View Full Version : Disable Automatically parse links in text
Sonic625
02-27-2004, 03:09 PM
I am looking for the files that need to be modified to disable the auto parse urls for everyone.
Thanks,
S
NTLDR
02-27-2004, 03:19 PM
You need to edit the newthread and newreply templates.
Andreas
02-27-2004, 03:24 PM
In functions_newpost.php FIND
function convert_url_to_bbcode($messagetext)
{ // the auto parser - adds [url] tags around neccessary things
BELOW that ADD
return $messagetext;
This will disable autoparsing of URLs everywhere.
@NTLDR
This would not stop ppl from using autoparsing, if would just hide the controls (or uncheck it).
And what about private messages? Editing posts?
Sonic625
02-27-2004, 03:24 PM
You need to edit the newthread and newreply templates.
ok thanks, I found that just a second ago from the vB2 threads :
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=46244&highlight=parse+URLS
But it is coded differently so far I havent been able to find out what the code needs to be to select unchecked.
Thanks,
S
Sonic625
02-27-2004, 03:29 PM
Just figured it out:
In the newreply.php find:
if (!isset($checked['parseurl']))
{
$checked['parseurl'] = HTML_CHECKED;
}
and remove it.
In editpost.php find:
if (!$checked['parseurl'])
{
$checked['parseurl'] = HTML_CHECKED;
}
and remove it
In newthread.php find:
if (!$checked['parseurl'])
{
$checked['parseurl'] = HTML_CHECKED;
}
and remove it
Thanks,
S
SloppyGoat
03-24-2004, 05:47 PM
I'm looking to do something similar, but I only want one specific forum not to autoparse. Can this be done somehow?
Byron
06-08-2004, 07:34 PM
would be nice if we have an option in admin for this.
EricaJoy
06-23-2005, 05:00 PM
really huge bump...has anybody ever gotten a forum based solution for this? would
if forumid=y
then disable (maybe comment out?) if (!$checked['parseurl'])
{
$checked['parseurl'] = HTML_CHECKED;
} work?
please go easy on the above, i stopped trying to code anything after my 2nd object oriented programming class.
SloppyGoat
06-23-2005, 07:30 PM
really huge bump...
You ain't kidding! I can't even use the new version until this is resolved. I'm still using 2.3.0 until this can be done. I don't even have a test board installed at the moment. Please let me know if you get it figured out. I would love to upgrade to the new version. This is biggest thing rendering 3.x unusable for me. :angry:
Marco van Herwaarden
06-24-2005, 03:31 AM
This is a very old thread, and i am not sure if this will work on 3.0.7.
But i suggest you start a new thread telling us exactly what you want to achieve, and we can think of a solution.
@sloppygoat, disabling url parsing should not be a real problem if that is what you need.
SloppyGoat
06-24-2005, 03:41 AM
I did that a long time ago. Disabling can be done, but has anyone been able to disable it in only one forum?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=59701
Apparently, from what I was told, it was going to be impossible to disable it in the WYSIWYG editor. :ermm:
JJH35
07-23-2005, 03:26 AM
works like a charm thanks
SloppyGoat
11-02-2006, 12:56 AM
Bumpety Bump BUMP!!!
SloppyGoat
11-06-2006, 10:38 AM
A good friend of mine solved this problem. As long as you're not using the WYSIWYG editor. This will disable autoparsing in the forum of your choice. Just change the forum id to whichever you like.
editpost.php
line 224...
replace: $edit['parseurl'] = true;
with: $edit['parseurl'] = ($foruminfo['forumid'] != 19)
line 245...
replace: $edit['parseurl'] =& $vbulletin->GPC['parseurl'];
with: $edit['parseurl'] = ($vbulletin->GPC['parseurl'] AND $foruminfo['forumid'] != 19);
line 268...
replace: $dataman->set_info('parseurl', ($foruminfo['allowbbcode'] AND $edit['parseurl']));
with: $dataman->set_info('parseurl', ($foruminfo['allowbbcode'] AND $edit['parseurl'] AND $foruminfo['forumid'] != 19));
newreply.php
line 340...
replace: $newpost['parseurl'] = ($foruminfo['allowbbcode'] AND $vbulletin->GPC['parseurl']);
with: $newpost['parseurl'] = ($foruminfo['allowbbcode'] AND $vbulletin->GPC['parseurl'] AND $foruminfo['forumid'] != 19);
newthread.php
line 154...
replace: $newpost['parseurl'] = ($foruminfo['allowbbcode'] AND $vbulletin->GPC['parseurl']);
with: $newpost['parseurl'] = ($foruminfo['allowbbcode'] AND $vbulletin->GPC['parseurl'] AND $foruminfo['forumid'] != 19);
SloppyGoat
11-11-2006, 01:37 AM
Nobody is as excited about this as I am?! I mean, this works great! I'd release it as a hack, if it were mine. But it's his code, and he doesn't even run a vB forum. ;)
yui333
12-06-2006, 10:36 AM
Nobody is as excited about this as I am?! I mean, this works great! I'd release it as a hack, if it were mine. But it's his code, and he doesn't even run a vB forum. ;)
Thanks man! This helps a lot :)
Just figured it out:
In the newreply.php find:
if (!isset($checked['parseurl']))
{
$checked['parseurl'] = HTML_CHECKED;
}
and remove it.
In editpost.php find:
if (!$checked['parseurl'])
{
$checked['parseurl'] = HTML_CHECKED;
}
and remove it
In newthread.php find:
if (!$checked['parseurl'])
{
$checked['parseurl'] = HTML_CHECKED;
}
and remove it
Thanks,
S
Thank you..
Ok, code have changed in 3.6 in editpost.php and newthread.php
Here is what you have to do..
In editpost.php find:
$checked['parseurl'] = 'checked="checked"';
and delete it.
in newthread.php find:
if (!isset($checked['parseurl']))
{
$checked['parseurl'] = 'checked="checked"';
}
And delete it..
The newreply.php code did not change, so just do like you did before.
but how can I disable it in quick reply? :( it works with all except that :(
Hendrizius
07-12-2007, 12:18 AM
Thanks man! This helps a lot :)
Thank you..
Ok, code have changed in 3.6 in editpost.php and newthread.php
Here is what you have to do..
In editpost.php find:
and delete it.
in newthread.php find:
And delete it..
The newreply.php code did not change, so just do like you did before.
but how can I disable it in quick reply? :( it works with all except that :(
Same problem.
troybtj
07-16-2008, 04:58 PM
I just disabled it globally in 3.6.7 via class_bbcode_alt.php this is against the basic concepts that the 3.x series tried to fix, but it works.
This fixes both quick reply, wysiwyg, and a standard reply.
This is just URLs in class_bbcode_alt.php
Find:
function handle_bbcode_url($text, $link)
{
Add immediately after opening brace:
// Added to stop autolinking by troy
return $text;
This is just images in class_bbcode_alt.php
Find:
function handle_bbcode_img($bbcode, $do_imgcode, $has_img_code = false)
{
Add:
//added to stop autolinking by troy
return $bbcode;
Immediately after the opening brace for the image function.
You could put conditionals in for forums, but getting that information would be a bit/lot more difficult compared to changing it in templates. Make sure and add the comment line with something you can search for (like your name), so you can remove it on upgrade.
Is there an easier way to do it in 3.6.7 ?
irantk
06-16-2011, 03:25 PM
I disabled all of item but can't disable in quick edit post. when edit quick post and save this function is enable
please help me
BirdOPrey5
06-16-2011, 03:54 PM
This thread is 7 years old and multiple things were suggested...
1) What are you trying to do?
2) What did you do already?
3) What version of vBulletin are you using?
irantk
06-16-2011, 07:49 PM
thank you
I want the following option to disable by default :
"Automatically parse links in text"
I have edit the following templates and changed "vb:raw checked.parseurl" to "vb:raw unchecked.parseurl" :
editpost
newreply
newpoll
newthread
pm_newpm
In all the above options, this option was disabled by default.
But that is still active in quick editing and quick reply and I want to disable them too.
my vbulletin version is 4.1.4
BirdOPrey5
06-16-2011, 08:09 PM
OK I haven't tested this but it should work...
Edit your SHOWTHREAD template...
find the line:
<input type="hidden" name="parseurl" value="1" />
and change the "1" to a "0" (zero).
irantk
06-16-2011, 09:40 PM
thank
I changed it but don't resolve my problem. when click on edit button and then click save automatic enabled link in text :(
BirdOPrey5
06-16-2011, 11:52 PM
Yeah that was for quick reply, I wasn't looking at quick edit. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a template solution for quick-edit.
It's looking to me you need to edit the file: editpost.php
Find the line:
$edit['parseurl'] = true;
and change true to false. This happens to be line 274 for my version of VB4, it may be a little different for you.
I haven't tested this but it looks like it should work. If it doesn't, change it back.
irantk
06-17-2011, 06:38 AM
I do not have this option "$edit['parseurl'] = true;" in editpost.php.
I think a quick edit and quick reply is in another template but I not found!
BirdOPrey5
06-17-2011, 10:00 AM
I do not have this option "$edit['parseurl'] = true;" in editpost.php.
I think a quick edit and quick reply is in another template but I not found!
I have confirmed $edit['parseurl'] = true; is on line 276 in editpost.php file on vBulletin 4.1.2 which is the latest version I have access to.
If it was removed in 4.1.4 then there is nothing else I can suggest. I've checked the templates in 4.0.8 and the parse links in the quick-editor is not controlled by a template.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.