View Full Version : [VB3-RC2] vBRedirect v1.1 - Redirect to external pages with your banner above
JustJonno
03-09-2004, 10:00 PM
What It Does:
This script will provide you with a redirect page for all the links people put on your site using the URL tags.
It opens a new page with your own customisable banner and text on top and the external link opens within a seperate frame setup by the script. Useful if you want users to stay on your site but still check out posted links. All the banner .gif header attributes are setup from within a template so you don't need to go editing php files to change the look of it.
Installation Type:
Installation is easy and will take approx 5 mins when following the install.html included.
Experiance Level: Amature
Install Time: 5 mins
PHP Edit?: No file edits needed, AdminCP access needed.
Support:
Support for this script is available and will be answered either here or On Our Forums (http://forums.bittorrentportal.com/showthread.php?t=2323).
Hope you like my first mod, i normally write full code, not hack other peoples :)
JJ
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
[edit] 11-march-04 01:29 ; Fixed the www and http problem with the links, its recommended you update the redirect.php if you have already installed, or install this again.
draculanowaday
03-10-2004, 01:14 AM
Thanks, I'll try it
dirtymerc
03-10-2004, 01:43 AM
installed, mad some changes, not bad overall, but you should really merge the two cells and make the image be top aligned and left aligned.
JustJonno
03-10-2004, 01:49 AM
installed, mad some changes, not bad overall, but you should really merge the two cells and make the image be top aligned and left aligned.
notice taken :) i'm going to see what other kind of response i get from it and then i'll go about updating it for positions etc..
thanks for the comments so far
JustJonno
Boofo
03-10-2004, 02:10 AM
Can we get a screenshot of what this will look like?
ryancooper
03-10-2004, 10:56 AM
This will be great for my board!
Vb-Hispano
03-10-2004, 01:59 PM
installed
thanks is lol :D:D:D
stonecold1203
03-10-2004, 04:26 PM
Nice hack...
I get this error though
Not Found
The requested URL /forum/www.google.com was not found on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
JustJonno
03-10-2004, 05:13 PM
Nice hack...
I get this error though
Not Found
The requested URL /forum/www.google.com was not found on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
hmmm.. thats strange.. are you sure you copied the templates and phrases across correctly? If you want me to see the error PM me with a link to your forum and i'll take a look
JJ
Fi_InCogNiTo
03-10-2004, 05:49 PM
I get the same. It has to be some sorta bug I think.
When you post an url like this on the forums:
www.clanboard.com
It won't work. It will add a / in front and look for /www.clanboard.com
But if you post the url as:
http://www.clanboard.com
It works fine.
You can test it on my board: www.pc-nerd.com
I looked over some code. Looks like this code in functions_bbcodeparse.php may be a prob or not?
if ($type == 'url')
{
// standard URL hyperlink
return "<a href=\"$rightlink\" target=\"_blank\">$text</a>";
}
Also, when you click"Click HERE to go back to the post" it takes you back to the last page you looked at if you visit links inside the new page. It only takes you back to the post if you don't visit any links inside the new page.
See attached screenshot for the /www error.
JustJonno
03-10-2004, 09:08 PM
I looked over some code. Looks like this code in functions_bbcodeparse.php may be a prob or not?
This shouldn't cause a problem if you remembered to turn off the LINKS statement in vB Options/BB Code Settings..
As for the http:// problem, i'm on that and will upload an update zip and a new version tomorrow morning after strenuous bug testing and time test.. (beer and a sleep :P )
JJ
stonecold1203
03-10-2004, 09:38 PM
hmmm.. thats strange.. are you sure you copied the templates and phrases across correctly? If you want me to see the error PM me with a link to your forum and i'll take a look
JJ
Yes i copied them exactly. I'll give them another try though.
stonecold1203
03-10-2004, 09:45 PM
Didn't work..
Could it be because my forum directory is /forum instead of /forums
Fi_InCogNiTo
03-10-2004, 10:34 PM
@stonecold1203:
As for the http:// problem, i'm on that and will upload an update zip and a new version tomorrow morning after strenuous bug testing and time test.. (beer and a sleep :P )
JJ
It's not you. It's a bug and he's workin on it ;)
stonecold1203
03-10-2004, 10:40 PM
I didn't know if i had a http:// problem
But i read his post ;)
alkatraz
03-11-2004, 07:38 PM
fantastic idea! thank you
JustJonno
03-12-2004, 12:25 AM
Thanks for all your support so far guys, makes me feel good as this is my first hack :)
I'm going to be working on a hack to import the IP ranges from peerguardian if anyone wants to help me with login/sessions issues? this is going to be quite a hack if i can get it to work :P
Thanks again guys, i'll keep updating this hack and providing support if needed..
JJ
gmarik
03-12-2004, 03:30 PM
Nice one
Okiewan
03-12-2004, 09:24 PM
Nice hack, very useful!
Only issue is when linking to a post (for example) within the forum itself...
Anyway to apply this to only external links?
Okiewan
03-12-2004, 10:12 PM
Problem...
Installing this hack will blow-up vbadvanced homepage (the layout).
It has something to do with the custom BB codes.
Removing the bbcodes will of course leave all links posted in threads messed-up.
Pikok
03-14-2004, 05:57 AM
Nice hack, very useful!
Only issue is when linking to a post (for example) within the forum itself...
Anyway to apply this to only external links?
In redirect.php find:if ($rdr == '')
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_redirect'));
}And Replace With:// Get Host Name From URL
preg_match("/^(http:\/\/)?([^\/]+)/i", $rdr, $matches);
$hostname = $matches[2];
if ($hostname=='www.domain.net')
{
$url = $rdr;
eval(print_standard_redirect('Redirecting...',0));
}
else if ($rdr == '')
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_redirect'));
}
Change $hostname to yours and that should work for you.
JustJonno
03-15-2004, 02:57 PM
Problem...
Installing this hack will blow-up vbadvanced homepage (the layout).
It has something to do with the custom BB codes.
Removing the bbcodes will of course leave all links posted in threads messed-up.
There is another way to set this up, instead of using the [url] directive, use something like [ext] and then make sure the editor's javascript for links points to [ext] instead of [url] that way the in-built [url] directives still work for vbadvanced homepage :)
JJ
Andreas
07-17-2004, 09:11 PM
!!! Security Warning !!!
This hack has a major Vulnerability!
The author has been informed to take apropriate steps to fix this.
In the meanwhile, I strongly recommend to uninstall this hack.
!!! Security Warning !!!
Boofo
07-17-2004, 09:16 PM
What's the vulberability? Might be nice to know.
Silverstangs
08-29-2004, 03:51 AM
Has the security issue been resolved?
rinkrat
09-05-2004, 07:20 AM
I installed this then took it out and now my original url redirect doesn't work. Can someone tell me what the original bbcode for url is supposed to be?
THanks!!
rinkrat
09-05-2004, 03:20 PM
anyone? How do I set it to parse the urls like normal?
airaffair
09-24-2004, 04:11 PM
!!! Security Warning !!!
This hack has a major Vulnerability!
The author has been informed to take apropriate steps to fix this.
In the meanwhile, I strongly recommend to uninstall this hack.
!!! Security Warning !!!
Would like to know what the issue is and if the code "can" or can "not" be secured and if so how?
I mean...I like the fact that you found this security hole - but is it something you could tell/share with the rest of us? maybe we could even fix it ourselves?
SamirDarji
09-28-2004, 09:51 PM
I'm using this hack on my link forums and want to have the breadcrumb in the upper frame. How do I get the variables to pass? I just keep getting the variable names. What other php files would I need?
The only reason I'll want to do it is if the link forums also have a variable for the forum name. Then I can make a nav bar in the upper frame similar to those on regular forums with the corresponding forum name of the link. If that variable doesn't exist, then I can't do what I want and I'll just use the hardcoded html one that I'm going to work on right now. Someone give me some insight please.
mgold
10-01-2004, 02:45 PM
page http://www.securityrelease.com/showthread.php?p=23#post23
just click the link or any other link on the forum
error:
Warning: main(./global.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in D:\securityrelease\forums\redirect.php on line 40
Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required './global.php' (include_path='.;c:\php4\pear') in D:\securityrelease\forums\redirect.php on line 40
I turned it off while its not working but what could the error be?
Gutspiller
11-02-2004, 03:32 AM
Does the frame stay open so that your banner is viewable while the person is browsing the other site, or is it only open for a second while its redirecting and then disappears?
SamirDarji
11-03-2004, 04:22 PM
Check out an example here: http://www.huntsvillecarscene.com/redirect.php?uri=http://teamtac.org/cgi-bin/index.cgi?action=forum&board=
I've modified it to use with redirecting Link forums, but it works the exact same way.
Has this been fixed ( security hole and all ? )
:)
Aaron RV
09-03-2006, 05:58 PM
Possible redirect to external pages whit a new window for vb 3.6?
murrtex
10-07-2006, 10:44 PM
yes is there any 3.6.x
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.