View Full Version : Vbulletin 3 DOesnt work well when your site has 2 urls.
VeoMorphine
01-13-2004, 02:09 PM
Hello!
I have 2 URLs on my site. Http://www.wowforge.net is my defalt that i have set in the vb options, then i have www.wowforge.com.
If somone trys to sign in on the .com, it only logs them in on the .net and sends them back to the .com site. So it looks like they didnt log in.
I looked for all the bburl varibles and replaced them with /forum/ (which fixed alot allready), but, the login box still sends me to .net. Where can i change this so it points to /forums/ insted of .net?
Brolly
01-13-2004, 05:30 PM
Couldn't you just set the .com as a redirect to the .net? Solves the problem outright..
Xenon
01-13-2004, 07:59 PM
you may want to report this to vb.com :)
Zachery
01-13-2004, 08:35 PM
you may want to report this to vb.com :)its a known issue, i figure you could probally use a check for the domain over ride Forum URL and that would probally solve most of the issue right there
i figure somthing like
if (domain == .com)
{$forumurl = .com}
else
{$forumurl = .net}
while thats not how to do it i think somthing liek that could be implimented / used
sabret00the
01-13-2004, 08:50 PM
not good as i have 5 :confused:
Zachery
01-13-2004, 08:51 PM
not good as i have 5 :confused:use the same medtho with elseifs?
sabret00the
01-14-2004, 01:41 PM
aint jelsoft gonna fix this by final? cos i mean even so, some of my users do use proxy's to access the site it's not gonna help them if they can't log in.
Erwin
01-14-2004, 09:22 PM
Hello!
I have 2 URLs on my site. Http://www.wowforge.net is my defalt that i have set in the vb options, then i have www.wowforge.com.
If somone trys to sign in on the .com, it only logs them in on the .net and sends them back to the .com site. So it looks like they didnt log in.
I looked for all the bburl varibles and replaced them with /forum/ (which fixed alot allready), but, the login box still sends me to .net. Where can i change this so it points to /forums/ insted of .net?
Well, I use at least 7 different domains (different country codes) for my site, all A mapped at the DNS level to the IP address of my server - and vB3 works wonderfully.
KuraFire
01-14-2004, 09:53 PM
Couldn't you just set the .com as a redirect to the .net? Solves the problem outright..
This is the best solution if you ask me.
Additional domains for one site should all be redirects, not equally-working url's. Having multiple domain-identities takes away from the power of your site's own identity, and also how well it sticks to people's memories (as far as that aspect goes, of course).
Brolly
01-20-2004, 12:11 AM
At least someone listened to me *dreamy sigh*
filmhobbit
03-11-2004, 03:52 AM
So there is no solution at all to this problem??
For me, filmhobbit.com is my primary domain, but cinemablend.com is my parked domain.
so my forum is accessed through www.filmhobbit.com/forum as well as www.cinemablend.com/forum
for me it is essential that I be able to do this, but ever since I parked cinemablend.com my forum is having severe problems with cookies.
Zachery
03-14-2004, 08:57 PM
So there is no solution at all to this problem??
For me, filmhobbit.com is my primary domain, but cinemablend.com is my parked domain.
so my forum is accessed through www.filmhobbit.com/forum as well as www.cinemablend.com/forum
for me it is essential that I be able to do this, but ever since I parked cinemablend.com my forum is having severe problems with cookies.
just have a redirect...
vbmechanic
03-15-2004, 12:31 PM
At the top of global.php:
if ( !preg_match("/^www.usethisdomain.com/i",$_SERVER[HTTP_HOST]) and !preg_match("/^usethisdomain.com/i",$_SERVER[HTTP_HOST]) ) {
header("HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently");
if (strlen($_SERVER['QUERY_STRING'])>0)
header("location:http://www.usethisdomain.com$PHP_SELF?$_SERVER[QUERY_STRING]");
else
header("location:http://www.usethisdomain.com$PHP_SELF");
exit;
}
This bit of code will forward the user and keep the current location and query string intact. It will also send search engines a proper forwarding code. Replace "usethisdomain.com" with the proper domain name that you'd like people to always use.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.