View Full Version : Mini navbar at bottom of thread
TheEDIGuy
01-26-2004, 10:00 PM
Version 1.0, 01/27/04 - Written for RC3
My users wanted a navbar at the bottom of each thread, so they don't have to scroll back to the top of a page to navigate the site. Rather than put the large navbar, with all of the buttons and the userinfo box included, I created a stripped-down version of it (see image below of what it looks like on my site).
Just follow the simple instructions in the attached text file. There is 1 file edit, 1 new template, and 1 template edit.
You may PM me or post here for support if something's gone wrong, but it is currently working on my site.
Drile
01-27-2004, 02:37 PM
Nice.
I did this myself on vB2, and as soon as I upgrade I will "install" this.
Thanks!
NTLDR
01-27-2004, 02:44 PM
I don't see any point in hacking this in since all you need to do is add the HTML directly to the SHOWTHREAD template.
TheEDIGuy
01-27-2004, 02:48 PM
Ah, you probably could. I'm certainly no expert in hacking, this is just how I did it. It makes my code nice and clean, and much easier to move around if I need it moved somewhere else.
StarBuG
01-27-2004, 03:47 PM
Ah, you probably could. I'm certainly no expert in hacking, this is just how I did it. It makes my code nice and clean, and much easier to move around if I need it moved somewhere else.
* StarBuG clicks install
Nice and easy to install no problems at all ;)
Thx
StarBuG
jaliam
01-27-2004, 05:51 PM
Cool hack! I love it.
AN-net
01-27-2004, 06:54 PM
no offense but this is easily done by using the nav bar bits alrdy in the templates but cool hack though;)
TheEDIGuy
01-27-2004, 06:58 PM
I take no offense at all. I needed a way to do this, and this was the easiest way I found, and it works well. And now the lower navbit is in a separate template, so I can modify it extremely easily.
I'm sure there are different ways to accomplish the same thing. I'm just helping out those who need a way to do it and want to follow this example.
codemonkey
01-28-2004, 11:36 AM
Thats a very good idea, but it would be better if this will be shown on the forumdisplay.php as well.
CdaKnight
01-29-2004, 03:37 AM
I'm actually having a problem. Its probably I did something retarded. I've been trying to do something like this for a while, and it keeps showing up incorrectly.
It will show the forum back link (javascript.history-1 business), then the board title, then nothing is in the next level. I hvae it placed in a templated called navbar2, and copied the code directly from the text file. Any clues?
TheEDIGuy
01-29-2004, 12:45 PM
If you have a template named "navbar2", then you aren't following my instructions, and I can't be of much help.
CdaKnight
01-29-2004, 02:33 PM
I assumed one empty, custom template was the same as any other...
However, I went back and made -another- template called navbar_bottom, and I still have the problem as stated above.
TheEDIGuy
01-29-2004, 06:09 PM
PM me the contents of your navbar_bottom template, because there's something wrong with it.
Stray
03-27-2004, 05:56 PM
Simple but nice, very clean.
/me clicks install
admiralapril
04-02-2004, 04:49 AM
Thanks so much. I put the HTML code directly into the showthread template and it works great. I've been wanting to do this for a long time! :classic:
Sharpsh00ter
04-17-2004, 07:31 PM
cool ;)
installed without probs. thx.
cya
s.
DenzoForums
04-17-2004, 07:38 PM
where in the show threads template does it go?
this is the html right?
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="alt1" width="100%">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr valign="bottom">
<td><a href="#" onclick="history.back(1)"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_back]" border="0" /></a> </td>
<td><span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></span> $navbits[breadcrumb]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt; padding-top:1px" colspan="2"><a href="$scriptpath"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_finallink.gif" alt="$vbphrase[reload_this_page]" border="0" /></a> <strong>$navbits[lastelement]</strong></td>
</tr>
</table>
</tr>
</table>
thanks
dave
DenzoForums
04-17-2004, 07:40 PM
where in the show threads template does it go?
this is the html right?
thanks
dave
Never mind, I got it..
Cool! I like it..
www.denzoforums.com
BeatYou
06-17-2004, 09:01 PM
Awesome, exactly what I needed for those looooong threads.
jamesglewisf
07-21-2004, 07:05 PM
no offense but this is easily done by using the nav bar bits alrdy in the templates but cool hack though;)How can this be done in the templates. I tried but did not succeed. I'm kind of a novice on 3.0.
weitalia
10-06-2004, 04:13 PM
Fantastic amazing hack man ;) very useful thanx so much!!!
I just change in the the navbar_bottom template the very last 4 rows of code:
</tr>
</table>
</tr>
</table>
with
</tr>
</table>
<td class="alt2" width="20%">
$forumjump
</td>
</tr>
</table>
Great job mister!!
;)
tony adams
10-15-2004, 07:47 PM
excellent, never mind it there are other ways this does just what my members want
thanks
Awesome, this is EXACTLY what I was looking for. I prefer the template approach too. ;)
* Cryo clicks install!
Erwin
10-23-2004, 12:39 AM
For just template mods,
In SHOWTHREAD and FORUMDISPLAY templates,
Find:
$forumjump
ABOVE, ADD:
<span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></span> $navbits[breadcrumb]
Just as good. ;)
CSS59
05-03-2005, 01:53 AM
In the FORUMHOME
I would like to move the "Navigation Bar" (including the log in boxes) from the top ---> to the bottom combined with "Whats Going On?"
I want it to be included in the "Whats Going On" on the top of "Currently Active Users"
How Can I do that? The navbar line is all the way at the bottom of the code, but I dont know how to include it with the "whats going on?" Any ideas?
For just template mods,
In SHOWTHREAD and FORUMDISPLAY templates,
Find:
$forumjump
ABOVE, ADD:
<span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></span> $navbits[breadcrumb]
Just as good. ;)
Any ideas why this only shows up for me in IE and not Firefox? Anyone got this installed on their site that I can look at from FF, to see if its just my site?
edit: And yes, the normal one works fine...
Borgs8472
07-17-2005, 06:41 PM
I added this to my vbadvanced portal too.
portal index.php (whatever you've call it)
find
print_portal_output($home);
under add:
eval('$navbar_bottom = "' . fetch_template('navbar_bottom') . '";');
Done!
yoyoyoyo
07-17-2005, 07:00 PM
Any ideas why this only shows up for me in IE and not Firefox? Anyone got this installed on their site that I can look at from FF, to see if its just my site?
edit: And yes, the normal one works fine...same here... very odd.
MorrisMcD
07-24-2005, 03:31 AM
Excellent and simple hack...
:install:
This makes me wonder how easy it might be to have a 'New Posts' link below as well.. Could this be easily implemented into this same hack? As the admin, I pretty much read everything and scrolling up everytime to click new posts could be simplified with somethin like that.
Dax IX
07-27-2005, 11:28 PM
For some reason this isn't working for me on 3.0.7. :(
The navbar_bottom shows up, but it only shows a link to the forum home, not the rest of the breadcrumb links.
Dax IX
07-28-2005, 12:06 AM
Never mind.
ztempuser
11-17-2005, 03:05 AM
how i get this to work with vbullitin 3.5.1?
TheEDIGuy
12-05-2005, 02:39 PM
Someone has done something similar in 3.5.1 already. It's here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=98485).
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.