PDA

View Full Version : Glowing Usernames in postbit


Dataforce
02-25-2004, 10:00 PM
Adapted from here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=34319&highlight=glow+hack)

**NO SUPPORT GIVEN**
**USE AT YOUR OWN RISK**

=======

This has been tested, and works on VB3 RC4

Works on Internet Explorer based browsers
does NOT work on Mozilla Firefox (at least not for me)

not sure about other browsers.

=======
Enjoy

-DF

Souli
02-26-2004, 12:52 PM
:tired:
in vb3 you do not need to hack the functions_showthread.php

use conditions directly in the templates postbit

eg:

<if condition="$post['usergroupid'] == 6">
<table style="filter:glow(color=red, strength=6)"><tr><td><font class="bigusername" color="white"><b>$post[username]</b></font></td></tr></table>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


and after it create two new custum-userfields and give the users an option to selelct the two colors ;)

eg:

<if condition="$post['usergroupid'] == 6">
<table style="filter:glow(color=$bbuserinfo['field29'], strength=6)"><tr><td><font class="bigusername" color="$bbuserinfo['field30']"><b>$post[username]</b></font></td></tr></table>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>

$bbuserinfo['field29'] and $bbuserinfo['field30'] are my fieldnumbers

Dataforce
02-26-2004, 02:14 PM
as I said it was adapted from the VB2 version which i had used, so i had just taken it directly from my VB2 board, and changed it to work.

atm I'm just doing quick conversion for my old VB2 hacks to VB3 for my members so i'm pretty much following the origonal VB2 instructions but changing the code for VB3

ye your way is more efficient, but my way works - when i come to upgrade my board again I will convert it to use your method.

I would do it now, but i got some other hacks that i need to finish converting

Schorsch
02-26-2004, 02:57 PM
do you have a screenshot of the glowing?

Dataforce
02-26-2004, 03:37 PM
Attatched Screenshot showing Blue Glow, it shows the same apart from colour for all the other glows.

rinkrat
02-26-2004, 04:38 PM
Is there a way that I can only have people with a reputation over 50,000 have the glow?

Sonic625
02-26-2004, 11:25 PM
Or perhaps a way to limit it to a certain group?
Thanks,
S

Dataforce
02-27-2004, 09:45 AM
Sonic625 it is limited per group, you choose which groups have what coloured glow.

rinkrat sure, just change teh if statement to check the reputation rather than the usergroupid - I don't ahve reputation enabled on my forum so i dunno what the reputation variable is.

Allan
02-27-2004, 10:01 AM
i take, thank ;)

Spacey
02-27-2004, 07:06 PM
Souli,

Could you post EXACTLY what to do there please!!! im a Hack noob and have no idea where to put those lines of code on my postbit template...

Thank man :)

Dataforce
02-28-2004, 10:21 PM
look for the bit with

$post[musername]

in it, and replace that word with whats above

2k zq8
03-09-2004, 02:16 AM
Can this be adapted such that the users listed in the 'Currently Active Users' box be identified by color as well... according to user group.

What template would I change for this? What would I need to add?

Thanks :)

Gizmo
03-09-2004, 03:30 PM
It gives a good effect :)
Thanx for your work :)

NameWolf
03-10-2004, 01:05 PM
Thank you. Nice Hack. *Installed*

Cyricx
03-10-2004, 04:55 PM
I'll help a bit :)

My users seems to love playing Title Wars with each other.

So, I took this code and adapted it a bit with some help from peeps.

If you want to give them a secondary title (not the one under the Username).

<if condition="is_member_of($post, 31)"><div style="width:100%; color:white; filter:Glow(color=white, strength=4)">Insert your Title</div></if>

You want to replace the 31 with the usergroup of your choice. And replace the color and strength inside the glow's ().

You can insert those in the postbit_legacy or postbit.

If you have multiple usergroups that you want to have the secondary titles, just do multiple lines of the same code above. :) It'll work. :)

Just thought, I'll help a bit. :) Since it is an adaption of the code given. :)

Cyricx

Mr. Brian
03-31-2004, 10:06 PM
Thanks for sharing.. :)

MentaL
04-08-2004, 11:50 PM
fanx dataforce lol

SmEdD
04-22-2004, 02:10 AM
Have any of you looked at the usergroup options? Take a look and you maybe suprised you can enter the code THERE!

Blaminator
05-04-2004, 06:13 PM
Just to let y'all know, this dont work if you have petz v2 installed :S

94DROPTOPZ
05-19-2004, 11:28 PM
I just want to change this to glowing text for admins and mods, so how do I just put this in the usergroup options????

Merjawy
06-02-2004, 07:09 PM
Have any of you looked at the usergroup options? Take a look and you maybe suprised you can enter the code THERE!
:) yep yep

Prince
06-04-2004, 03:42 AM
no it doesn't.

Malacia
06-08-2004, 04:44 PM
no it doesn't.
Cant seem to get this hack to work. I have followed the instructions excactly. I am using vB 3.0.1. Anyone know how to get it to work with this?

kikosho
06-24-2004, 12:06 PM
:tired:
in vb3 you do not need to hack the functions_showthread.php

use conditions directly in the templates postbit

eg:

<if condition="$post['usergroupid'] == 6">
<table style="filter:glow(color=red, strength=6)"><tr><td><font class="bigusername" color="white"><b>$post[username]</b></font></td></tr></table>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>


and after it create two new custum-userfields and give the users an option to selelct the two colors ;)

eg:

<if condition="$post['usergroupid'] == 6">
<table style="filter:glow(color=$bbuserinfo['field29'], strength=6)"><tr><td><font class="bigusername" color="$bbuserinfo['field30']"><b>$post[username]</b></font></td></tr></table>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>

$bbuserinfo['field29'] and $bbuserinfo['field30'] are my fieldnumbers


Where exactly do you post these two new additions in the postbit?

Raptor
07-17-2004, 03:17 PM
you dont need to hack anything

admin panel > usergroups > usergroup manager

edit the usergroup you want to change

username html markup there are two boxes

this is what I add....

1st box

<b><table style="filter:glow(color=orange, strength=6)">

2nd box

</table></b>

erm thats it guys ;) (using vb 3.03)

94DROPTOPZ
07-17-2004, 03:51 PM
you dont need to hack anything

admin panel > usergroups > usergroup manager

edit the usergroup you want to change

username html markup there are two boxes

this is what I add....

1st box

<b><table style="filter:glow(color=orange, strength=6)">

2nd box

</table></b>

erm thats it guys ;) (using vb 3.03)

Thank you very much, this is what I was looking for... :nervous:

94DROPTOPZ
07-17-2004, 11:38 PM
I did this and now it messes up my "Who's online"...

It double stacks the glowing usernames

M?uschen
12-19-2004, 12:10 PM
I did this and now it messes up my "Who's online"...

It double stacks the glowing usernames


I have the same problem. Can anyone help? :(

M?uschen.

Carnage
01-17-2005, 09:07 AM
can't you just use the usergroup html markup options?