View Full Version : REQUEST: Make required userfields UNeditable
Goyko
01-20-2004, 03:59 AM
Request for VB3 - [RC2]
Hi there,
I have some user profile fields which are required to be filled in during the registration.
In order to provide this I have to set the field attributes to "required" and "editable".
So far so good...
Now for the problem:
For security reasons I want to have my users fill in their location during the registration process.
But I don't want them to be able to edit this field afterwards, because they could change it to something useless then.
Is there a way how to do that or someone willing to try making a hack for this?
IMHO it would be useful for a lot of board admins out there ;)
Any idea or hint would be really appreciated!
Thanks in advance!
Best regards
Goyko
Goyko
01-22-2004, 10:27 AM
*bump*
No one needs this function?
No one has an idea, how to ensure this?
:disappointed:
Greez
Goyko
Goyko
01-24-2004, 01:56 PM
*bump again*
Sorry for bothering, but really no one has the need for uneditable required fields?
Guys you must have nice users, if not. ;)
For me this function is vital, because I'm running a board with nearly 8.000 members, roughed up by a handful of trolls, who drive me crazy!
Everyone interested, who speaks german, take a look here (http://www.smart-forum.de/modules.php?op=modload&name=Forum&file=viewforum&forum=49) and you will understand what I mean. :(
So.. I would really appreciate ANY hint, how to get this user profile field problem solved!
Thanks and best regards...
Goyko
btw: Meanwhile it's a request for the RC3 :)
Link14716
01-24-2004, 02:03 PM
*bump again*
Sorry for bothering, but really no one has the need for uneditable required fields?
Guys you must have nice users, if not. ;)
For me this function is vital, because I'm running a board with nearly 8.000 members, roughed up by a handful of trolls, who drive me crazy!
Everyone interested, who speaks german, take a look here (http://www.smart-forum.de/modules.php?op=modload&name=Forum&file=viewforum&forum=49) and you will understand what I mean. :(
So.. I would really appreciate ANY hint, how to get this user profile field problem solved!
Thanks and best regards...
Goyko
btw: Meanwhile it's a request for the RC3 :)
I might take a stab at it.
Andreas
01-24-2004, 04:08 PM
We had the same problem and solved it this way:
In register.php
Find
$profilefields = $DB_site->query("
SELECT maxlength, profilefieldid, required, title, size, type, data, optional
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield
WHERE editable = 1
Change it to
$profilefields = $DB_site->query("
SELECT maxlength, profilefieldid, required, title, size, type, data, optional
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield
WHERE editable = 1 OR required<>0
Find
$profilefields = $DB_site->query("
SELECT *
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield
WHERE editable=1 AND required <> 0
ORDER BY displayorder
");
Change it to
$profilefields = $DB_site->query("
SELECT *
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield
WHERE required <> 0
ORDER BY displayorder
");
Goyko
01-24-2004, 05:36 PM
Hi KirbyDE,
you definetly saved my day!!!
That was exactly how I wanted it!
A required field showing up at registration time (no matter what "editable" option it has) and after that never again, except in the ACP for the Admin!
Great work!
Thanks a lot!
Best regards...
Goyko
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.