump must be enabled in the ACP for this to work. See the attached screenshot.

In your phpinclude_start template OR in global.php (if you have lots of styles you may want to do one edit to global.php instead of editing styles) after:


$logincode = construct_login_code();


Add (or place in the phpinclude_start template, do one or the other):


$donavjump = true;
construct_forum_jump();
$navjump = $forumjump;
unset($donavjump, $forumjump, $jumpforumbits, $optionselected, $usecategories, $jumpforumid, $jumpforumtitle, $curforumid, $daysprune, $defaultselected);


Replace the contents of your forumjump template with:


<if condition="$GLOBALS['donavjump']">
<!-- navjump menu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="navjump_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[site_areas]</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]forumid=cp">$vbphrase[user_control_panel]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]forumid=pm">$vbphrase[private_messages]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]forumid=subs">$vbphrase[subscriptions]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]forumid=wol">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]forumid=search">$vbphrase[search_forums]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]forumid=home">$vbphrase[forums_home]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[forums]</td></tr>
$jumpforumbits
</table>
</div>
<!-- / navjump menu -->
<else />
<div class="smallfont" style="text-align:$stylevar[left]; white-space:nowrap">
<form action="forumdisplay.php" method="get">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="daysprune" value="$daysprune" />
<strong>$vbphrase[forum_jump]</strong><br />
<select name="f" onchange="this.form.submit();">
<optgroup label="$vbphrase[site_areas]">
<option value="-1" $defaultselected>$vbphrase[please_select_one]</option>
<option value="cp" $frmjmpsel[usercp]>$vbphrase[user_control_panel]</option>
<option value="pm" $frmjmpsel[pm]>$vbphrase[private_messages]</option>
<option value="subs" $frmjmpsel[subs]>$vbphrase[subscriptions]</option>
<option value="wol" $frmjmpsel[wol]>$vbphrase[whos_online]</option>
<option value="search" $frmjmpsel[search]>$vbphrase[search_forums]</option>
<option value="home" $frmjmpsel[home]>$vbphrase[forums_home]</option>
<option value="-1">--------------------</option>
</optgroup>
<optgroup label="$vbphrase[forums]">
$jumpforumbits
</optgroup>
</select>$gobutton
</form>
</div>
</if>


Replace the contents of your option template with:


<if condition="$GLOBALS['donavjump']">
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]forumid=$optionvalue">$optiontitle</a></td></tr>
<else />
<option value="$optionvalue" class="$optionclass" $optionselected>$optiontitle</option>
</if>


In your navbar template add:


<if condition="$vboptions['useforumjump']">
<td id="navjump" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#navjump">$vbphrase[forum_jump]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navjump"); </script></td>
</if>

Where you want the link to the forum jump to appear.

Still in the navbar template add:


<if condition="$vboptions['useforumjump']">
$GLOBALS[navjump]
</if>


Before:


<!-- / NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->

corsacrazy
03-14-2004, 05:53 PM
will it still include forums that we have hidden via acp?

NTLDR
03-14-2004, 06:35 PM
It shows exactly what you would see in the forum jump select menu.

sabret00the
03-14-2004, 07:40 PM
not bad at all, i was baffled before i saw the screenie, but it looks good, nice work :)

M.C.
03-14-2004, 11:38 PM
thanks, gonna try this one ;)

alkatraz
03-15-2004, 07:20 AM
awesome hack!!

the3jams
03-15-2004, 06:38 PM
Thanks for fulfilling my request. I knew someone would be able to do it :)

* the3jams clicks install

gmarik
03-15-2004, 06:44 PM
nice one, fella!

DrkFusion
03-16-2004, 12:21 AM
Excellent work! Not many of the users use Forum Jump, but the feedback and usage of it has been phenominal after the installation of this one.

Chris Blount
03-22-2004, 03:27 AM
Works perfectly for me. Thanks!

BarBeQue
04-03-2004, 08:48 PM
I installed the sidebar hack by Dark_Wizard.
Now one of the sidebar menu's will be a forum jump menu. Originally i was gonna hardcode all links in that menu, but this sounds sweet.

Gonna see if i can mod it to work in a sidebar instead of as a navbar menu.
Unless you can tell me what to change, that would be a lot easier ;)

BarBeQue
04-06-2004, 08:46 AM
hmm still no luck moddign it..

If anyone has an idea, please let me know!

Pitman
05-02-2004, 10:00 PM
Is it possible to have sub menus? Like a menu that pop's out of the side of the menu item you roll over, like for sub forums.

NTLDR
05-02-2004, 10:09 PM
Not with vBulletin's menu system.

MentaL
05-03-2004, 10:04 PM
maybe add section support so it doesnt take up whole screen for those with larger sections =P

Polo
06-22-2004, 08:35 PM
What do i need to do to only show parent forums? without the subforums... you see i have alot of sub forums and the list is big... so if anyone knows how to accomplish this please let me know.

PET
06-24-2004, 12:31 AM
I'm wondering how this will look for my boards. I have 110 categoryes :)

Polo
06-24-2004, 12:17 PM
he he, yeah, i know, that is why i asked is there is a way to show only parent categories, i dont even have 50 and my list drops down big time, having to scroll for a while to see the full list.

b4ne
06-28-2004, 10:35 AM
I cannot get the Link to show me all teh forums...

<if condition="$vboptions['useforumjump']">
$GLOBALS[navjump]
</if>

This is the code I need to put into the nav template.... but I dunno where ?

The Link is in the Navbar but If I click on it it doesnt show me the forums

any idea ?

Polo
06-28-2004, 12:18 PM
What do i need to do to only show parent forums? without the subforums?

sv1cec
09-21-2004, 06:37 AM
Nice hack, just installed it.

However, I noticed that it does not evaluate the permissions of the user, in order to show the proper forums. I have a forum which is viewable only by the admin and the mods and it does not show up in the list.

Of course, neither does the normal Forum Jump, but do you have any idea where that forums list is constructed to see if I can alter it to include admin/mod only forums, depending on the user?

Tnx and congrats
---------
John

Lionel
09-25-2004, 04:21 PM
For those of us who have vbadvanced, how do you hardcode the various forums?

cnczone
11-18-2004, 03:53 AM
Where do I place to code in the navbar template????

firstimecaller
12-09-2005, 11:55 AM
any chance of getting this ported to 3.5.x as a plugin?

prettyboi
01-30-2006, 09:57 AM
OMG this is what I have been waiting for. Okay, I understand about the jump forum but is there anyways I can make it to where it just say FORUM instead of Jump Forum?

firstimecaller
01-30-2006, 01:10 PM
just change the link text

edit: to do this, change the
$vbphrase[forum_jump]
with whatever you want it to say

firstimecaller
04-10-2006, 08:48 PM
any chance of getting this ported to 3.5.x as a plugin?
seriously, this is the best implementation of this type of hack I've yet seen. can we get it working for 3.5.x ?

firstimecaller
04-14-2006, 08:56 AM
OK, if you are running 3.5.x, seems this works fine if you use the plugin system to put the phpinclude_start part into a global start hook. This template doesn't exist for 3.5.x

enjoy!

nelto
04-21-2006, 09:14 PM
OK, if you are running 3.5.x, seems this works fine if you use the plugin system to put the phpinclude_start part into a global start hook.
Care to explain this a bit more detailed?

Thank you.

firstimecaller
04-21-2006, 09:39 PM
Care to explain this a bit more detailed?

Thank you.I'll try.

The part that is supposed to go into the phpinclude_start template is:
$donavjump = true;
construct_forum_jump();
$navjump = $forumjump;
unset($donavjump, $forumjump, $jumpforumbits, $optionselected, $usecategories, $jumpforumid, $jumpforumtitle, $curforumid, $daysprune, $defaultselected);
so you take that part and make a new plugin

AdminCP>PluginSystem>Plugin Manager
hit link at bottom of page to add new plugin
Leave product as vBulletin
hook location is global_start
give it a title you can remember, like forum menu
then put all the above code in the code box. the rest of the mod you do just like the rest of the instructions.

This change is necessary because the new plugin system in 3.5.x has removed the php_include templates.

Hope that helps

Yahookan
05-09-2006, 12:55 PM
Thanks, just amended the relevant templates.

Looks great and worked first time even for a relative n00b.

siraxi
06-13-2006, 12:45 AM
Hi

I installed this mod too.

I don't know if it's just the overall style I'm using, but I had to place this code in the header template not in navbar, in order for it to work well.
<if condition="$vboptions['useforumjump']">
<td id="navjump"><a href="#navjump">$vbphrase[forum_jump]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navjump"); </script></td>
</if>
Notice that I removed class="vbmenu_control.

Thanks to all.

imranbaig
11-02-2006, 08:15 AM
is there a version similar to this whcih works for 3.62?

imported_infitech
12-03-2006, 05:19 AM
is there a version similar to this whcih works for 3.62?
BUMP!
3.6.4

ICY ICE
01-02-2007, 05:02 AM
anyone? 3.6.4....

I'm trying to do 3 drop/jump menu's from the Navbar.