PDA

View Full Version : Addon: Custom Midi/Mp3 for each Arcade Page in Johns V3 Arcade Mod.


BlackxRam
02-15-2004, 10:00 PM
This is a simple template modification with will play a different Midi file on each page in John's V3arcade.

I made this because some flash games come without music on them and i know sometimes playing a game in this arcade with no background sound can be really annoying. So I made this so i can have a MIDI/MP3 playing in the background that sounds like it goes with the Flash Game.

People will always be able to turn it off incase they dont want to listen to the music.

So Here is the little modification:

Step 1:

First you want to look for the Midis or Mp3's you wish to play during certain games. Find the games you want to have Midi files to play and name them exactly the name of the Flash Game Name. If your game was "asteroids", name the file "asteroids" .mid or .mp3 or whatever.

Upload these files into a folder called media in your images/arcade folder in your forums directory.

Step 2: Easy Code Addition

In the arcade_play template find this line. There are 2 instances of it.

<td class="thead" colspan="2"><span class="smallfont">$thisGame[title]</span>

After that place this code:

<br><object
id="mediaPlayer"
classid="CLSID:22D6F312-B0F6-11D0-94AB-0080C74C7E95"
codebase="http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cab#Version=5,1,52,701"
standby="Loading Microsoft Windows Media Player components..."
type="application/x-oleobject"
height=70>
<param name="fileName" value="$stylevar[imgdir_arcade]/media/$thisGame[title].mid">
<param name="animationatStart" value="1">
<param name="transparentatStart" value="1">
<param name="autoStart" value="1">
<param name="autoSize" value="0">
<param name="showControls" value="1">
<param name="loop" value="0">
<param name="ShowDisplay" value="0">
<param name="ShowStatusBar" value="1">
<embed type="application/x-mplayer2"
pluginspage="http://www.microsoft.com/Windows/Downloads/Contents/Products/MediaPlayer/"
filename="$stylevar[imgdir_arcade]/media/$thisGame[title].mid"
src="$stylevar[imgdir_arcade]/media/$thisGame[title].mid"
name=NSPlay
showcontrols=1
showdisplay=0
showstatusbar=1
height=70>
</embed>
</object>

The first instance covers the Challenge page and the second instance covers the normal page.

The above code is set for midi files. You can easily change it or customize it to mp3 or whatever file you wish to use as long as the PATHS remain in tact.


Have fun with it.

Adam Kauth

dbroomjr
02-17-2004, 01:18 PM
One word - SWEET

gmarik
02-17-2004, 01:58 PM
nice, so I choose the music?

BlackxRam
02-18-2004, 01:19 AM
Yup. Find Midis You want to Have PLay. A friend of mine decided to use low quality MP3's that he can stream across his pages. As long as the file name of themusic is the same as the Game Title your fine.

BlackxRam
02-18-2004, 01:21 AM
If you want to see it in ACTION goto http://forums.mogusland.com

Check out Chopper, Pingu and Curveball. Those are the ones im using it for now.

Hialls
02-18-2004, 03:18 PM
Very very cool! One modification i have made, allowing there to be an option in usercp "Play music while playing games" As some members complained about loading times. As i have been playing high quality songs

Rampag33
02-18-2004, 05:13 PM
Great, perfect with games without music and take a while to finish

msimplay
03-31-2004, 06:49 PM
how do i loop the music ?

lasto
03-31-2004, 07:45 PM
If you want to see it in ACTION goto http://forums.mogusland.com

Check out Chopper, Pingu and Curveball. Those are the ones im using it for now.
You need to register in order to play in the Arcade. Click here to register.

Hades666
04-02-2004, 06:15 PM
Could U please help us here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=63356
....thanx!!

BlackxRam
04-05-2004, 01:21 AM
how do i loop the music ?
Its already set to repeat forever

msimplay
04-05-2004, 07:43 AM
Its already set to repeat forever
not for mozilla it isn't

msimplay
04-14-2004, 07:43 PM
Very very cool! One modification i have made, allowing there to be an option in usercp "Play music while playing games" As some members complained about loading times. As i have been playing high quality songs
could u please post this as i also need it

602 Streets
04-16-2004, 02:53 AM
Can I use this to replace the music on games that have music already, or only on games with no music? My site is a Hip Hop site and it would be nice if I could make all games have Hip Hop playing.

Thanks.

JTMON
05-24-2004, 06:15 PM
Can I use this to replace the music on games that have music already, or only on games with no music? My site is a Hip Hop site and it would be nice if I could make all games have Hip Hop playing.

Thanks.

You should be able to pass the flash movie a command to stop all music then have it tell vbarcade to start the mp3.

Something like _root.stopAllSound or whatever the flash command is.