Log in

View Full Version : One Step Away From Spellcheck


SpeedStreet
03-11-2004, 10:22 PM
I posted less code then this yesterday...but now I am VERY close to being able to release a hack for integrating ieSpell into vB3.

The problem we are having, is that the new WYSIWYG editor is actually a div, so that programs like ieSpell can't read from it (it needs a textarea).

The code below is supposed to use javascript to replicate the data entered into the wysiwyg editor and place it in a hidden textarea for ieSpell to grab from.

Here is how much I have as of now. I've had some great help from folks like ShAm4n over at DevShed, and I think we are really close to licking this!

Like I said previously, the object here is to replicate the data in a div tag of a WYSIWYG editor so that ieSpell will be able to read from the data and spell check it.

Anyone who cracks this will have a major part in bringing free client side spellchecking to vB3!


PS: If my dream is not possible, please let me know.


Here is the code for the form:
================================================== ====
<script language="javascript">
browsername=navigator.appName;

if (browsername.indexOf("Netscape")!=-1) {
browsername="NS";
} else {
if (browsername.indexOf("Microsoft")!=-1) {
browsername="MSIE";
} else {
browsername="N/A";
}
}

function checkspell() {
try {
var tmpis = new ActiveXObject("ieSpell.ieSpellExtension");
tmpis.CheckAllLinkedDocuments(document);
} catch(exception) {
// nothing
}

}

function spellButton() {
if (browsername=="MSIE") {
try {
var tmpis = new ActiveXObject("ieSpell.ieSpellExtension");
document.write('<input type="button" value="Check Spelling" onclick="checkspell()" class="normal_text">');
tmpis = null;
} catch(exception) {
// nothing
}
}
}

</script>
<script language="JavaScript">spellButton()</script>
================================================== ==============



Here is the code for the form:
================================================== ==============
<!-- This is the existing WYSIWYG code from vB3 -->
<!-- I added the id="message" because I was told to -->
<!-- BEGIN vBCODE -->
<div class="controlbar" id="qrdiv">
<textarea name="message" id="qr_message" class="bginput" style="width:600px; height:100px;" rows="5" cols="60" tabindex="1"></textarea>
<!-- End vBCode -->

<!-- Here is the snippet provided to me -->
<!-- BEGIN SNIPPET -->
<textarea style="display: none" id="message"></textarea>
<script type="javascript">
document.getElementById('message').value = document.getElementById('qr_message').InnerHTML;
</script>
<!-- END SNIPPET -->

<!-- BEGIN vBCODE -->
</div>
<!-- END vBCODE -->
================================================== ================


By all accounts and purposes, I am sure this should work...but it's still giving me the same issues. Can SOMEBODY please help me figure this one out!?

Thanks!

Soholaunch
03-31-2004, 06:41 PM
any progress?

sross
04-08-2004, 07:38 PM
any progress?
also eagerly awaiting this hack :)

joeychgo
04-28-2004, 02:15 AM
Have you abandoned this hack Speedstreet???

sross
04-28-2004, 04:05 AM
hopes and dreams shattered! :( hehe

lucky64
05-28-2004, 12:29 AM
I hope hes still working on it :(