Log in

View Full Version : Members Only Access Page


RobAC
01-21-2004, 03:44 PM
I'm not sure if what I'm looking for can really be considered a hack or not, but, I am integrating a chat room into my forums. The chat room runs on an external server. All I would like to do is set up a php page that will use vBulletin's authentication system to insure that only logged in forum members can go to the chat room log in page.

I had a simple php script page set up that would recognize logged in forum members and using a custom template, send them to the page to log into the chat room. If they were not a member of the forums, they would receive the "you do not have permission to access this page" message.

This page was working prior to upgrading to vB 3.0 from 2.3.4. How can I do this again utilizing the new/updated vB3 authentication code?

Xenon
01-21-2004, 03:54 PM
it works the same way.

you have to include forum's global.php and check if bbuserinfo[userid] > 0

RobAC
01-22-2004, 11:54 AM
it works the same way.

you have to include forum's global.php and check if bbuserinfo[userid] > 0

I can't get it to work...

<?
require( "./global.php" );

if( $bbuserid ) {

$user = $DB_site->query_first( "SELECT username
FROM user
WHERE userid = $bbuserid" );
$bbusername = $user[ username ];
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('chat_hack')."\");");
} else {
eval("dooutput(\"".show_nopermission()."\");");
} // end if
?>

Xenon
01-22-2004, 02:38 PM
<?
require( "./global.php" );

if( $bbuserinfo['userid'] > 0 ) {

eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('chat_hack')."\");");
} else {
eval("dooutput(\"".show_nopermission()."\");");
} // end if
?>

RobAC
01-22-2004, 02:49 PM
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: gettemplate() in /home/public_html/forums/chat.php on line 6

iceman-x
01-22-2004, 04:50 PM
<?
require( "./global.php" );

if ($bbuserinfo[userid]==0) {
show_nopermission();
}

?>


Cant you just use this code.

mvh iceman-x

Zachery
01-22-2004, 05:01 PM
well this is vb3 so it should probally look somthing like this


<?php
// ## Error Reporting ##
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
// ## Sets Enviroment ##
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
// ## Grabs global.php ##
require_once("./global.php");
if (!$bbuserinfo['userid'])
{
print_no_permission();
}
?>

RobAC
01-22-2004, 05:15 PM
well this is vb3 so it should probally look somthing like this


<?php
// ## Error Reporting ##
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
// ## Sets Enviroment ##
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
// ## Grabs global.php ##
require_once("./global.php");
if (!$bbuserinfo['userid'])
{
print_no_permission();
}
?>

How do I call the template in the php file though??

Zachery
01-22-2004, 05:41 PM
How do I call the template in the php file though??
check out the Basics of vB3 in my sig :) its a small tutorial on howto call and use the vB3 template system